High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.

vip622 pixellation question

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2007, 05:38 PM   #1  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default vip622 pixellation question

I just got my dish network HD hookup. It is a vip622. I bought a Vizio 37 inch tv. HD channels look great, but, I am noticing a fair amount of what I think is referred to as pixellation. I mostly watch the nbc/abc/cbs HD channels and the picture sometime freezes with part of the screen fine and the other part is like solid green. Then, a few seconds later, the picture seems to refresh and all is fine. My best description when it freezes is like a puzzle on my screen with a quarter of the pieces missing, then, it corrects. I do notice this with fast motion changes. Is this a receiver issue or hd broadcast issue? Anyone else having this problem. I am using 720p with Phillips hdmi cable.
damianinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:27 PM   #2  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default

I too have bad pixellation with Dish on SD channels, actually I have the problem on HD channels as well. My local installer said that it is just the way it is and that there is nothing he can do. I tried to get Dish to send a different Tech out but they scheduled with the installer who doesn't know how to fix it. I got Dish 2 months ago and can't seem to get them to fix it and have kind of given up for now. My TV is a Toshiba REGZA 42 inch HL167. I am using an HDMI cable to and have tried component wth no better results.

If you find a fix please let me know becuase I am very frustrated with the issue. Sometime I can't even stand to watch a channel because the pixellation is so bad.
casey13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 05:35 PM   #3  
HD LOVER
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Age: 44
Posts: 330
Default

Sounds like dropouts due to poor signal quality. Go to menu and hit
6-1-1 to get to the signal meter screen. If any of your transponders are less than 25 you probably need your dish realigned.
wal-dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 10:16 AM   #4  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Default Pixelation problem

its a LCD panel failure problem not a Dish receiver problem. I see it all the time on LCD's. When I hook these receivers to Sony SXRD, Plasma, CRT-HD , HD-Ila tech. the problem is not there. It mainly ties to the renduring processor in the LCD along with the panel not being able to refresh as fast as needs to be. the display may say even 120HZ on it but they usually look worse when in that mode. Go to a local big box retailer and try it switch the 120HZ mode on and off and you can see it get worse in that higher refresh rate.
speersjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 10:26 AM   #5  
NHL in HD please!!!
 
gwhoughton's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Hollywood/Valley Village, CA
Posts: 1,738
Exclamation Maybe sometimes, but not usually I'd bet...

Quote:
Originally Posted by speersjeff View Post
its a LCD panel failure problem not a Dish receiver problem. I see it all the time on LCD's. When I hook these receivers to Sony SXRD, Plasma, CRT-HD , HD-Ila tech. the problem is not there. It mainly ties to the renduring processor in the LCD along with the panel not being able to refresh as fast as needs to be. the display may say even 120HZ on it but they usually look worse when in that mode. Go to a local big box retailer and try it switch the 120HZ mode on and off and you can see it get worse in that higher refresh rate.
Jeff, I think you are talking about two seperate issues... Your explanation of a "LCD panel failure problem" certainly wouldn't explain why my Sony 34" CRT experiences the same problem from time to time.

I'm pretty positive that the issue here is signal strength or lack thereof~
gwhoughton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2007, 12:11 PM   #6  
Student of HDTV
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis
Age: 57
Posts: 127
Default

Sounds like low signal to me!
highdefjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 12:11 PM   #7  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Default

I am going to call the installer back. It happens a few times while watching hi-def channels during a 30 minute program. My signal meter shows like 50, but, on the screen it says Dish upgraded the software recently and the meter will not be as high as it once was and this is totally normal. I'm thinking it is a dish pointing or cabling issue.
Damian
damianinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 12:17 PM   #8  
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,283
Default

Instead of calling the original installer back, call Dish instead. They may send out someone different especially after you explain that the otiginal installer said "that's just the way it is" which is not acceptable in any case.
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 02:47 PM   #9  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Default Pixelation problem

When I called Dish and said the original installer said that's the way it is and that there was nothing he could do....Dish setup the service call with the same installer. I still have the problem 2 months later.
casey13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 03:09 PM   #10  
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,283
Default

Then call them back and keep doing it 'til it is fixed. Ask them to send you a supervisor or senior tech to correct the failed installation. Pointing the dish requires time and patience along with the correct equipment.
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 06:40 PM   #11  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Default Same woes for me...

I have the same issue and agree that this is a signal strength issue. After three installers came out (the last one said that this was a known issue that they had received a memo on from DISH), I still have the same problem. The problem is only on local HD channels. In my area, Atlanta, the local HD channels appear on satellite 129 transponder 4. My signal strength is 48 to 52 on the meter. I have a 722 DVR. The installer told me that he can not improve the signal strength. After escalating to a supervisor at DISH, I was told that the signal strength was too low and that was causing my problem. I told the final installer this and he said the signal could not be improved and that there was nothing he could do. I have been left with two options, live with it or change service providers. I will be changing.
MurphmanDook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 07:58 PM   #12  
Go away.
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 8
Default

'I've just stumbled on 'high def forum' and decided to join after having read several threads about problems with dish network systems. I happen to be a dish network technician, and I hope I can help answer some questions, particularly this pixelation issue which does come up rather often.

Here we go, first off - it -does- sound like a signal strength issue. Since you have a new install, I'm going to assume you have the 1000.2 dish w/1000.2 LNB. The 1000.2 -is- rather tricky to point for peak performance. "LovesToWatch" said it well - pointing this dish requires patience, experience, and proper equipment. It is quite a bit more difficult than our 500 dish's. Anyhow, before going off on tangents, I have a few questions to ask to help isolate the issue and give you a meaningful response.

1) What city/state are you in?

2) Please give me signal strengths on the following sat's and transponders.
On the 110, advise 11, 14, 19, 21
On the 119, advise 11, 14, 19, 20, 21
On the 129, advise 4, 5, 13, 14, 19, 27, 30

Note that you may not have signal strengths on all of these transponders, and some may be quite low relative to others. One or two may even say 'spotbeam'. If not, see if you can find one on the 110 sat that say's spotbeam and advise the strength on that as well.

3) What are your weather conditions like at the time of reading - clear sky, light cloud cover, rain, etc...

4) Is the problem also happening on TV2? Any other receivers in the house you can check? Note that your HD channels are available on all receivers - they are simply downconverted to SD. So if your TV or other receivers do not pixelate when your 622 TV1 does, we're talking about a different issue entirely than signal strength.

5) Does the screen freeze for several seconds or more, possibly go black, and then return - or is it just small squares temporarily messing up the picture? Does the audio cut out as well?

I may have more questions, but the more info you can give me about the above will help paint a much better picture of the situation.
DNS Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 12:45 AM   #13  
Student of HDTV
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis
Age: 57
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MurphmanDook View Post
I have the same issue and agree that this is a signal strength issue. After three installers came out (the last one said that this was a known issue that they had received a memo on from DISH), I still have the same problem. The problem is only on local HD channels. In my area, Atlanta, the local HD channels appear on satellite 129 transponder 4. My signal strength is 48 to 52 on the meter. I have a 722 DVR. The installer told me that he can not improve the signal strength. After escalating to a supervisor at DISH, I was told that the signal strength was too low and that was causing my problem. I told the final installer this and he said the signal could not be improved and that there was nothing he could do. I have been left with two options, live with it or change service providers. I will be changing.
Be cautious...the grass isn't always greener...

The other guys have just as hard of a job peaking and the results, even when installed correctly, are not always as good.
highdefjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 12:33 PM   #14  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Default Pixellation Details for DNS Tech...

First of all, thanks for the response. I am copying your questions and my answers below. The last two technicians that came to my house told they would love to help but did not know how. They suggested I change services...

On the issue of which dish... I started with two Dual-LNB dish 500 series several years ago. One for upstairs and one for downstairs. I recently switched to HD. The technician installing the HD said I didn't need to the DISH 1000.2. He aimed my downstairs dish at Sat 129 and removed an LNB. He then ran the cable to the other dish and connected via some type of splitter/joiner to the cable going to my downstairs system. The other dish remained dual-LNB for Sat 110 and Sat 119. Now, instead of having two cables to each system, I have one cable to each system that is then split at the dual receivers. My downstairs receiver is a dual vip722 and the upstairs is an SB dual receiver.

Now to the questions:
1) What city/state are you in? Alpharetta, Georgia

2) Please give me signal strengths on the following sat's and transponders.
On the 110, advise 11(67), 14(74), 19(66), 21(70)
On the 119, advise 11(80), 14(76), 19(86), 20(77), 21(82)
On the 129, advise 4(56), 5(47), 13(52), 14(not an available transponder choice), 19(51), 27(39), 30(53)

Note that you may not have signal strengths on all of these transponders, and some may be quite low relative to others. One or two may even say 'spotbeam'. If not, see if you can find one on the 110 sat that say's spotbeam and advise the strength on that as well.

SPOTBEAM on 110 was Trans 29 and Trans 31 with strengths of 8 and 12 respectively. None of the other ones that you gave me to check said SpotBeam...

3) What are your weather conditions like at the time of reading - clear sky, light cloud cover, rain, etc...

Perfect clear blue sky with very light wind....

4) Is the problem also happening on TV2? YES, on HD Locals. Problems occurs on VIP722 TV1 and TV2 on Local HD. According to DISH, this is Sat 129 Transponder 4 in my area.

Any other receivers in the house you can check? Note that your HD channels are available on all receivers - they are simply downconverted to SD.

No problem on the SD TV's upstairs as nothing coming from SAT129 is upstairs. All standard def....

5) Does the screen freeze for several seconds or more, possibly go black, and then return - or is it just small squares temporarily messing up the picture? Does the audio cut out as well?

Generally, there is a lot of pixellation going to green octets on the screen with audio interruption if the pixellation is really bad, followed a black screen of death and then everything comes back on, both Audio and Video. This happens in ALL types of weather.... And I mean ALL types of weather. And it is intermittent. In any given one hour period, it will happen 2-10 times.


When the original guy came out to convert me to HD, he said that they quit using the elliptical dishes and that my 500's would be fine. If it's worth a shot, I will call them back and get them to change it. I am desparate. I am really tired of going through the 1-hour phone calls with DISH to get something done and then the guy shows up and does nothing. If there is anything that you think I should try, I'll do it. Just let me know. And thanks for the help.
MurphmanDook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 01:05 PM   #15  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MurphmanDook View Post
Generally, there is a lot of pixellation going to green octets on the screen with audio interruption if the pixellation is really bad, followed a black screen of death and then everything comes back on, both Audio and Video. This happens in ALL types of weather.... And I mean ALL types of weather. And it is intermittent. In any given one hour period, it will happen 2-10 times.
I'm in the same general area as MurphmanDook (I'm in Canton, GA) and I'm having the same problem with my 722. I've had the 722 for about 2 months, prior to that I just had the most basic SD receiver for about 18 months and I never had any of these issues. It all seems to be related to signal strength for the 129.
bnun is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to vip622 pixellation question
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VIP622 vs VIP722 - a scam! eucarya DISH Network Forum 32 08-08-2008 06:45 AM
VIP622 Recording Locals Question weberman DISH Network Forum 1 09-16-2007 04:38 PM
question for ViP622 Owners techfan DISH Network Forum 4 04-14-2006 07:06 PM
Please help me with my VIP622 and HDTV odelcastillo DISH Network Forum 5 04-04-2006 11:12 AM
Question on Dish vs. DVD Quality JCM DISH Network Forum 4 12-20-2005 08:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:46 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands