High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

Mounts and Installs Forum A place to discuss viewing distance, mounts, stands and more! RSS - Mounts and Installs Forum

Speaker wires: Where?, no carpet or attic

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2010, 08:22 PM   #1
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Default Speaker wires: Where?, no carpet or attic

Just picked up a system and cant think of any good ideas to hide my speaker wires. I have wood floors so under the carpet is out of the question. Also ontop of the room I will be installing in is another room so I can not run the wire through the attic.

I was thinking:
A: Cut the ceiling out and patch it back
B: Pull baseboards and run it behind baseboard and under wood transition (which is glued down)
C: Run the wires in the corner of the ceiling (very tacky but a lot easier then the other choices)

Any other options?
k1653d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 08:36 PM   #2
Boob Whisperer....
 
mytime's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jackson, Missouri
Posts: 11,037
Default

http://cableorganizer.com/outlet/wm-...tml?section=10
You can try a paint able raceway. The link above is one example.
__________________
PFC5 you will be missed.
mytime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 08:54 AM   #3
WD4JCM in KY
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Georgetown, KY
Posts: 982
Default

the raceway mounted immediately above the wall base moulding tends to "disappear". Another option, but fairly expensive is "flat wire". Again run it right above the base moulding and paint it to match the wall. http://www.taperwire.com/speakerwire.htm (one source, there are others if you google "flat wire" )

and you can remove the base moulding and run the wiring behind it - fairly labor intensive. If there is a door on one side with the glued down threshold, then maybe run both surround cables down one side and carry one on around to the other surround speaker.

if there is not a "floor" in the attic already (but will be when the extra upper room is added), you can run the cables through the ceiling joists (small hole in center of horizonital wood members). Use NEC certified CL2/CL3 wire for in-wall use.

Last edited by m_vanmeter; 02-05-2010 at 08:59 AM..
m_vanmeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 09:00 AM   #4
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MA.
Posts: 2,846
Default

You can buy the raceway wire conduit just like the ones in the link at Lowe's.
__________________
Onkyo TX-NR809 HT reciever
Cerwin Vega XLS-215's for L+R mains
QSC-GX5 500w per channel pro amp for mains
Cerwin Vega CLS-6c for center
Chase Home Theater PRO-10's for surrounds
Behringer EP 4000 for the Danley DTS-10 sub
Oppo BDP-93 universal BD player
Toshiba HD XA2 HD dvd player
Sony VW-VPLPRO1 1080p PJ
Dish network with the Hopper and 2 Joey's
tcarcio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 07:06 PM   #5
New2HD
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 12
Default

I am just getting set up as well. My plan is to run the wires behind crown moulding. It sits at 45 degrees touching the ceiling and wall with an open channel behind it. Where the speakers will go, one of the wires drops into a small hole and comes back out at speaker height into a wall plate or speaker mount (haven't decided on that detail yet). It will be a little work, but the crown moulding is a nice touch even if you didn't need it to hide wires!
__________________
P54G10, thanks to recommendations on HD Forum.
PS 3 for Blu-Ray, upscaling DVD, games
Onkyo 7200 7.1 Surrond
Dish Network
jargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 09:50 PM   #6
Got HD?
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Institutionalized
Posts: 713
Default

below.. basement or crawlspace?
Sykotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads to Speaker wires: Where?, no carpet or attic
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Specific Needs in a Surround System EYEONE Speakers & Surround Sound 42 07-28-2009 09:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:22 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands