High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

Mounts and Installs Forum A place to discuss viewing distance, mounts, stands and more! RSS - Mounts and Installs Forum

Need a Mount for a 37'' Phillips LCD

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2009, 11:06 AM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Grabber07''s Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 86
Default Need a Mount for a 37'' Phillips LCD

Model # is 37PF7320A-37

This TV is going directly in front of my bed in our master bedroom. Room is retangular. bed is at one end...TV will be on the other. I am new to mounting so I am not sure which to puchase.

Right when you open the bedroom door you will be able to see the side of the TV while on the wall so do I need a low profile? Kind of lost on this one. Any help would be appreciated.

*** we dont need the TV to swivle or anything as its already directly in front of the bed. Probably just need it to tilt a little
Grabber07' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 11:17 AM   #2
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,321
Default

I got a articulating mount for my upstairs 37'' Sharp Aquos from monoprice for like $25.. It works great and hold it fine. I know you said you don't need it to do anything but tilt, but being able to pull it out for easy cable connection stuff is pretty nice.. It is very simular to this.. But you need to see the VESA rating (hole mount configuration) on your TV to see if this works.. It only stated up to 32'' but also holds up to 65 pounds. My 37'' Aquos was only like 29 pounds or something so it hold it up no problem. And the single stud mount was nice to..

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

If not your cup of tea (or not the rite VESA setup), a simple low profile (snug to wall) tilting wall mount like this $25 version will do the trick nicely.. Comes in black or silver..

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
__________________
Commit to the Indian..

"I don't get drunk, I get awesome"..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 11:25 AM   #3
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,321
Default

Just FYI.. I checked your TV's VESA rating and it is For VESA standard: 75, 100-200 . The mount I use (1st one I posted) is rated for VESA standard: 50, 75, 100 and 200.. So if you like that 1, you will be good to go..
__________________
Commit to the Indian..

"I don't get drunk, I get awesome"..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 11:28 AM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Grabber07''s Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigloww View Post
I got a articulating mount for my upstairs 37'' Sharp Aquos from monoprice for like $25.. It works great and hold it fine. I know you said you don't need it to do anything but tilt, but being able to pull it out for easy cable connection stuff is pretty nice.. It is very simular to this.. But you need to see the VESA rating (hole mount configuration) on your TV to see if this works.. It only stated up to 32'' but also holds up to 65 pounds. My 37'' Aquos was only like 29 pounds or something so it hold it up no problem. And the single stud mount was nice to..

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

If not your cup of tea (or not the rite VESA setup), a simple low profile (snug to wall) tilting wall mount like this $25 version will do the trick nicely.. Comes in black or silver..

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Id love to use the first one you posted but it seems after review of my TV that it weighs 66.19lbs, so not sure that one is going to work.

I hear ya on the cable installation. As you know Im dealing with that on my Panny G10 in the living room.

This one is for the bedroom, we've had it for a couple of years.

Need to check on the mounting points when I get home from work.

This is the mount that tiger direct is suggesting for my TV

http://tigerdirect.partsearch.com/Pa...er=37PF7320A37
Grabber07' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 11:29 AM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Grabber07''s Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigloww View Post
Just FYI.. I checked your TV's VESA rating and it is For VESA standard: 75, 100-200 . The mount I use (1st one I posted) is rated for VESA standard: 50, 75, 100 and 200.. So if you like that 1, you will be good to go..
So the weight isnt an issue?

Edit: just read its good for up to 66lbs
Grabber07' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 11:42 AM   #6
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber07' View Post
So the weight isnt an issue?

Edit: just read its good for up to 66lbs

Wow, I can't believe your 37'' weighs over twice as much as my 37'' does.. 66 pounds for a 37'' LCD is kinda crazy now a days.. I would assume that would include the stand as well. If not, even though the mount states up to 66 pounds, you will be just at the limit, so may not be the best choice. It is a very sturdy mount though and weighs like 15 pounds or something.. Perhaps you can verify if the 66 pounds includes the stand or not. If not, I would probably look at another application.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber07' View Post
Id love to use the first one you posted but it seems after review of my TV that it weighs 66.19lbs, so not sure that one is going to work.

I hear ya on the cable installation. As you know Im dealing with that on my Panny G10 in the living room.

This one is for the bedroom, we've had it for a couple of years.

Need to check on the mounting points when I get home from work.

This is the mount that tiger direct is suggesting for my TV

http://tigerdirect.partsearch.com/Pa...er=37PF7320A37

VESA is just the mounting screw locations, nothing to do with weight. So according to the specs 75, 100 and 100/200 will work on your TV.


The mount from Tiger Direct is nice, but is not tilting that I can see. Also is wayyyyy more expensive than the tilting mount by $90 (2nd choice) I posted from monoprice..
__________________
Commit to the Indian..

"I don't get drunk, I get awesome"..

Last edited by Bigloww; 08-03-2009 at 11:49 AM..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 01:52 PM   #7
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Grabber07''s Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigloww View Post
Wow, I can't believe your 37'' weighs over twice as much as my 37'' does.. 66 pounds for a 37'' LCD is kinda crazy now a days.. I would assume that would include the stand as well. If not, even though the mount states up to 66 pounds, you will be just at the limit, so may not be the best choice. It is a very sturdy mount though and weighs like 15 pounds or something.. Perhaps you can verify if the 66 pounds includes the stand or not. If not, I would probably look at another application.




VESA is just the mounting screw locations, nothing to do with weight. So according to the specs 75, 100 and 100/200 will work on your TV.


The mount from Tiger Direct is nice, but is not tilting that I can see. Also is wayyyyy more expensive than the tilting mount by $90 (2nd choice) I posted from monoprice..

Well crap I ordered the first one you posted a while back. Do you see a huge problem with using this mount with the TV? The mount states that it will hold 66lbs, so technically it "Should" hold the TV. Im sure they build in a safety factor as far as the tension in shear.'

What do you think? Should I try it? Whats the worst that will happen

The TV is a couple years old.....dang they built them heavy back then!
Grabber07' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 02:07 PM   #8
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber07' View Post
Well crap I ordered the first one you posted a while back. Do you see a huge problem with using this mount with the TV? The mount states that it will hold 66lbs, so technically it "Should" hold the TV. Im sure they build in a safety factor as far as the tension in shear.'

What do you think? Should I try it? Whats the worst that will happen

The TV is a couple years old.....dang they built them heavy back then!
Well only 1 way to find out.. The 66 pounds is probably with the stand so without it you will loose 4 or 5 pounds most likely. Just make sure the tilt knob that attaches the TV/mount plate to the mount itself is very tight. Then you don't have to worry about it falling off. The mount is very heavy and well made as I mentioned, just have to make sure that knob holds it at the rite tilt you want without it slipping a bit. Also make sure you use at least 2 or 3 lag screws in the 1 stud (I only used 2, but again my TV is only 30 pounds).. I can almost do pull up on that thing. Since my TV was soo light I was able to mount everything by myself in about an hour and a half.. But in your case I would highly recommend 2 people.

Also, I doubt the order shipped yet, so you can simply call and cancel if you want.. If not and it does not work out for whatever reason just return it for a refund. They are very good about that..
__________________
Commit to the Indian..

"I don't get drunk, I get awesome"..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 02:45 PM   #9
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Grabber07''s Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigloww View Post
Well only 1 way to find out.. The 66 pounds is probably with the stand so without it you will loose 4 or 5 pounds most likely. Just make sure the tilt knob that attaches the TV/mount plate to the mount itself is very tight. Then you don't have to worry about it falling off. The mount is very heavy and well made as I mentioned, just have to make sure that knob holds it at the rite tilt you want without it slipping a bit. Also make sure you use at least 2 or 3 lag screws in the 1 stud (I only used 2, but again my TV is only 30 pounds).. I can almost do pull up on that thing. Since my TV was soo light I was able to mount everything by myself in about an hour and a half.. But in your case I would highly recommend 2 people.

Also, I doubt the order shipped yet, so you can simply call and cancel if you want.. If not and it does not work out for whatever reason just return it for a refund. They are very good about that..
Thanks for the info...I'll try it and see if Im comfortable with it. If not I'll just return it.

Do the lag screws come with it? Or do I need to go on a hunt for those as well? If so what kind of lag screws and from where do you suggest?
Grabber07' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 02:56 PM   #10
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber07' View Post
Thanks for the info...I'll try it and see if Im comfortable with it. If not I'll just return it.

Do the lag screws come with it? Or do I need to go on a hunt for those as well? If so what kind of lag screws and from where do you suggest?
I can't remember if they did or not, but I think so.. If not, ust run down to your local hardware/Menards store and grab a few. They where Hex head lag screws about 3'' long and about as thick as the pre-drilled holes on the mount brcket. Just grabbed a lag/hex driver for your cordless drill and a level and had that ting up in 5 minutes.

The only screws it did not come with (or were not usable) that I remember were the ones that connected the VESA plate to the TV (not sure if the TV came with them or not). But the screws that secured the stand to the TV were not the same as the screw for the VESA mount, so off the ACE hardware I went.. Your TV may be different and include them or work with the ones they ship.. If not they are not hard to match up..


The Lag screws look like these pic's...

http://www.jamestowndistributors.com...word=lag_screw

You just pick the left 3 or right 3 set of holes on the mount to use as it is too wide to use all 6 for 1 stud.. But 1 side is more than enough to support the weight with a good stud and those lag screws. Even your 66 pound beast..

I can try and post a couple pics if you like..
__________________
Commit to the Indian..

"I don't get drunk, I get awesome"..

Last edited by Bigloww; 08-03-2009 at 03:09 PM..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 08:00 AM   #11
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Grabber07''s Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigloww View Post
I can't remember if they did or not, but I think so.. If not, ust run down to your local hardware/Menards store and grab a few. They where Hex head lag screws about 3'' long and about as thick as the pre-drilled holes on the mount brcket. Just grabbed a lag/hex driver for your cordless drill and a level and had that ting up in 5 minutes.

The only screws it did not come with (or were not usable) that I remember were the ones that connected the VESA plate to the TV (not sure if the TV came with them or not). But the screws that secured the stand to the TV were not the same as the screw for the VESA mount, so off the ACE hardware I went.. Your TV may be different and include them or work with the ones they ship.. If not they are not hard to match up..


The Lag screws look like these pic's...

http://www.jamestowndistributors.com...word=lag_screw

You just pick the left 3 or right 3 set of holes on the mount to use as it is too wide to use all 6 for 1 stud.. But 1 side is more than enough to support the weight with a good stud and those lag screws. Even your 66 pound beast..

I can try and post a couple pics if you like..
Oh Shes a beast alright.....But she still works beautifully

Thanks again for the advice and info....I'll see if I cant get "The beast" up on the wall this weekend.
Grabber07' is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads to Need a Mount for a 37'' Phillips LCD
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Help a First Time Buyer pbollin Flat-Panel TVs 7 02-13-2008 08:56 PM
Black friday lcd and plasma prices z28rod Flat-Panel TVs 58 11-23-2007 09:00 AM
Don't Be Afraid to DIY wall mount your 40" LCD joba78 Flat-Panel TVs 17 12-24-2006 11:00 AM
$5 off coupon for a 37"-60" LCD or Plasma Wall Mount eHDMI Promotions, Announcements, Hot Deals 0 07-18-2006 06:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:33 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum