High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

High Definition Receivers, Recorders, Players, Tivos Discuss High Definition Receivers, Recorders, Players, Tivos, etc. Post reviews ask questions, etc.

Like Tree5Likes

DENON Owners Club Thread .... Join In

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2012, 03:28 PM   #166  
HDF SUPER-MODERATOR
Thread Starter
 
ImRizzo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn & LI,NY ..not a Place, it's an Attitude, *I'm Mixing up a fresh pitcher of KoolAid
Posts: 23,260
Default

Denon's a sweet piece huh?
BTW if you have questions check here foremost Denon expert http://batpigworld.com/

Quote:
Originally Posted by WJBertrand View Post
Just found this sub-forum and just got a 2112 last month. My system includes a 60" Panasonic Plasma, 12" powered Polk SW, Klipsch front and surrounds and a home-built center channel speaker. I was going to build the fronts too, until I ran across the Klipsch set on sale when Good Guys (anyone remember them) went under. I had been using an older Techniques receiver but it started having some kind of switching problem on the left surround channel at high volumes (occasional very loud pops). I wanted to upgrade to networking and HDMI capability anyway.

The 2112 has been great, so far the only problem being the infamous disappearing USB/Net GUI. Happened to me only once but a u-processor reset brought it back - keeping an eye on this issue. I've got to say I never really appreciated my speaker set up before getting this receiver. Internet radio is outstanding. Looking forward to years of pleasure!
ImRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:40 PM   #167  
Vizio Refugee
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 119
Default

Sweet is right. My 2112 downloaded and installed a firmware update tonight. Wonder what was changed? Do I have to re-load the Audyssey config.dat file after a firmware update?
WJBertrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 08:48 AM   #168  
HDF SUPER-MODERATOR
Thread Starter
 
ImRizzo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn & LI,NY ..not a Place, it's an Attitude, *I'm Mixing up a fresh pitcher of KoolAid
Posts: 23,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WJBertrand View Post
Sweet is right. My 2112 downloaded and installed a firmware update tonight. Wonder what was changed? Do I have to re-load the Audyssey config.dat file after a firmware update?
Firmware shouldn't have affected settings.
ImRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 09:10 AM   #169  
Vizio Refugee
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImRizzo View Post
Firmware shouldn't have affected settings.
Thanks, any idea what the firmware update affected?
WJBertrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 09:12 AM   #170  
HDF SUPER-MODERATOR
Thread Starter
 
ImRizzo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn & LI,NY ..not a Place, it's an Attitude, *I'm Mixing up a fresh pitcher of KoolAid
Posts: 23,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WJBertrand View Post
Thanks, any idea what the firmware update affected?
Check at Denon's web site they usually post firmware info.
ImRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 05:18 PM   #171  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Default Optical Input

Hey everyone, it's been awhile since I've posted. Been running around all over the place. I have a quick question for those in the know; I'm trying to output the audio from my Macbook Pro's optical output into the Denon but how do I actually listen to it? I have the toslink mini adapter to the unit.

The reason I am confused is that when I want to watch TV, I just hit the sat/cab button, play games, just hit the game button, etc. I don't know what I would select for just audio from the unit.

Thanks
blackdeek2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 11:28 AM   #172  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Default

I have a Denon 4311 that I bought about 18 months ago and it has and is performing well. I have Sirius Radio in my work truck and I am thinking of adding it to my 4311. I would like to know how the sound quality of the Sirius radio is thru the Denon. Is it cd quality ? Sirius has the radio part in stock now for $80.00 and was wondering if it is worth doing.
thomasd92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 05:44 PM   #173  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Default

I (still) have a Denon 5700 avr and just recently got a new HDTV. I guess since it is connected via hdmi, I can no longer control volume on the cable box with my Time Warner cable remote. I do not want to have to use the cable remote to change channels and the Denon remote to control volume. I was very happy leaving the Denon at a certain volume and changing the volume via the cable box, but apparently, that is no longer possible. I have spent a day trying to program the cable remote to control the Denon volume with no luck. It is supposed to use a 3 digit code, but nothing I have tried has worked. Do you know the 3 digit code for the 5700, or know of any other way I can use just one remote (any remote) that will change channels AND control volume?

Thanks
Techgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 07:08 PM   #174  
HDF SUPER-MODERATOR
Thread Starter
 
ImRizzo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn & LI,NY ..not a Place, it's an Attitude, *I'm Mixing up a fresh pitcher of KoolAid
Posts: 23,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Techgirl View Post
I (still) have a Denon 5700 avr and just recently got a new HDTV. I guess since it is connected via hdmi, I can no longer control volume on the cable box with my Time Warner cable remote. I do not want to have to use the cable remote to change channels and the Denon remote to control volume. I was very happy leaving the Denon at a certain volume and changing the volume via the cable box, but apparently, that is no longer possible. I have spent a day trying to program the cable remote to control the Denon volume with no luck. It is supposed to use a 3 digit code, but nothing I have tried has worked. Do you know the 3 digit code for the 5700, or know of any other way I can use just one remote (any remote) that will change channels AND control volume?

Thanks
You could look into a Harmony universal remote 1 remote for everything.
ImRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 03:15 AM   #175  
Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA
Posts: 1,628
Default

+1 on a Harmony remote.
BIslander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 11:05 AM   #176  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the replies, guys. It looks like I will be picking up a Harmony One remote.
Techgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 11:15 AM   #177  
HDF SUPER-MODERATOR
Thread Starter
 
ImRizzo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn & LI,NY ..not a Place, it's an Attitude, *I'm Mixing up a fresh pitcher of KoolAid
Posts: 23,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Techgirl View Post
Thanks for the replies, guys. It looks like I will be picking up a Harmony One remote.
Good choice
ImRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 08:02 AM   #178  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Newbie here, hope in right place, having big probs with internet radio presets/faves with new Denon 1713 surround amp, initial setup a doddle but radio presets cant be saved !! :
Keith_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 02:10 PM   #179  
HDF SUPER-MODERATOR
Thread Starter
 
ImRizzo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn & LI,NY ..not a Place, it's an Attitude, *I'm Mixing up a fresh pitcher of KoolAid
Posts: 23,260
Default

here is a great place for denon info http://batpigworld.com/wp/
ImRizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 04:16 PM   #180  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Angry

[QUOTE=ImRizzo;1290449]here is a great place for denon info

Cheers very helpful, but cant find out how to set the 3 'favorite radio presets, unlike my old 1910 there's no save button.

another side effect but EXTREMELY irritating glitch is that as soon as broadband drops, however briefly, radio cuts out n its drivein me crazy, beyond a joke, at least 10 times an hour, it's also got a doozie 'party' trick, about every 8 drop-outs station slips to next one, cherry on top it BLASTS OUT.
Keith

Last edited by Keith_h; 12-09-2012 at 04:19 PM..
Keith_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:40 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands