High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.

622/722 and OTA Questions

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2008, 05:35 AM   #1  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default 622/722 and OTA Questions

If I connect a external antenna to a 622/722 ...

...will the antenna tend to drop out in storms as often as Dish does? What if it is connected directly to the TV?

...will I be able to view the OTA channels on both TVs that are attached to the 622/722?

...does this give you a 3rd tuner to watch/record from on the 622/722?


Also, is the 622/722 the only boxes (receiver or DVR) that have this feature?

Thanks
PokeFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 06:38 AM   #2  
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PokeFan View Post
If I connect a external antenna to a 622/722 ...

...will the antenna tend to drop out in storms as often as Dish does? That depends on how good a signal you get from the antenna, mine doesn't. What if it is connected directly to the TV? Same answer.

...will I be able to view the OTA channels on both TVs that are attached to the 622/722?

...does this give you a 3rd tuner to watch/record from on the 622/722? Yes and it shows up in the program guide but you do have to subscribe to local channels if you want to see the programs listed.


Also, is the 622/722 the only boxes (receiver or DVR) that have this feature? No, there are several others.

Thanks
Hope this helps.
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 08:48 AM   #3  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 63
Posts: 2,357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PokeFan View Post

...will I be able to view the OTA channels on both TVs that are attached to the 622/722?
The OTA tuner is connnected to tv1 output when in dual user mode. You can however record the ota program on tv1 and view it as a recording on tv2. Note: Dish is coming out with a 722k model which should have ota on both tv outputs.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 11:03 AM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 558
Default

I fed my Terk OTA antenna into a splitter and then fed both the 722 and the TV with the signal. This allows you to watch one OTA HD channel and record another.

Within a week of my doing this, DISH supplied all my locals in HD on the 61.5 satellite and I no longer use the antenna.
TDK1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 11:51 AM   #5  
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDK1044 View Post
Within a week of my doing this, DISH supplied all my locals in HD on the 61.5 satellite and I no longer use the antenna.
But if you do leave the antenna connected you then have the option of recording 2 local channels at once, one from the Dish supplied locals and one from OTA.
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 12:15 PM   #6  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 63
Posts: 2,357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loves2Watch View Post
But if you do leave the antenna connected you then have the option of recording 2 local channels at once, one from the Dish supplied locals and one from OTA.
And local ota may have HD versions of channels which Dish does not supply. Always nice to have both.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 01:56 PM   #7  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default

Thanks everyone for your help.

So, with the 722, if I don't also subscribe to locals then the local OTA channels will show in the guide, but I won't be able to see what programs are on? I assume that would mean I would have to set manual timers, right?

Maybe I should have been a little more specific on my question about other receivers. Do any other receivers offered by Dish Network allow the input of OTA channels? If so, which ones?

Thanks again.
PokeFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 02:38 PM   #8  
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PokeFan View Post
Thanks everyone for your help.

So, with the 722, if I don't also subscribe to locals then the local OTA channels will show in the guide, but I won't be able to see what programs are on? I assume that would mean I would have to set manual timers, right? That is correct because without subscribing to the locals the guide will just display "digital programming" and no broken down time slots.

Maybe I should have been a little more specific on my question about other receivers. Do any other receivers offered by Dish Network allow the input of OTA channels? If so, which ones? I know the ViP612 does and there are at least one other but I don't remember which one(s).

Thanks again.
Hope this helps.
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 02:38 PM   #9  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 63
Posts: 2,357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PokeFan View Post
Thanks everyone for your help.

So, with the 722, if I don't also subscribe to locals then the local OTA channels will show in the guide, but I won't be able to see what programs are on? I assume that would mean I would have to set manual timers, right?

Maybe I should have been a little more specific on my question about other receivers. Do any other receivers offered by Dish Network allow the input of OTA channels? If so, which ones?

Thanks again.
Right, you will get the channels in the guide, but all they will say would be 'Digital Service' and no other info. Not sure what you mean by input of OTA channels, but the only receivers will allow OTA channels to be intregated into their guide and an easy switch between the ota and sat supplied channels are the discontinued 6000, 811, 921, 942 and 411 along with current models 622, 612, 722, 211 and 222. All others allow for OTA to pass thru and be viewed using the tuner on the tv. All the current models and the 411 only allow for digital/HD ota channels only, the rest of the models listed would also allow analog.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to 622/722 and OTA Questions
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Upgrade from 622 to 722? Finnigan DISH Network Forum 9 08-11-2009 09:19 AM
722 DVR And Other Questions Decado DISH Network Forum 26 11-18-2008 08:22 PM
Dish HD questions jimpghpa DISH Network Forum 7 10-27-2007 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands