High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.

New HD Channel Lineup

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2005, 09:46 AM   #46  
GRN
Think outside the 
 
GRN's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Parts Unknown, NY
Posts: 635
Default

It'll probably get added on eventually. Probably something like the NFL Netwrok, where it'll just show up and no one will know until someone on this forum posts it.
GRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 01:23 PM   #47  
Give me the NHL in HD
 
jldhawk's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sioux City, Ia
Age: 55
Posts: 277
Cool

That's why I use this forum and trust this forum more then calling the CSR's.
Thanks Admins!
jldhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 12:48 PM   #48  
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: california
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by numbskully
This information is correct...as long as you have a 61.5 dish and HD pak subscriber all you have to do today is call and have them turned on.
Maybe stupid Q. but how I will find, if I do have 61.5 dish ? I now have HD pak and I will add voom channels, if I don't need another dish. Two dish is a enough.
ME
milosusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 01:05 PM   #49  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm
I'm new to this hd arena so bear with me if I ask a few "silly" questions...

just went to check re voom channels and altho' the 61.5 is listed, with the dish 500 selected, it shows as n/a. Does this mean I'd need a 3rd dish to pick up the voom package?
Are you getting chan 9443 HD demo channel? If so then you have 61.5. Another way to verify is to tune into a channel that's listed as 61.5 (ex 580, 9405, 9418, 9443) then immediately go into the menu for sat tuning. It should display the sat and transponder. Some channels that are listed for 61.5 are also on 148 (ex 580).

Update: Colm you're on the west coast correct, are you sure your dish is at 61.5 or is it 148? You may have a better shot for 129.

Last edited by jergenf; 11-04-2005 at 01:09 PM..
jergenf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 11:03 AM   #50  
Give me the NHL in HD
 
jldhawk's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sioux City, Ia
Age: 55
Posts: 277
Default

Can I make a suggestion to have everyone post their questions HERE since it is a STICK topic that ALWAYS stays on top when we get NEWS of the new mpeg4 recievers.
Once DN post their policy Monday Nov 14th.
I am in a smaller marker, but I noticed that DN has my local channels listed on the 129 Satelite. I get 105,110 and 119 satelites now.
Does that mean I'll get my locals in DTV/HDTV on the 129 Satelite?
and is that were the mpeg4 HD channels will be?
jldhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 08:52 AM   #51  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 95
Default

I completly confused???
Why are the HD Channels listet here completly different than the HD-Pack of dishnetwors which includes DiscoveryChannel,ESPN and TNT???
SkyDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 09:40 AM   #52  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyDiver
I completly confused???
Why are the HD Channels listet here completly different than the HD-Pack of dishnetwors which includes DiscoveryChannel,ESPN and TNT???
The HD Pak listed on dishnetwork is correct, not sure who confused you. TNT-HD, Disc-HD, HDNet, HDNet Mov, ESPN plus four PPV and HD event channels. HBO-HD and SHO-HD if you subscribe to those packages. Voom channels are on the 61.5 and 129 satellites.
jergenf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 12:21 AM   #53  
sharp aquos 52" lcd 92u
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Angry hd channels

still dont understand this, but since dish network HAS acquired
the voom satellites, why cant they activate all the HD channels
that Voom had? when i had voom, on top of their exclusive
channels (21 or more, now shortened) , there was STARZ HD east/west, Encore HD east/west, max HD east/west,
movie channel HD east/west, bravo HD, hbo hd east/west
showtime hd east/west etc.... as i recall i had about
40 - 50 hd channels which was totally awesome!

so whats the deal then dish network???? why are you so slow
in adding more HD programming? is costs really an issue here?
booboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 05:38 AM   #54  
HD DVD... to go please!!!
 
Mikekoz13's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pa.
Age: 59
Posts: 194
Cool

Band width is the issue my friend........


Mike
Mikekoz13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 09:29 AM   #55  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by booboo
still dont understand this, but since dish network HAS acquired
the voom satellites, why cant they activate all the HD channels
that Voom had? when i had voom, on top of their exclusive
channels (21 or more, now shortened) , there was STARZ HD east/west, Encore HD east/west, max HD east/west,
movie channel HD east/west, bravo HD, hbo hd east/west
showtime hd east/west etc.... as i recall i had about
40 - 50 hd channels which was totally awesome!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikekoz13
Band width is the issue my friend........
Mike
That's a good question because Rainbow1 indeed had 40+ HD channels. Mike believes it's bandwidth but is it bandwidth of 61.5 or the mirror satellite 129? Maybe they're trying to make both equal as far as HD content. Maybe they planning to add HD locals on 61.5 for the northeast US. It's already known that HD local is planned for 129.
jergenf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 04:42 PM   #56  
Rebuilding Again!
 
Poor_Man_HDTV's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Picayune, Ms.
Age: 52
Posts: 28
Default

They are only offering fewer channels because:

1. Bandwidth

2. Consolidation of programming from the channels not included, with the ones that are.


I love my DN. but they are dropping the ball on the HD arena.... Direct TV is soon going to upgrade to the mpeg4 std. while dish has no "public" plan available. To me this would be very discouraging to make the investment in to the DN system if I were a new customer that has done thier research.

One main gripe I have about DN is their mpeg encoding levels. It is not equal for all channels. I.E. My locals are grainy with a reseting "twitch" every 8-10 seconds (possibly from a very high compression ratio). Then you have the "180, 120, 60 package channels" they have a slightly better image with less artifacts (you would think that they were a "mid level compression". then the premium channels (HBO, SHOW, etc...) they almost look DVD quality, and some of them carry Dolby Digital. then we have their PAY PER VIEW. these must have the least compression rate. Stunning pictures..... It must go to show that they are giving you what you pay for. if that is the case, they should lower the compression ratio for the locals, since they are $5/ mo.

Yet to view their HD. Hesitant on getting the 811 to go along with my 625. No telling if they are going to "no charge swap" the mpeg3 decoders with the mpeg4 ones that will come out probably next century.

Last edited by Poor_Man_HDTV; 12-27-2005 at 04:51 PM..
Poor_Man_HDTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 10:27 AM   #57  
JCM
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 42
Default

"...then we have their PAY PER VIEW. these must have the least compression rate. Stunning pictures..... It must go to show that they are giving you what you pay for." (Didn't do the quote right. This is from Poor_man_HDTV's post.)

I didn't know DN's PPV channels had a better picture than their regular channels. Have other people using the 811 noticed that difference?

I don't have the premium channels, so I only had DN's regular channels to compare with. I have been avoiding PPV, because I figured why pay extra for crappy quality to watch a movie I can get on DVD. Now I'll have to give it a try . . . assuming they ever put anything on I want to watch.

Here's a surmise. Maybe Dish is run entirely by techies who are doing the best they can with their engineer school education and 8 hours a day on the job. You have to admit, DN's marketing leaves a lot to be desired. If they were better, they would be touting the higher quality of their PPV channels. Marketing professionals catch a lot of grief, but they at least tend to be in touch with what the customer wants.

Or maybe I'm being too kind ...

Last edited by JCM; 12-28-2005 at 10:31 AM..
JCM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 10:04 AM   #58  
50"Wega HD ROCKS!
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 763
Default

"but they are dropping the ball on the HD arena...."

Still think they are dropping the ball???????

More HD now than A N Y B O D Y.........

fred
fredinva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 03:37 AM   #59  
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TEXAS
Age: 63
Posts: 12
Default

Hey Fred, explain what you mean, is it something I missed in the Charlie Chat Monday night????
BLUZMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2006, 10:44 PM   #60  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Hi, I'm new to all this and have just recently signed up with Dish Network and got the Vip211 HD receivers with the Dish500. I've been reading alot about Dish Network to finally soon be offering local channels in HD through there satellites (along with ESPN2, etc.), and on MPEG4, in select markets. My question is, does anyone know if the Dish 500 would be able to receive these new local HD programming through the dish? Also, anyone know when this rollout will happen in the Dallas market? Thanks.
lanass is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to New HD Channel Lineup
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DirecTV Lastest HD Channel Lineup dman59 DirecTV Forum 61 07-28-2008 11:46 AM
Comcast HD Channel Lineup: Trenton, NJ (Mercer) tyranocore Cable Providers 6 12-23-2007 03:40 PM
When Are The Next New HD Channel's Coming? rickbbb DirecTV Forum 11 10-24-2007 04:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:29 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands