High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

Mounts and Installs Forum A place to discuss viewing distance, mounts, stands and more! RSS - Mounts and Installs Forum

First time mounting

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2010, 08:12 PM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 83
Default First time mounting

I have the Panny 54" S1 and need help on how to wall mount it. I'm not sure what the best way to mount it would be, but I looked on the back and couldn't see any empty holes that are meant to be used for mounting. I did notice there were 4 black screws on the back and I'm curious if I take those out and replace them with the mounting screws? If anyone has any pictures that'd be great!
My other question is, What is the cleanest way to hang it on the wall so it doesn't look like I have wires running everywhere without cutting a hole in the wall to run the wires behind.


http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...#specification

http://www.ksl.com/index.php?nid=218...&cat=481&lpid=

Would either of these wall mounts work or is there anything better I could get without going over $65?
Tysonm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 08:51 PM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
House72's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Age: 38
Posts: 3,218
Default

I would suggest the Monoprice mount.. Just make sure it will fit your bolt pattern.. I know when I mounted my Panny, I had to take off some black caps to revel the holes. I'm not sure on your model, but I would bet those screws you are reffering to, will most likely act as the holes to use for the mount.

The cleaniest way without putting a hole in the wall would be, to find some moulding to cover the wires up. It's either you put a hole in the wall, use the moulding, or just let the wires hang.. Not many options..

It's not that hard mounting the Tv.. Just make sure it's level, as well as, try to hit a stud or two if you can. Then your set..
__________________


PSN= Foreniscs80
House72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 08:55 PM   #3
Boob Whisperer....
 
mytime's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jackson, Missouri
Posts: 11,037
Default

I used a PVC raceway to hide the wires. You can paint it to match the wall. Here is a pic.http://www.highdefforum.com/947548-post649.html
__________________
PFC5 you will be missed.
mytime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 09:56 AM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by House72 View Post
I would suggest the Monoprice mount.. Just make sure it will fit your bolt pattern.. I know when I mounted my Panny, I had to take off some black caps to revel the holes. I'm not sure on your model, but I would bet those screws you are reffering to, will most likely act as the holes to use for the mount.

The cleaniest way without putting a hole in the wall would be, to find some moulding to cover the wires up. It's either you put a hole in the wall, use the moulding, or just let the wires hang.. Not many options..

It's not that hard mounting the Tv.. Just make sure it's level, as well as, try to hit a stud or two if you can. Then your set..
Ok thanks! I was assuming those were my options but wanted to be positive about it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mytime View Post
I used a PVC raceway to hide the wires. You can paint it to match the wall. Here is a pic.http://www.highdefforum.com/947548-post649.html
That is a pretty clean setup, nice job! What did you use to get it to stick to the wall though, or does it screw onto the wall?
Tysonm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 09:04 PM   #5
Boob Whisperer....
 
mytime's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jackson, Missouri
Posts: 11,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tysonm View Post
Ok thanks! I was assuming those were my options but wanted to be positive about it.



That is a pretty clean setup, nice job! What did you use to get it to stick to the wall though, or does it screw onto the wall?
Ty. There are 2 pieces. One sticks to the wall and hides the wires it has an adhesive strip on the back, the other PVC piece slides over it. I found it at Lowes.
__________________
PFC5 you will be missed.
mytime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 11:59 AM   #6
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mytime View Post
Ty. There are 2 pieces. One sticks to the wall and hides the wires it has an adhesive strip on the back, the other PVC piece slides over it. I found it at Lowes.
Awesome, thank you. I will probably use your setup.
Tysonm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 06:57 PM   #7
Boob Whisperer....
 
mytime's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jackson, Missouri
Posts: 11,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tysonm View Post
Awesome, thank you. I will probably use your setup.
Post a pic when you are done. We would love to see how it turns out!
__________________
PFC5 you will be missed.
mytime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 09:07 PM   #8
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 83
Default

Alright so I got measurements and pictures of the back of my tv to see if anyone can tell me if you think this wall mount will work or not. The Four screws I have outlined in red measure 19.75(horizontal) x 11.75(vertical) So this wall mount should work, right? http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...#specification

Back of the 54" Panny S1: http://s808.photobucket.com/albums/z...9.jpg&newest=1

Last edited by Tysonm; 02-11-2010 at 02:49 PM..
Tysonm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads to First time mounting
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About to Pull The Plug - Need Input From Forum Gurus lowtechdude Flat-Panel TVs 30 03-03-2009 05:59 PM
First antenna setup: Strike one! (hoping to avoid a strikeout) [long post] deckeda Local HDTV Info and Reception 48 01-25-2009 05:39 PM
Steven Spielberg supports Blu-ray - from Spielberg Films.com dobyblue High Definition Media 79 08-21-2007 07:44 PM
5lnb Dish & Weather Grits DirecTV Forum 8 08-25-2006 05:43 AM
Recommendation for average TV users trips Flat-Panel TVs 12 06-17-2005 09:13 PM
Panasonic 42" EDTV review from first time plasma buyer swimfan Flat-Panel TVs 8 06-06-2005 09:11 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:47 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands