High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

Mounts and Installs Forum A place to discuss viewing distance, mounts, stands and more! RSS - Mounts and Installs Forum

Mounting Bedroom HD

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2007, 02:08 PM   #1
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default Mounting Bedroom HD

I'm trying to figure out the best way to mount a new HDTV in my bedroom. Normally this seems pretty easy.....mount on the wall run wires down wall connect to directv. Well problem is there is nothing under the location to put the directv or the DVD player. I was thinking of running the wires up to the attic and down into a closet with remote extender but from what I've read hdmi cable really can't run very far. I've read about the repeater as well but this is about $250 and it seems it needs to need power which would be hard inside a wall. Thanks in advance guys!
quest4net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 02:55 PM   #2
Progress Not Perfection
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,715
Default

So, what's the question?

. . . or . . . use component instead of HDMI.
Scottnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 03:53 PM   #3
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default

The question is for suggestions? I don't know what to do because I can't run hdmi over 16ft or so.
quest4net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 06:00 PM   #4
.
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 378
Default

Put a shelf under the set?

Can you post a picture of the wall and surroundings (nearby doorways, furniture, etc.)?

EDIT:Also show where on the wall you want to mount the set.
mschupp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 10:07 AM   #5
WD4JCM in KY
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Georgetown, KY
Posts: 982
Default

using a premium 22 gauge HDMI cable from monoprice.com, I ran a 50' HDMI cable to an overhead projector at work with excellent results. The 16' limitation is for the much smaller 28 gauge wire HDMI cables typically sold in 6' to 9' lengths.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

EDIT: the thicker 22 AVG HDMI cables are MUCH heavier than typical 6' cables. They do not make tight bends at all. You will need to consider how the cable attached to the TV on the wall. If the female HDMI connector is horizontal, than the box in the wall will need to be positioned where the connector is on the TV. If the TV's HDMI connector is vertical and plugs in from the bottom, than positioning the box in the wall will need to take the much longer bend into account. Same for where you locate the satellite box. I don't mention this to talk you out of considering the 22AWG cable, just plan for a more "gentle" bend on the cable where it connects to the TV and the source.

Last edited by m_vanmeter; 11-18-2007 at 10:14 AM..
m_vanmeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 01:47 PM   #6
Progress Not Perfection
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,715
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m_vanmeter View Post
using a premium 22 gauge HDMI cable from monoprice.com, I ran a 50' HDMI cable to an overhead projector at work with excellent results.
Not surprising . . . however . . . what is the signal being used? 720p/30, 720p/60, 1080i/30, 1080p/30, 1080p/60, etc. . . . Most/many cables will easily handle 720p or 1080i/30 but fail to pass the higher bitrate signals over this distance.

Quote:
The 16' limitation is for the much smaller 28 gauge wire HDMI cables typically sold in 6' to 9' lengths.
Correct, the "limitation" suggested by the HDMI specifications is that cables with 28 AWG wire should be able to support cable lengths of up to 5 meters or 16' and cables with 24 AWG wire should be capable of reaching lengths of 15 meters or 50'. Although, I don't believe the current specification directly addresses cables made with 22 AWG wire, is should be obvious that a well constructed cable with 22 AWG wire ought to do a pretty good job.
Scottnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads to Mounting Bedroom HD
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Zinwell WB68 Multi-Switch - HOW TO WIRE (28JAN2007) HondoHDTV DirecTV Forum 103 11-20-2013 06:33 AM
HELP with Installing Pioneer 6010FD...Many Questions? Seabreeze Flat-Panel TVs 24 02-11-2009 09:38 PM
HD Confusion + Help brians Flat-Panel TVs 12 02-22-2008 02:42 PM
I think I have made a serious mistake! (long read) drbrosco DirecTV Forum 15 05-03-2007 08:37 AM
Samsung LN-S3251D or Sharp Aquos LC32D42U? (or other?) nbaj2k Flat-Panel TVs 7 01-11-2007 12:48 AM
Pioneer HDTV for only $2999 at Costco legends92 Flat-Panel TVs 65 04-13-2005 02:01 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:33 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum