High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

Mounts and Installs Forum A place to discuss viewing distance, mounts, stands and more! RSS - Mounts and Installs Forum

Wall Mounting 50" G10 plasma

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2009, 06:25 AM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 182
Question Wall Mounting 50" G10 plasma

Ok, so I am finally ordering my tv this week.
It's a 50" Panasonic G10 plasma.

I would like to wall mount it, but possibly keep my current tv stand until we find a decent wood stand that can be closed to keep the kiddos out. We have a 2 and 3 year old. This is one reason why I want to mount the screen on the wall.
The new plasma is replacing a 35" mitsubishi crt that comes out pretty far from the wall.

Ideally, I would like to have an electrician come and install an outlet behind the new tv, and perhaps run the cables in the wall. If I don't have the electrician, I would just get one of those plastic channel pieces to hide the wires.
Eventually I'd like the outlet, but I don't want my wife to regret the tv purchase from all the little expenses on top of getting the tv. (it's been 5 years, and she finally agreed to it after we got a camper, that she's wanted for a few years). I know that things need to be prepared the right way, I just want a efficient way to do it.

One of my questions is that if I get a UPS surge protector, how do I use that if I have my ac outlet behind the tv. Am I missing something? I may not be able to afford the extra $200 or so for the UPS right now. I have a good Belkin surge protector right now.

I don't know about what the height of the tv should be at, since I have read about if you put it too high, you risk getting neck strain. I'd like to get the mount (pretty much decided on a tilting one) from monoprice.com and know not to spend money on Monster Hdmi cables

I have the following:

*Dish network (getting the HD 622 DVR installed November 24th)

*Xbox 360 (hdmi ouput)

*Nintendo Wii (it might go downstairs for more room to use it, but the new tv may help with that)

*home theater receiver but just used for stereo right now (on 2 speakers connected right now, but I of course want home theater in the next year or so). I have a pair of Bose 301's from 6 years ago. I would probably get a new receiver and speakers and put the old stereo and bose downstairs.

*dvd player (it will be upgraded to a Blu Ray though soon)


I don't want to spend much at this point since I am exhausting alot of my funds on the tv while my wife is agreeing to it ...lol

Anyway, I am going to add some pics of my room the way it is now to give an idea of whether I will need a swiveling mount or not, and perhaps get advice on what else I should do. I am a person that wants to get it right the first time, so I try to find any potential issues beforehand.

edit: if you see the vcr, keep in mind that it is only a temporary thing, since my wife had some old kids learning videos on vhs that I am going to put onto dvd.

Thanks for your help in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tv2.jpg (38.9 KB, 60 views)
File Type: jpg tv3.jpg (49.2 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg tv5.jpg (52.9 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg tv6.jpg (38.4 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg tv7.jpg (57.2 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg tv8.jpg (54.6 KB, 32 views)
File Type: jpg tv 1.jpg (52.2 KB, 39 views)
__________________
*Dish Network DVR HD722
*50" Panasonic G10 ,*Still need a BD though*XBL games I play: The Halo Reach Beta,Halo 3,MW2,GOW2

Last edited by dj funktacular; 11-15-2009 at 11:46 AM..
dj funktacular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 11:21 AM   #2
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 182
Default

After learning from what I have read, I think I am going to get a tilt mount from monoprice. Not exactly sure on which one, but I think the one I wanted was out of stock.
Out of curiousity, how long does monoprice usually take to get an item to you?
If I buy the tv locally, I am going find out what their tv mount prices are, or maybe they will throw that in the deal.
__________________
*Dish Network DVR HD722
*50" Panasonic G10 ,*Still need a BD though*XBL games I play: The Halo Reach Beta,Halo 3,MW2,GOW2

Last edited by dj funktacular; 11-15-2009 at 12:01 PM..
dj funktacular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 06:28 PM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dj funktacular View Post
After learning from what I have read, I think I am going to get a tilt mount from monoprice. Not exactly sure on which one, but I think the one I wanted was out of stock.
Out of curiousity, how long does monoprice usually take to get an item to you?
If I buy the tv locally, I am going find out what their tv mount prices are, or maybe they will throw that in the deal.
Can someone please help me on what tilting mount to get from monoprice for the G15? The store I bought it from is giving me the G15 instead of G10 due to availability.

Thanks!
__________________
*Dish Network DVR HD722
*50" Panasonic G10 ,*Still need a BD though*XBL games I play: The Halo Reach Beta,Halo 3,MW2,GOW2
dj funktacular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 06:34 PM   #4
Boob Whisperer....
 
mytime's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Jackson, Missouri
Posts: 11,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dj funktacular View Post
After learning from what I have read, I think I am going to get a tilt mount from monoprice. Not exactly sure on which one, but I think the one I wanted was out of stock.
Out of curiousity, how long does monoprice usually take to get an item to you?
If I buy the tv locally, I am going find out what their tv mount prices are, or maybe they will throw that in the deal.
I got my monoprice mounts in 4 days. Can't help you on the tilt mount because I bought these http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
__________________
PFC5 you will be missed.
mytime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 04:31 AM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 182
Default

I ended up going with the 3900 mount from monoprice...At first it wouldn't let me order due to their warehouse issue, but then an hour later it did. I tried shopping around, and no one even came close to their price!
__________________
*Dish Network DVR HD722
*50" Panasonic G10 ,*Still need a BD though*XBL games I play: The Halo Reach Beta,Halo 3,MW2,GOW2
dj funktacular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 08:30 AM   #6
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dj funktacular View Post
I ended up going with the 3900 mount from monoprice...At first it wouldn't let me order due to their warehouse issue, but then an hour later it did. I tried shopping around, and no one even came close to their price!
I used the $18 ultra slim tilting mount when I mounted my mom's new 42'' Panny plasma and it worked/installed great. The 3900 was my other choice but it was not in stock so it made my decision pretty easy. I would go with that 1 if it was a 50'' though. Can't beat those Mono prices.. As Mytime stated, you should recieve your stuff in about 4-5 days depending on where you live. Great place to get your HDMI cables and stuff too as they will only run you about $5 a pop. Are you running your cables behind the wall?

And nice free upgrade on the G15 BTW...
__________________
Commit to the Indian..

"I don't get drunk, I get awesome"..

Last edited by Bigloww; 11-18-2009 at 08:37 AM..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 04:03 PM   #7
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 182
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigloww View Post
Are you running your cables behind the wall?

And nice free upgrade on the G15 BTW...
Thanks!
I am going to run my audio and video behind the wall through the wall mount hole and putting a computer port hole for where the wires come out I think. I want to have an electrician put an outlet behind the wall, but it's not in the budget right before Christmas. For now, I'll get a "cable raceway" or whatever it's called to hide whatever doesn't go behind the wall like the tv power cord. I need to keep the kids away from it, even though it'll be behind a tv stand.
I'm open to suggestions on how things go.

On the G15 note, they are giving me the G10 price since they can't get any more of them from Panasonic.
I told him I would love it before Thanksgiving, and he offered me a xbr9 46" in case it doesn't come in in time! I told him no, since I don't want to wish I kept it later on!
I'm sure I'll be happy with the G15, but I don't want to have any doubts.
__________________
*Dish Network DVR HD722
*50" Panasonic G10 ,*Still need a BD though*XBL games I play: The Halo Reach Beta,Halo 3,MW2,GOW2
dj funktacular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 06:16 AM   #8
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 182
Default

Update:
I ended up witha G10 from BB and I'm running the color slides on it now.
Any tips on mounting this with the 3900 mount from MP?
My wife thinks it will take all day to do it.
__________________
*Dish Network DVR HD722
*50" Panasonic G10 ,*Still need a BD though*XBL games I play: The Halo Reach Beta,Halo 3,MW2,GOW2
dj funktacular is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 09:48 AM   #9
HD Football=Euphoria
 
sawzalot's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape May,N J
Posts: 898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dj funktacular View Post
Update:
I ended up witha G10 from BB and I'm running the color slides on it now.
Any tips on mounting this with the 3900 mount from MP?
My wife thinks it will take all day to do it.
One tip I can give is the simplest of them all measure the panel and cut out a piece of cardboard from the box the same exact size tape that on the wall at your proposed height for the panel go sit down and make sure that is the right place for you and the mrs.I feel it is important to get this perfect as no one cares to hang these mounts twice in the same day. When mounting the wall mount just be sure to hit your studs exactly center, you can use a small finish nail if you dont have a stud finder, just tap it in till you hit the stud then move a little to the right and left until you feel as if you just skim the edges that way you can figure out the exact center of the stud , remember that it is very important as you dont want your lag screws/bolts to break through the sides of the 2x4. once you are sure of the center pre-drill the hole first with a bit the same size as the shaft of the fastener not including the threads just the shaft , if not you can split the stud from one bolt to the next, pre-drill !Once you get started you will realize that it is a piece of cake, good luck and enjoy your new panel, sawz..
sawzalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 02:10 PM   #10
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 182
Default I figured 48" to the center of the tv, but...

I wanted to go about 48" to the center of the tv, maybe even 52", do to the kids, but the highest I can go is 46" because we have shelving that we don't like the idea of moving.
I guess this tv is a little bigger than I expected.
__________________
*Dish Network DVR HD722
*50" Panasonic G10 ,*Still need a BD though*XBL games I play: The Halo Reach Beta,Halo 3,MW2,GOW2
dj funktacular is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:47 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands