High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

Mounts and Installs Forum A place to discuss viewing distance, mounts, stands and more! RSS - Mounts and Installs Forum

Relocating My Complete 7.1 System-Being FORCED

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2009, 10:34 PM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
rzj90059's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 46
Default Relocating My Complete 7.1 System-Being FORCED

So I am being forced to switch rooms. I was barely given the notice today (7/29). It is currently 9:20 pm and this room need to be completely empty in 36 hours. So my current set up includes a 40" Samsung, 7.1 Onkyo, HR23-700 DTV, and a PS3.


The good thing is I am able to start a new instal and do and in-wall installation as I am putting up a fresh wall.I went ahead and purchased a wall mount and some wall plates, along with 100 ft of speaker wire. Example of the wall plates I bought.


Unfortunately, after i placed the order I realized something. Will I need these behind the wall plate?


Another dilemma of mine is my DirectTV service. I barely have enough wire going from the satellite to the receiver. Can someone point me to where I can buy a wall plate for a double-coxial wire. by that I mean there are two coxial cables coming from the satellite to my receiver. Thanks alot in advance
__________________
Display: Samsung LN40a550
Sound: Onkyo HT-S6100 (7.1)
Blu-Ray: PS3 80GB
Satellite Receiver: Direct TV HR23-700
HTPC: Mac Mini 2.26 GHz/2GB RAM Running Plex
rzj90059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 10:37 PM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
rzj90059's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 46
Default

and another thing. How high should i mount the tv and what can i do about the powers tv. I know there are recessed wall plates for that but I am trying to stay away from touching my homes electricity architecture, any ideas? (I am trying to hide the power cable as well)
__________________
Display: Samsung LN40a550
Sound: Onkyo HT-S6100 (7.1)
Blu-Ray: PS3 80GB
Satellite Receiver: Direct TV HR23-700
HTPC: Mac Mini 2.26 GHz/2GB RAM Running Plex
rzj90059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 04:29 AM   #3
SD HURTS MY EYES
 
Stew4HD's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tejas Baby
Posts: 9,989
Default

You should use outlet box (similar to the one you showed). Think over what all you want to run in the walls. If you want to mount the TV to the wall, you might want to consider running the HDMI signal and power to an outlet box behind the TV.
__________________
___________________________________
For PFC5 I miss ya, buddy WB L2W!
Living Room:
*JVC DLA-RS40 3D projector
Da-Lite wall mounted screen 110" diag.
DirecTV DVR
Sony PlayStation 3 60GB (first gen)
Toshiba HD-XA2 HD DVD
*Denon AVR-A100
Magnepan MMGW L/R
Magnepan MMGC center
Aperion 5DB surrounds
Aperion 10D sub
Oppo BDP-83SE
*Panny DMP-BDT100
XBOX 360 (first gen)
HTPC
WII
*special thanks to Robert at valueelectronics.com, you are great to work with!
Stew4HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 12:34 PM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 32
Default

If its any help, trying using these:

They are a little bit cheaper than what you have pictured above, "technically" designed for "low voltage" applications like running speaker wire, telephone, coax, RJ-45... They are more "free" to fish the wire and don't pinch you're "sensitive" audio/video wires like the blue junction boxes do. They have a big opening in the top, rear and bottom for easily stringing your cable through. They make these in the larger double gang size as well.

They sell the exact same product at Lowes, but I couldn't find it for you on lowes.com






They also make this in a "old construction" variety as well... Where you can just cut a square hole into the sheet rock and mount directly to the hole like an in wall speaker.



As far as using the speaker wire connector faceplate you have shown I would just run the wires straight out of the wall behind your receiver and just run them directly into your receiver or at most just crimp or solder some banana plugs to be plugged into your receiver.

I also did this one time on an install I did. Just run the speaker wire out of a junction box for each location.... Front R / L, Rear R / L...the cut a piece of 3/4" plywood to desierable shape (~ 1/2" larger than the perimeter of the junction box). Route the edges to match the crown molding (if applicable) paint it white. Drill two holes that line up with the junction box's screw holes. Drill one holes for the speaker wire and then attach the actual pivoting speaker mount to the "junction box cover"
gclg2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 07:15 PM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
rzj90059's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 46
Default

Thanks alot for the info. Unfortunately I went ahead and bought the blue gang boxes, 37 cents each but the only thing ima feed through each box is one speaker wire so fitment of wires isnt an issue.
__________________
Display: Samsung LN40a550
Sound: Onkyo HT-S6100 (7.1)
Blu-Ray: PS3 80GB
Satellite Receiver: Direct TV HR23-700
HTPC: Mac Mini 2.26 GHz/2GB RAM Running Plex
rzj90059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 05:31 AM   #6
SD HURTS MY EYES
 
Stew4HD's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tejas Baby
Posts: 9,989
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rzj90059 View Post
Thanks alot for the info. Unfortunately I went ahead and bought the blue gang boxes, 37 cents each but the only thing ima feed through each box is one speaker wire so fitment of wires isnt an issue.
When I run HDMI/speaker and other signals to one spot I use those "Old Work" electrical boxes for finishes walls but use my multi-tool to cut the bottom out (ends up lookiing like the 2 picture gclg showed).

For on-wall speaker mounting, I try to find a stud to mount to run the speaker wire to a hole next to the stud. I worry about mounting to sheetrock alone, even with butterfly bolts.
__________________
___________________________________
For PFC5 I miss ya, buddy WB L2W!
Living Room:
*JVC DLA-RS40 3D projector
Da-Lite wall mounted screen 110" diag.
DirecTV DVR
Sony PlayStation 3 60GB (first gen)
Toshiba HD-XA2 HD DVD
*Denon AVR-A100
Magnepan MMGW L/R
Magnepan MMGC center
Aperion 5DB surrounds
Aperion 10D sub
Oppo BDP-83SE
*Panny DMP-BDT100
XBOX 360 (first gen)
HTPC
WII
*special thanks to Robert at valueelectronics.com, you are great to work with!
Stew4HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads to Relocating My Complete 7.1 System-Being FORCED
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need advice or suggestions on a 2.1 system BostonGeorge34 Speakers & Surround Sound 1 10-06-2006 10:16 AM
Next-Gen=Bad Business? Razor05 Gaming & Systems 2 08-11-2006 12:21 AM
College home theater system 101 alphakai Direct-View (tube) TVs 3 01-26-2006 06:29 PM
Which software player will play HD? Help! Mordred478 Computers/HTPCs 10 01-02-2006 10:30 AM
What is in a system? Hon Speakers & Surround Sound 9 09-02-2005 09:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands