High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.

Turbo Charged is Pathetic

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2008, 06:00 AM   #1  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
jsagraves's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ohio
Age: 45
Posts: 132
Default Turbo Charged is Pathetic

The only thing that is charged is my wallet!! I realize this has probably already been hashed out here before but here we go again!!

I currently have the Absolute (all HD) package, which (I'm pretty sure) included the B10N before. It will cost me an additional $35 a month to recapture the B10N and not lose any of my current HD programming, as I have to go to the 250, which of course gives you a bunch of non-HD junk.

Wasn't B10N in the Absolute package before? It seems I read on here before that those living in the B10 states were grandfathered in.

Wasn't the Absolute package just brought out earlier this year? What is the point of offering a package for 6 months.
jsagraves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 06:39 AM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 62
Posts: 2,357
Default

BTN was on free preview for most of it's first year on Dish. Now it's in the package it was signed for (AT 250, not HD only packages). And you're right, it was heavily discussed, surprised you missed it.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 12:11 PM   #3  
Overclocked at 4GHz
 
18 is # 1's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Forney, TX Where Dallas ends and living begins.
Posts: 1,619
Default

"Turbo Charged is Pathetic"

I don't know....I gained 1,500 rpm!
18 is # 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 01:32 PM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
daleb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 7,654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18 is # 1 View Post
"Turbo Charged is Pathetic"

I don't know....I gained 1,500 rpm!
Cost me a ticket!!
daleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 10:10 PM   #5  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 361
Default

What Dish Turbo does is SCREWS existing customers over. I want an ALL HD package, but cannot get it now in any way shape or form since they don't offer Dish HD absolute anymore. I'm really ticked off right now......I don't watch any SD channels anymoe, yet I have to pay for crap I don't watch. Does anyone have any suggestions for me?
Scoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 06:34 AM   #6  
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,283
Default

Dish still offers HD only packages. Keep calling back until you get the right customer service rep and they will help.
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 11:00 AM   #7  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loves2Watch View Post
Dish still offers HD only packages. Keep calling back until you get the right customer service rep and they will help.
Can anyone else back this up? You are saying that I can get an all HD package as an existing customer? Now that Absolute HD isn't offered anymore there is No option for me. Can someone verify this. I have read the website and called in and was told there is no all HD package for existing customers, just for new subscribers.
Scoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 01:01 PM   #8  
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,283
Default

I got it and am an existing customer. Again I will say call them back until you get a customer service rep that can help you or do what I do and call technical support. They are more intelligible and can resolve your issues better.
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 12:58 AM   #9  
LED TV's look awesome
 
Joe Las Vegas's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Age: 49
Posts: 1,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoob View Post
Can anyone else back this up? You are saying that I can get an all HD package as an existing customer? Now that Absolute HD isn't offered anymore there is No option for me. Can someone verify this. I have read the website and called in and was told there is no all HD package for existing customers, just for new subscribers.
If you want HD only programming you can get the gold package plus add the platinum package on top of it.
http://www.dishnetwork.com/content/o...HD/index.shtml
I have 250 + HD + Platinum.
Turbo charged is just a catchy, fancy way of saying your HD box is ready for more upcoming HD channels.
Joe Las Vegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 02:20 PM   #10  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default

I am an existing customer and i just switched from americas top 200 to turbo hd gold. It was a bit of a hassle to get them to do it but it's amazing what asking to speak to an account specialist will do (they are the people they connect you to when you want to cancel).
I got the new TurboHD package, the new 722 recevier, and install for a net ost of $0.00. they charged me $100 for the "upgrade" but then gave me $10 off the bill for the next 10 months. Just ask to speak with an account specialist and they will help you out, because it's ther job to keep you as a customer.
RobRowald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 07:31 PM   #11  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default

OH Man...I'm with you Rob!

The ONLY reason I signed up for DN is for the HD only package (which kinda sucks currently since not all news channels offer HD but that's only for the interm...).

I would most def threaten to cancel even if they say it's gonna cost an early term fee. They want your business.
WDrake_98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 12:43 PM   #12  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default

I attempted to convert my AT200 plan to just the Turbo HD Silver package. I spoke with an account specialist, as recommended, and threatened to cancel my service. I was told by a couple of different individuals that the system will not let a current customer remove SD programming and only keep HD programming. However, they agreed to credit my bill $16/mo, the difference between the Turbo HD only and the AT200 with HD channels. Overall, I guess the same result. At least I'm not being charged for SD channels that I won't watch in the future.
rolandfernwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to Turbo Charged is Pathetic
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is every one Turbo Charged? I'm not tud DISH Network Forum 51 08-23-2008 06:05 AM
Has anyone figured out the 1080i vs. 1080p DN Turbo issue? MZ4_Adam DISH Network Forum 35 08-11-2008 11:53 PM
622 not turbo sized Brisbane DISH Network Forum 3 08-07-2008 06:07 PM
Super Street Fighter II Turbo HD Remix beta going Commando on XBLA Cygnus Gaming & Systems 6 03-14-2008 06:14 AM
FS: Turbo XS Type H-RFL (BOV) LazerGuided Car Forum 15 12-31-2007 04:56 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:23 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands