High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.

Antenna to use with Dish Network

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2008, 09:16 PM   #1  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Default Antenna to use with Dish Network

Hello,

I just moved to a new house (zip code: 29568) and need your suggestions on what is the best set-up for me. I would like to get the local channels over the air in HD, but have to decide on a few items.

At my previous house, I had a roof top antenna (Channel Master Ultra-Hi Crossfire 3671), preamp (Winegard AP8275), and rotor (Channel Master) combo along with my dish 500 -- I was very happy with my set-up. Currently, I have Dish Network's dish 500 hooked to my Panasonic HD television but no antenna. So all I get are the channels from my dish programming.

Mounting a roof top antenna where I live is going to be touchy:
1. It is very hard to run RG6 & rotor control cable to my TV's location.
2. Roof top antennas are frowned upon in my subdivision (but there is no HOA preventing it).

Does a good antenna exist that can bring in the local channels (ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, PBS) that I can attach to the dish itself? Something that does not require running more wires through the house? Something that does not look out of place? Something that blends into the home and neighborhood? etc.

Any suggestions??

Thanks,

MannyL
MannyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 12:25 AM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Genoa City, WI
Age: 44
Posts: 240
Default

It appears you're in a pretty good location for reliable reception. Your best option would be a rooftop antenna with the RG-6 cable running into the house, if at all possible. Also, many stations you're well in reach of are in different directions, requiring a rotor (and of course the rotor cable running into the house).

Fortunately, you should be able to get away with a smaller, UHF-only antenna. Right now you have one station on the high VHF band (channel 9) and you will have another on channel 13 after the February 2009 transition. A lot of UHF antennas will be able to receive the higher VHF channels fairly well, and you should receive pretty strong signals from these channels.

One reason I would recommend a UHF antenna is because it's smaller, and wouldn't be as much of an eyesore to your neighbors. However, I wouldn't worry about the neighbors. You're the one paying for your house and have the right to pretty much do whatever you want to it. Have your neighbors clearly come out and expressed their dislike of antennas in their neighborhood? If it really is going to be an issue, an attic antenna is the next best option, if you have an attic to mount an antenna. The only other option is an indoor antenna, which can often be unreliable.
CreedFan818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 09:11 AM   #3  
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,159
Default

how far are you from the locations?? try a simple rabbit ear, then try rabbit ear in the attic

ive seen full size antennas in attics as well....

im just using a simple phillips rabbit with rotating dish center....i keep it unplugged as i dont need the boost.
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 11:59 AM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
daleb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 7,654
Default

www.antennaweb.org
daleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 05:29 PM   #5  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Everyone,

Thanks for the suggestions and link. I agree that a roof top antenna with a rotor is my best bet. However, after looking around the house a bit, it is going to be very difficult to get the wires from the antenna and rotor to the TV's location in the house (i.e., cathedral ceilings, little to no attic to speak of, and no crawlspace)!

Do any of you know of a multi-directional antenna that snaps onto the lip of the dish that does a good job?

Is it possible to install a roof top multi-directional antenna and hook it up to the RG6 wire that Dish Network already installed and not have to run new wires?

Any ideas ?

Thanks,

MannyL
MannyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 07:02 AM   #6  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Genoa City, WI
Age: 44
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daleb View Post
For more signal detail, www.tvfool.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by MannyL View Post
Do any of you know of a multi-directional antenna that snaps onto the lip of the dish that does a good job?
The only way to tell if one of these will work for you is to try it. BUT, make sure there's a good return policy as these are not nearly as effective as a rooftop antenna.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MannyL View Post
Is it possible to install a roof top multi-directional antenna and hook it up to the RG6 wire that Dish Network already installed and not have to run new wires?
You could try a couple of diplexers. You would combine the signal of the antenna and satellite dish outside, use the existing cable running into the house, and then use another diplexer to split the two signals inside.

Is it possible to run the antenna cable straight through the siding into the house where the TV is? Where is the satellite cable coming in?
CreedFan818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to Antenna to use with Dish Network
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have to switch from Dish Network to Comcast meant2live4him Cable Providers 17 08-09-2008 04:14 AM
Newbie Using Dish Network in RV ficklefinn DISH Network Forum 12 12-05-2007 03:56 PM
Considering DISH Network CatManDoo DISH Network Forum 20 02-15-2007 09:25 AM
Dish network hd channels Jman03 DISH Network Forum 13 05-08-2005 08:26 PM
Directv Responds To Dish Network Adding Voom Channels leww37334 DirecTV Forum 17 05-02-2005 07:31 PM
Would NEVER Recommend Dish Network!!! RonInBigEasy DISH Network Forum 12 01-19-2005 01:20 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:52 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands