High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.

722 throught comonent to 720p PJ

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2008, 11:08 AM   #1  
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,159
Default 722 throught comonent to 720p PJ

Ok so whats this crap i hear about dvd and such downgrading the HD when hooked up component??

Does the 722 do this through component as well?

I know for a fact component is capable of 1080p

Im not going to spend an extra $500 to get a reciever that has hdmi inputs.

This is the dumbest thing ive ever heard of.....they are forcing us to make illegal copies of dvds so i can use the component cables???? IDITIOS!!!!! only copying a dvd will remove this bullsh*t crap that downconverts your dvd to 480i instead of letting your upconvert player do its 1080i......

Does anyone know for sure that the 722 will output 1080i through component??

I guess ill start pirating dvds now....gotta go got lots of encyption to break......dumb*ss stupid govt controlled movie crap
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 11:15 AM   #2  
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,321
Default

Component video handles all the way up to 1080p just fine . As long as you TV's/PJ's component input handles 1080p that is (most newer 1080p set do now a days). The SD upconversion has nothing to do with component video but the HDCP with HDMI and UC DVD players. If the DVD player is progressive scan, your HDTV will do the upconversion to it's native res via component anyway. So if you have a 1080p PJ it will deinterlace the 1080i and display it very well. Many people (including me) think component produces as good a picture as DVI/HDMI. Some even better depending on the application. I had my 622 connected via HDMI and component and the PQ was the same. Excellent with both..

Last edited by Bigloww; 06-19-2008 at 11:24 AM..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 11:26 AM   #3  
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,159
Default

I was told that a normal dvd in a upconvert or HD player will only do 480 through component....and its not the equipment but some encryption telling the system to not upconvert....

so my PJ BenQ W500 is 720p but my Toshiba A3 will be doing the upconvert......if the protection allows it i guess....so my PJ shouldnt be upconverting at all and the HD player is better at upconvert anyway.
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 11:46 AM   #4  
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jodean View Post
I was told that a normal dvd in a upconvert or HD player will only do 480 through component....and its not the equipment but some encryption telling the system to not upconvert....

so my PJ BenQ W500 is 720p but my Toshiba A3 will be doing the upconvert......if the protection allows it i guess....so my PJ shouldnt be upconverting at all and the HD player is better at upconvert anyway.
If you want the player to do the upconverting, yes, you need to have it connected via HDMI. With a progressive scan DVD player via component, it will pass it 480p to your TV/PJ and the TV's upscaller will upconvert it to it's native resolution 1280 x 720 (720p) or in my case 1366x768 (768p). Many scallers on newer TV's (especially higher tier) are as good as many of them in upconversion DVD players. Especially those sub $100 playes. The A3 does a good job at UC but not sure about the scaller in your 720p PJ to compare. I have the A2 and it is a bit better vs my plasma at upconverting, but not by much. If you want the A3 to do the UC, you will need to connect it HDMI or DVI.


Edit...I did notive that your PJ has 1 HDMI input. If that is the case, what is the issue??? Just leave your A3 connected HDMI and your 722 component. Or get a HDMI switch for around $40.

Last edited by Bigloww; 06-19-2008 at 11:52 AM..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 04:44 PM   #5  
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigloww View Post


Edit...I did notive that your PJ has 1 HDMI input. If that is the case, what is the issue??? Just leave your A3 connected HDMI and your 722 component. Or get a HDMI switch for around $40.
Ya i guess i can do that.....wife wont have a clue how to get the PJ or when to get the PJ to and from component to HDMI though.....


SO....back to the original question....the 722 will pas 1080i or p to my PJ through component???
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 09:41 PM   #6  
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jodean View Post
Ya i guess i can do that.....wife wont have a clue how to get the PJ or when to get the PJ to and from component to HDMI though.....


SO....back to the original question....the 722 will pas 1080i or p to my PJ through component???
Absolutely. It will "pass" the 1080i and 720p (no 1080p broadcasts yet) to your PJ. And your PJ will simply down convert the 1080i channels to it's 720p native resolution.

Last edited by Bigloww; 06-19-2008 at 09:44 PM..
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 07:19 PM   #7  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: America
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jodean View Post
I was told that a normal dvd in a upconvert or HD player will only do 480 through component....and its not the equipment but some encryption telling the system to not upconvert....

so my PJ BenQ W500 is 720p but my Toshiba A3 will be doing the upconvert......if the protection allows it i guess....so my PJ shouldnt be upconverting at all and the HD player is better at upconvert anyway.
1 [email protected] band camp this girl got out a mini dv to rec a bj but when she put it in the UC dvd, it would only play thru the hdmi connection on the lcd or the dvi on the oc'd laptop pc.

So what is a PJ? Really, the 1st part was a joke, kinda, in poor taste, yeah.
NickRogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 02:02 PM   #8  
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickRogers View Post

So what is a PJ? Really, the 1st part was a joke, kinda, in poor taste, yeah.
That would be "projector" for you non techies
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to 722 throught comonent to 720p PJ
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Official HD Video Clip List gollum High Definition Movies & Video Clips 70 07-29-2015 07:17 AM
Sony KP-51ws500 DOES display 720p. Sole_Survivor Cables & Connections 2 09-28-2007 05:00 PM
What to consider when choosing a HD set. S0LE_SURVIV0R The High Definition Lounge 5 02-28-2006 04:18 PM
Should I set my receiver to 720p or 1080i qhplar DISH Network Forum 2 12-08-2005 06:42 PM
Sony KP-ws500 DOES dispaly 720p Sole_Survivor Rear-Projection TVs 0 01-06-2005 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:31 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands