High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.

61.5 and a 501/508 in Fla

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2008, 05:46 PM   #1  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: America
Posts: 64
Default 61.5 and a 501/508 in Fla

1). I am curious to know if I can aim a Dish 300 dish for the 61.5 sat thru a new Dish 500 with an external input into a 508(std def) receiver? 2).Does the 61.5 sat only carry HD content? The check switch won't let me aim specifically at 61.5, it just says "not locked on 119 west". It also shows "external input not connected". I have the dual lnb from my old 300 install that was functioning fine when I removed it. 3).Do I need to try harder to get the 61.5 sat's signal, then it(508) will see it?

I am trying to have myself setup for HD when I come back down south from up north. My acct is based up north where I have a Dish 1000 at 110,119, and 129 so I understand I won't get my locals on 61.5.

Nick
NickRogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 06:11 PM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 63
Posts: 2,357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickRogers View Post
1). I am curious to know if I can aim a Dish 300 dish for the 61.5 sat thru a new Dish 500 with an external input into a 508(std def) receiver? 2).Does the 61.5 sat only carry HD content? The check switch won't let me aim specifically at 61.5, it just says "not locked on 119 west". It also shows "external input not connected". I have the dual lnb from my old 300 install that was functioning fine when I removed it. 3).Do I need to try harder to get the 61.5 sat's signal, then it(508) will see it?

I am trying to have myself setup for HD when I come back down south from up north. My acct is based up north where I have a Dish 1000 at 110,119, and 129 so I understand I won't get my locals on 61.5.

Nick
Yes you can and you may see some PI channels. No HD channels would be visible on either 501/508. When pointing to 61.5, it is easier to run a direct line till pointed then add to your exisiting system. You will need to select Dish 300 in order to get point info and by using a Dish 500 set skew at 90. Make sure the lnb you use for 61.5 is compatable with the rest of your system. Cannot answer your question on locals as you have not stated where you are located and which local market you are wanted to receive.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 07:02 PM   #3  
I love my wife!!!
 
adamwilkes20's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Zephyrhills, Fl
Posts: 505
Default

why dont you just tell dish when you upgrade the recievers you have here in Florida to VIP recievers that you need the wing dish installed at 61.5, it will be free anyway
adamwilkes20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 08:12 PM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: America
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamwilkes20 View Post
why dont you just tell dish when you upgrade the recievers you have here in Florida to VIP recievers that you need the wing dish installed at 61.5, it will be free anyway
I'll buy the HD receivers outright through a dealer so I won't be offered the "free professional install", nor do I want it, I'd just prefer to do it myself and not have any obligations like a 2yr contract or getting permission from Dish to have equipment in 2 locations. They should be happy I don't disconnect/remove/reconnect each time I need to.
NickRogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 08:29 PM   #5  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: America
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garys View Post
Yes you can and you may see some PI channels. No HD channels would be visible on either 501/508. When pointing to 61.5, it is easier to run a direct line till pointed then add to your exisiting system. You will need to select Dish 300 in order to get point info and by using a Dish 500 set skew at 90. Make sure the lnb you use for 61.5 is compatable with the rest of your system. Cannot answer your question on locals as you have not stated where you are located and which local market you are wanted to receive.
You say then, run independently from my 61.5 dish directly to the receiver until dialed in then hook it up thru the pro twin lnb on the 500? Sounds simple enough if I'm understanding correctly. That's what I did 10 years ago when I self installed my Dish 300

The lnb for the 61.5 Dish 300 is an older dual one that did work fine on the Dish 300 although I only could get 119. It worked with a Dish Pro receiver(508) so garys is it likely compatible to the new DishPro twin with the built in switch and external input? I appreciate your reply. Alas, what is a PI channel?
NickRogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 07:48 AM   #6  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 63
Posts: 2,357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickRogers View Post
You say then, run independently from my 61.5 dish directly to the receiver until dialed in then hook it up thru the pro twin lnb on the 500? Sounds simple enough if I'm understanding correctly. That's what I did 10 years ago when I self installed my Dish 300

The lnb for the 61.5 Dish 300 is an older dual one that did work fine on the Dish 300 although I only could get 119. It worked with a Dish Pro receiver(508) so garys is it likely compatible to the new DishPro twin with the built in switch and external input? I appreciate your reply. Alas, what is a PI channel?
If there is no markings on the lnb, it is a 'Legacy' lnb and would not be compatable with the DishPro twin and will not work. You would need to get a DishPro lnb to work with the rest of your system. You can use the legacy lnb directly to the receiver in order to point the dish and add it to your system once you get the proper lnb.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 08:42 AM   #7  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: America
Posts: 64
Default

Thanks garys, I figured that may be the problem. Lastly, what are PI channels?

Nick
NickRogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 09:26 AM   #8  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 63
Posts: 2,357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickRogers View Post
Thanks garys, I figured that may be the problem. Lastly, what are PI channels?

Nick
Public Interest, they reside at 9400 to 9418. They are scattered across all the satellite locations so you should see some of them now.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to 61.5 and a 501/508 in Fla
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite 61.5 Signal Problem charlie46d DISH Network Forum 6 08-01-2006 06:56 AM
Is all HDTV on 129 same as 61.5 ?? rvacs DISH Network Forum 6 04-13-2006 07:38 PM
Confused - is Dish 1000 going to eliminate 61.5? rvacs DISH Network Forum 6 02-09-2006 06:31 PM
Second dish install for 61.5 ?'s asmcbride DISH Network Forum 1 01-28-2005 04:27 PM
What Will E* use new 61.5 DBS for? aggie DISH Network Forum 5 01-21-2005 06:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands