High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

Mounts and Installs Forum A place to discuss viewing distance, mounts, stands and more! RSS - Mounts and Installs Forum

wall mounting ?

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2006, 09:54 AM   #1
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Default wall mounting ?

I want to mount my samsung 5053 to the wall. I also want to run the wires throught the wall.

Is there any fire danger of runing the power calbe that came with the tv throught the wall?

What's the best way to do the power aspect of fishing the wires throught the wall?
mr_2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2006, 09:58 AM   #2
Miss-Ti, World's BEST Cat
 
CatManDoo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 1,827
Default Don't

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_2005
I want to mount my samsung 5053 to the wall. I also want to run the wires throught the wall.

Is there any fire danger of runing the power calbe that came with the tv throught the wall?

What's the best way to do the power aspect of fishing the wires throught the wall?
Yes, and it's probably against the electrical code too. It would void your insurance if you ever have a fire. Don't do it; consult a certified electrician.
__________________
"Miss-Ti, World's BEST Cat!"
CatManDoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2006, 01:21 PM   #3
DLP Rocks!
 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 141
Default Seriously, don't even think about it

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_2005
I want to mount my samsung 5053 to the wall. I also want to run the wires throught the wall.

Is there any fire danger of runing the power calbe that came with the tv throught the wall?

What's the best way to do the power aspect of fishing the wires throught the wall?
The only cable which can be run through walls is ROMEX and BX armoured cable. Big danger to run a power cord or extension through a wall. Not only a fire risk, but there is a good chance your insurer would wash their hands of you.

The general rule with electrical is, if you have to ask, you should call an electrician. The electrician will run romex or BX through the wall (as appropriate) using a fish and/or a flexible drill. He will mount an electrical box behind the TV. You'll also want him to run one or two HDMI cables, maybe cable/antenna coax, audio, and/or component video cables. He'll run these separetly and they'll go to a different box.
Mingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 03:46 PM   #4
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mingy
The only cable which can be run through walls is ROMEX and BX armoured cable. Big danger to run a power cord or extension through a wall. Not only a fire risk, but there is a good chance your insurer would wash their hands of you.

The general rule with electrical is, if you have to ask, you should call an electrician. The electrician will run romex or BX through the wall (as appropriate) using a fish and/or a flexible drill. He will mount an electrical box behind the TV. You'll also want him to run one or two HDMI cables, maybe cable/antenna coax, audio, and/or component video cables. He'll run these separetly and they'll go to a different box.
ok i understand the eletric needs to be done professionall. I am having a electrician come out and move my outlet up behind wherethe TV will be. when you say he'll do a seperate box for HDMI, does the mean he will make an inpot box near the floor and an output higher up behind the plasma? or is he just running a cable through holes in the wall?
mr_2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 02:54 PM   #5
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I would say yes to a box behind the tv and one below by the components. It is my understanding that everything except electrical can be run behind the wall with no issues.
judoant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 07:26 PM   #6
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_2005 View Post
when you say he'll do a seperate box for HDMI, does the mean he will make an inpot box near the floor and an output higher up behind the plasma? or is he just running a cable through holes in the wall?
He probably won't, and you don't want him to install "wired boxes" for HDMI. Reason: costly and too many interconnects could be a problem with HDMI.

What you want, is some sort of a box in the wall with a grommet in the bottom behind the TV, and another near the floor with a grommet at the top, and the grommets connected with pvc or similar. Or just grommets in the wall.
VideeO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 06:58 PM   #7
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Default

I picked up a flange inlet, part number HBL-5278C. Which is basically an electrical outlet with external prongs. I guess you could call it an outie instead of an innie. Using this to basically build an in-wall extension cord. I want to be able to use a surge protector with my new XBR4.
dflood75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 07:01 PM   #8
Banned User
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,660
Default

My wall mount finally go here by wagon train stagecoach! Took for ever to get here! Now where should I mount it not's my issue now. But it comes with all the hardware and screws for your LCD panel to be mounted. Also has a nice little green leveler.
tipstir is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads to wall mounting ?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plasma wall mounting height dqthach Flat-Panel TVs 7 09-24-2008 07:55 AM
Good, cheap, wall mounting brackets ??? Fish Chris Flat-Panel TVs 10 11-15-2006 04:38 AM
Wall Mounting: Too much trouble w/o media control unit? MilkDuds Flat-Panel TVs 10 01-01-2005 09:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:27 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum