High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.

Special Coax Plate for satellite install????

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2008, 10:36 AM   #1  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 35
Default Special Coax Plate for satellite install????

I recently had dish network installed in my home and to make a long story short the installer said i have to have a special barrel in the wall plate where the outside coax connects to the wall, then the other side goes to the tuner. I have never seen anything other than the standard coax wall plates. He said something about because the coax has power running through it with dish and this could burn out a regular barrel
RexIvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 01:16 PM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
daleb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 7,654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RexIvy View Post
I recently had dish network installed in my home and to make a long story short the installer said i have to have a special barrel in the wall plate where the outside coax connects to the wall, then the other side goes to the tuner. I have never seen anything other than the standard coax wall plates. He said something about because the coax has power running through it with dish and this could burn out a regular barrel
I think he has a burned out barrel. Just get a quality feed through, it should work fine. And if it did burn out (from the relatively modest DC power feeding the LNB) replace it. First I've heard of this, but maybe it's based on a poor connection or defective feed-thru. I am sure any barrel from a reputable satellite supply store will work just fine.
Maybe Garys or others know of this. A good solid installation is important. If the connection in the wall (back of the plate) is not solid, and/or there is a lot stress on the connection from a twist on the cable, etc. it might come loose. Not good.

http://www.prosatellitesupply.com/f8...connectors.htm

Last edited by daleb; 07-09-2008 at 01:21 PM..
daleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 01:38 PM   #3  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 35
Default

The ones the installer installed were blue (like the ones in the picture) and the ones that were in the wall plate were white, any difference?
RexIvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 02:35 PM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
daleb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 7,654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RexIvy View Post
The ones the installer installed were blue (like the ones in the picture) and the ones that were in the wall plate were white, any difference?
I really don't know, to be honest.
daleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 07:41 PM   #5  
50"Wega HD ROCKS!
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RexIvy View Post
The ones the installer installed were blue (like the ones in the picture) and the ones that were in the wall plate were white, any difference?
yepper; dish recommends the blue ones.
for proper frequency pass thru

fred
fredinva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 08:56 PM   #6  
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,696
Default

The blue ones are certified up to 2300MHZ or something like that and the white ones are lower frequency, so with the white you might lose the band stacked channels off a DPP lnb/switch.
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 08:16 AM   #7  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
daleb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 7,654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim5506 View Post
The blue ones are certified up to 2300MHZ or something like that and the white ones are lower frequency, so with the white you might lose the band stacked channels off a DPP lnb/switch.
Seems much more likely than a 'burn-out'..unless someone is transmitting instead of receiving...
daleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2008, 07:50 AM   #8  
Overclocked at 4GHz
 
18 is # 1's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Forney, TX Where Dallas ends and living begins.
Posts: 1,619
Default

I want to be special too
18 is # 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 11:41 AM   #9  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 35
Default

can i get these special blue barrels locally?
RexIvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 03:46 PM   #10  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
daleb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 7,654
Default

Might call around some electronic parts suppliers near home.
With local pricing + tax would likely match online supplier with shipping costs.
I've seen a bag of 10 online for around $4..but the shipping was also $4.
daleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 10:30 AM   #11  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 35
Default

I cant find any local. Everyone i spoke to said the barrels are the same as the standard one in a plain wall plate??? I couldnt even find any that were blue ( if thats how you distinguish them from the standard ones).
RexIvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 11:45 AM   #12  
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,283
Default

I would suggest contacting a local installer and seeing if they would let you have a few.
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to Special Coax Plate for satellite install????
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a special antennae if I'm using a really long coax cable? sofakng Local HDTV Info and Reception 3 03-29-2007 02:08 PM
OTA Antenna install pgstancil Local HDTV Info and Reception 5 11-22-2006 11:39 AM
Coax wiring for HDTV (PM from Butler44) rbinck Flat-Panel TVs 8 06-05-2006 09:55 PM
Toshiba coax output borderbuster Cables & Connections 3 06-04-2005 12:28 AM
Differences in Coax? And Picture Quality? gramps11 Local HDTV Info and Reception 6 04-20-2005 02:27 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands