High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

High Definition Receivers, Recorders, Players, Tivos Discuss High Definition Receivers, Recorders, Players, Tivos, etc. Post reviews ask questions, etc.

Like Tree5Likes

DENON Owners Club Thread .... Join In

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2012, 04:53 PM   #181  
HDF SUPER-MODERATOR
Thread Starter
 
ImRizzo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn & LI,NY ..not a Place, it's an Attitude, *I'm Mixing up a fresh pitcher of KoolAid
Posts: 23,260
Default

[QUOTE=Keith_h;1290458]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImRizzo View Post
here is a great place for denon info

Cheers very helpful, but cant find out how to set the 3 'favorite radio presets, unlike my old 1910 there's no save button.

another side effect but EXTREMELY irritating glitch is that as soon as broadband drops, however briefly, radio cuts out n its drivein me crazy, beyond a joke, at least 10 times an hour, it's also got a doozie 'party' trick, about every 8 drop-outs station slips to next one, cherry on top it BLASTS OUT.
Keith
you can also post questions there he's a really helpful guy.
ImRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 01:19 AM   #182  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

[QUOTE=Keith_h;1290458]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImRizzo View Post
here is a great place for denon info

Cheers very helpful, but cant find out how to set the 3 'favorite radio presets, unlike my old 1910 there's no save button.

another side effect but EXTREMELY irritating glitch is that as soon as broadband drops, however briefly, radio cuts out n its drivein me crazy, beyond a joke, at least 10 times an hour, it's also got a doozie 'party' trick, about every 8 drop-outs station slips to next one, cherry on top it BLASTS OUT.
Keith
Ok, Denon say: hold down preset button till mem set shows, fine station saved but volume not, always starts loud, dropouts also still there.

Denons usually superb techies seem baffled over these really irritating issues, shame the flakiness spoils great sound.

Keith
Keith_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:22 PM   #183  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default

I'm hoping someone can help me with this question about my 4311.
i have some music files that i've purchased from HDtracks. these are high resolution
music files at 192KHz/24bit. I use Media Monkey as a server to play these files thru my
4311. My question is are the music files being played at the highest quality thru the 4311
using the MM as server/music player?? because whenever i play a track it says Mp3 128
on the bottom right of my TV screen

thx for any help John
HAmmer32261 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 03:43 PM   #184  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: DUBAI
Posts: 2
Default

Hello All,This is my first post with High Def Forum.
I Love Denon Receivers,like all of us here, and have been using the humble AVR 1306,AVR 1910,AVR 4306 and AVR 4308.
Among all, only the 4306 had an issue wherin it trips when you turn the power on.
Of late this started became annoying and hence, I got a very special deal on a brand new AVR 4308.I got it for 410$.
I have had it hooked to my front left and right KEF CODA 90 and the sub woofer from the pre out to a Klipsch SW 112.
The Blu ray player has been connected to the receiver,which states as HDMI 2.The Monitor out to my Sony LCD.

The issue I face is as follows:
When I listen to Music, CD, .mp3,FLAC,USB,I get music from my L and R speakers.The subwoofer does not come alive at all.While doing this I am on DIRECT/STEREO on the receiver.The front display on the right shows the FL and FR only.SW is not shown and no sound from the Sub woofer.

When I watch a movie,it shows FL,FR and SW and the subwoofer works.

Again, coming back to music- If I manually change from DIRECT/STEREO to 5 CHANNEL STEREO or Dolby prologic 2 cinema or DTS neo 6 etc on the receiver, the subwoofer comes alive and the display shows FL,FR and SW.
I have checked on the On Screen Display, and have set the subwoofer to YES.
Subwoofer frequency is on 80 hertz and on LFE mode.
FL and FR set to LARGE.
FL and FR channel is set to 0 whereas the SW is set to 9.

Where am I getting it wrong?I need our advice, as I always listen to music on 2.1 mode on stereo mode.
My 4306 used to do this,so does the other 2 receivers.

Thank you in advance.

Last edited by Eclipse7; 08-06-2013 at 03:46 PM.. Reason: skipped
Eclipse7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 12:25 PM   #185  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: DUBAI
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks to all who read this.
I got the solution, I skipped an option.
Eclipse7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 04:45 PM   #186  
HDF SUPER-MODERATOR
Thread Starter
 
ImRizzo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn & LI,NY ..not a Place, it's an Attitude, *I'm Mixing up a fresh pitcher of KoolAid
Posts: 23,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eclipse7 View Post
Thanks to all who read this.
I got the solution, I skipped an option.
Glad to hear problems is resolved.
ImRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 09:02 AM   #187  
Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA
Posts: 1,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eclipse7 View Post
Subwoofer frequency is on 80 hertz and on LFE mode.
FL and FR set to LARGE.
Glad you figured it out. But, when speakers are set to Large and the sub is set the LFE, you will not get sound from the sub with stereo sources. There's no LFE in a 2.0 signal and the Large setting means there's no bass management to redirect low frequencies to the sub.
BIslander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 03:06 PM   #188  
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: in a house
Posts: 20
Default

Hi Everyone.
I am new here, and this is my first posting.
I am working on setting up a slight home theater system for my self.
My living room is 14x20 with 8' ceiling.
I just purchased the Denon AVR-E400.
2 Polk Audio Monitor 70 floorstanding speakers with 2 more coming.
30Hz - 25kHz
8 ohms
Efficiency 90 dB
Recommended Amplifier Power 20 - 275 watts per channel
Inputs Dual (bi-amp) 5 way binding posts
.
1 Polk Audio CS2 center channel speaker
Total Frequency Response 55Hz - 25kHz
Upper -3dB Limit 24 kHz
Lower -3dB Limit 60 Hz
Nominal Impedance 8 ohms
Efficiency 90 dB
Recommended Amplifier Power 20 - 175 watts per channel
Inputs 5-way binding posts
.
1 Polk Audio PSW505 Sub.
Total Frequency Response 23Hz - 160Hz
Upper -3dB Limit 125Hz kHz
Lower -3dB Limit 28 Hz
Inputs Speaker level 5-way binding posts, line level (filtered) and LFE (unfiltered)
Outputs Speaker level
Amplifier Specs
Distortion <1%
Bandwidth 28Hz - 125Hz
Continuous Average Output
Watts 300
Amplifier Type Subwoofer
Dynamic Power 460 watts
.
the television is a Panasonic GT50 60" Plasma / Smart Vera
1 stand alone Bluetooth receiver to plug into the AVR
1 100' spool of 14 gauge speaker wire
.
Those are the items I have so far for this setup.
I know it is mostly entry level equipment but this is my first setup, so seems appropriate.
I would much appreciate any sharing of knowledge with the parts, any heads up on hooking things up.
I am also wondering about the bi-amp inputs on the speakers, can two front channels of the Denon AVR be used per speaker, once the bridges are removed ?
I have not received the floorstanding loudspeakers yet, they should arrive within the week. So, the AVR has not yet been hooked up... to anything. I am having strong thoughts on returning it due to it not having preamp outputs.
The way I understand it through the Denon website, by the time I get 5.1 or 7.1 hooked to this AVR, its total output will drop to a potential of around 90 watts peak per channel. So, doing the spl speaker efficiency thing ( these speakers spec at sensitivity 90db) tells me that 108 db is about where this system will peak at ? That just will not be enough for some of the scenes in movies.

Last edited by MindlessCorpse; 10-23-2013 at 11:01 AM.. Reason: added
MindlessCorpse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 05:56 AM   #189  
Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA
Posts: 1,628
Default

105dB is full scale and very loud. I doubt your Denon will be underpowered.
MindlessCorpse likes this.
BIslander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 02:40 PM   #190  
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: in a house
Posts: 20
Default

The Denon AVR-E400 ended up being very underpowered. When Denon rates power output, they measure it running one channel only at a specific Hz. This one rated at 185 watts continuous. But when running two channels it drops by half, four channels and it is half again. By calling Denon Customer Support, I found that running all 7.1 channels, it would produce peaks around 45 watts per channel. I returned the AVR to the point of purchase and found a Pioneer Elite SC-05 offered on craigslist. Same price $600 cash / used. I now have a single unit AVR that while running 7.1 channels can produce 145 watts continuous to all channels with peaks just under 300 watts.
And, yes 105 db is very loud ( I also purchased a cheap/realistic handheld SPL meter) I have seen peaks at my listening position of 113db, but around there, I start burning tweeters. .... keep in mind that to get those db levels, I am running 6 speakers.

Last edited by MindlessCorpse; 01-02-2014 at 02:43 PM..
MindlessCorpse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 04:28 PM   #191  
HDF SUPER-MODERATOR
Thread Starter
 
ImRizzo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn & LI,NY ..not a Place, it's an Attitude, *I'm Mixing up a fresh pitcher of KoolAid
Posts: 23,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindlessCorpse View Post
The Denon AVR-E400 ended up being very underpowered. When Denon rates power output, they measure it running one channel only at a specific Hz. This one rated at 185 watts continuous. But when running two channels it drops by half, four channels and it is half again. By calling Denon Customer Support, I found that running all 7.1 channels, it would produce peaks around 45 watts per channel. I returned the AVR to the point of purchase and found a Pioneer Elite SC-05 offered on craigslist. Same price $600 cash / used. I now have a single unit AVR that while running 7.1 channels can produce 145 watts continuous to all channels with peaks just under 300 watts.
And, yes 105 db is very loud ( I also purchased a cheap/realistic handheld SPL meter) I have seen peaks at my listening position of 113db, but around there, I start burning tweeters. .... keep in mind that to get those db levels, I am running 6 speakers.
Powering up for that size room with those kinda demands, you would have been better served with one of their higher end models like the X4000

ImRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 02:48 PM   #192  
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: in a house
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImRizzo View Post
Powering up for that size room with those kinda demands, you would have been better served with one of their higher end models like the X4000

yes, I agree, the x-4000 reads up as a decent unit. And I did prefer the user controls of the Denon over the Pioneer.
MindlessCorpse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 07:24 PM   #193  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Default New to this so pls be gentle!!

Hi
sorry if I have managed to post this in the wrong place but hopefully someone can give some advice. (I couldnt find a 'new post' button)

I have an older existing setup with a Denon AVR-1200 and Polk Audio 5.1 system which I'm very happy with. Have just bought a Denon AVR-791 to replace the 1200 so I'm looking at adding two speakers to get 7.1. unfortunately, tight budget so looking 2nd hand. Considering a pair of Mission MV-4 or Mission 760i speakers to add to the front for 7.1. Whichever spkrs I get will be off our NZ equivalent of Ebay so I cant trial them to compare

Anyone got any thoughts oni which would be better and whether this is a sensible way to go to get a good result from my new AVR unit??

Bear in mind that these options are both 2nd hand spkrs so I cant trial to see which I like, etc so I'm going on advice and reading reviews. My understanding is both sets in very good cond. From what I have read, they are both good spkrs but prob the 760's might be better from an audio perspective(?) My question is more about how I integrate them into my system - whether they will enhance things from an older 5.1 set up to a newer 7.1, etc. (By the way - the 760's are slightly cheaper if I 'buy now' on their auction)

Also - if I use these speakers - am I best to put them in the front below my Polk fronts or should I add them to the rears?? Is there an easy way to add to the front for 7.1 and also to utilise them for simply listening to a CD in stereo old style?? (From what I have read - the 760's would be pretty good for this - possibly better than my exstg Polks?? (I have no idea what model the Polks are but they were expensive when purchased about 10 yrs ago and sound pretty good)

thanks for any help/advice
Tacklepro
tacklpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 12:42 AM   #194  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feralhog View Post
I've seen his post on another "AV" forum and will ask my questions AFTER I peruse the manual more. I've got a Sony NX810 coming (the reason I upgraded AVR's) so I'm sure I'll have more questions for him before I'm done.

Thanks!
Thank you for sharing
Ression11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 08:42 AM   #195  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Default AVR 4306 Circuit Diagram for Power Supply

Hi All

I've just got hold of an AV 4306 unit, nice looking thing.

It's a US model wired for 110V, wondered if anyone had access to the circuit diagram for the power supply so I might have a go at converting to 240v.

From what I can figure out there are two PSU's one for standby one for main power.

Looking at the main transformer it only appears to have one primary winding but seems to have the same part number 5133333 as the UK spec model so I think there is hope.

Any input gratefully received

Thanks
Gareth.
garethdavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands