High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.

Remote Issues

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2008, 12:40 PM   #1  
What is HD?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default Remote Issues

Hi, I have a 722 setup in our home theater in the basement. That box shares the 2nd tuner with a tv upstairs in the bedroom, and we've had problems with the 2nd remote working. Does anyone know of a signal booster or a way to fix this problem?

Thanks.
Jon208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 12:55 PM   #2  
My LCD is High Def
 
sgomillion's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Jay,Florida
Age: 42
Posts: 17
Default

What i did was ,use a spitter to comdine tv2 out and antenna together,then at tv2 use another splitter in reverse to seperate ,one going to tv2 and the other goining to antenna,This way the remote is closer to the antenna,problem solved.
sgomillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 12:56 PM   #3  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Genoa City, WI
Age: 44
Posts: 240
Default

Have you always had this problem, or is it a recent development? If it just started happening, check the batteries (which you probably already have).

Otherwise- the bedroom remote sends a UHF signal to the 722 in the basement. Normally, the signal is strong enough to cover the entire house (even neighboring houses). Do you have the little antenna that is designed to receive the signal from the remote hooked to the back of the 722? If you do and that's not working well, you could technically go with a regular UHF antenna that will receive the signal better.

Another option is a remote control extender, which runs about $40 at Radio Shack. That has a device that receives the infrared signal from your remote in your bedroom, transmits a signal to the receiving unit in the basement, and sends an infrared signal to the 722.
CreedFan818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 12:59 PM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Genoa City, WI
Age: 44
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgomillion View Post
What i did was ,use a spitter to comdine tv2 out and antenna together,then at tv2 use another splitter in reverse to seperate ,one going to tv2 and the other goining to antenna,This way the remote is closer to the antenna,problem solved.
Excellent idea!
CreedFan818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 09:26 AM   #5  
NASCAR IN HD
 
spokybob's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NW Illinois
Posts: 546
Default Sometimes I have to stand on my head.

Creed: Let us know if that worked for you.
spokybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 09:55 AM   #6  
What is HD?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default

sgomillion: Do you mean run the antenna connection through the coax in the wall to tv2, then split the connection again at tv2 to connect the antenna? Would i need a special splitter to combine the signals?

Creed: I do have an old powered antenna. If i connected that to the back of the 722 would it work like you said, or would I need a different type of antenna made specifically for this?

Thanks for all the help.
Jon208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 10:28 AM   #7  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 70
Default

Simple fix often works best. I had problems with mine. I added the attenuator included with the reciever, and it worked. I also have to make sure my antenna is on a slight angle. Not sure why, but it works fine now. Similar set up 622 in basement, and TV2 on top 3rd floor.
JohnT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 10:43 AM   #8  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Genoa City, WI
Age: 44
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spokybob View Post
Creed: Let us know if that worked for you.
Standing on my head, using a different antenna, or using the splitters to move the antenna closer to the remote?

I haven't had any problems, myself. I was just throwing out some ideas.

Last edited by CreedFan818; 07-08-2008 at 10:57 AM..
CreedFan818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 10:49 AM   #9  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Genoa City, WI
Age: 44
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon208 View Post
Creed: I do have an old powered antenna. If i connected that to the back of the 722 would it work like you said, or would I need a different type of antenna made specifically for this?
That should work. Just about anything should receive the signal better than the small "stick" antenna they supply. If you have a roof antenna connected to the 722, you could split that and connect it to where the UHF antenna goes. That's probably overkill, but it is possible to do that.

I would try sgomillion's or JohnT's suggestions first, unless you want to use that same antenna for OTA reception on the 722.

Last edited by CreedFan818; 07-08-2008 at 10:59 AM..
CreedFan818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 12:57 PM   #10  
My LCD is High Def
 
sgomillion's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Jay,Florida
Age: 42
Posts: 17
Default

Jon208-Do you mean run the antenna connection through the coax in the wall to tv2, then split the connection again at tv2 to connect the antenna? - Yes. put the antenna on the spitter or a short run and the other run to the tv.

Would i need a special splitter to combine the signals?- No

This is what i did because the receiver was in the gameroom and tv2 was in a back bedroom,the problem i had was the signal would only work in the hall not the bedroom (6 more feet)because it was being cut off by a thick brick wall (gameroom was a add on).I have had no problems since.
sgomillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 01:06 PM   #11  
My LCD is High Def
 
sgomillion's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Jay,Florida
Age: 42
Posts: 17
Default

I tried JohnT's suggestions first and it did not work. But i would try that first,remember i was going threw a brick wall.The brick wall was my problem the bedroom was only about 20 feet from the receiver.Everything work fine now and has been working fine for 4 months.
sgomillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 02:39 PM   #12  
NASCAR IN HD
 
spokybob's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NW Illinois
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon208 View Post
Hi, I have a 722 setup in our home theater in the basement. That box shares the 2nd tuner with a tv upstairs in the bedroom, and we've had problems with the 2nd remote working. Does anyone know of a signal booster or a way to fix this problem?

Thanks.
Simple & cheap solution. I removed the short antenna on the back of my 622. Using an adapter, I attached a 12" piece of 300 ohm leadin wire to the antenna port. Now the TV2 remote works great!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4173.JPG (106.0 KB, 12 views)
spokybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 11:12 PM   #13  
Overclocked at 4GHz
 
18 is # 1's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Forney, TX Where Dallas ends and living begins.
Posts: 1,619
Default

Like Spoky, I've use a length of coax to move the receiver antenna to different areas/angles for better reception. You may also want to point Remote 2 at different areas in room 2 because sometimes the signals bounce weird.
18 is # 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to Remote Issues
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote issues - a bit confusing to say the least nlions DirecTV Forum 18 07-12-2007 10:18 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands