High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.

bad news on locals in HD

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2006, 03:44 PM   #1  
power lineman
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: georgia
Age: 42
Posts: 101
Default bad news on locals in HD

was told today that the waiver process will be totally different in determineing if you can receive locals in HD..in other words if you can even pic up 65% of a digital sig.. you can't get the HD locals..i'm lucky, the only sig in my area is analog..so i qualify..but now i'm trying to see if i can get them from new york until atlanta comes on, the CSR is checking on it for me..also the CSR said CBS has been broadcasting in HD but only a few can get it..but he didn't know why..it looks like only a handful of people will even quailify for the HD locals and they have to really be in a secluded area so says the dish CSR..but they have been wrong many times in the past so don't hold this as i said it, just repeating what dish told me..
bashlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 05:29 PM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 49
Default Just curious

I'm just wondering if I even need to get the HD locals through DN. I currently get ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, UPN, WB & PBS digital through my UHF antenna. Once I get the new 622 receiver I'll be able to record as well. Since the 622 allows hookup to satellite as well as the OTA, what would be the advantage of getting HD locals through DN? I'm assuming as well that the OTA HD locals is a cleaner signal than what DN would provide, and it's free. Am I right?

One other small question: how do I see what my signal strength is for the OTA channels? Is it a function in one of my tv's menus, or is there some other way to find out?

Mike
mgregg99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 05:34 PM   #3  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
suppafreak's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Default

Yes, it is the function of the TV.

I have the Samsung LNR-408D and in the Menu section there is the strength meter that shows signal strength for each channel. My antenna hooked up directly to TV.
suppafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 05:49 PM   #4  
Let's try this button...
 
Allin4greeN's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgregg99
I'm just wondering if I even need to get the HD locals through DN. I currently get ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, UPN, WB & PBS digital through my UHF antenna. Once I get the new 622 receiver I'll be able to record as well. Since the 622 allows hookup to satellite as well as the OTA, what would be the advantage of getting HD locals through DN? I'm assuming as well that the OTA HD locals is a cleaner signal than what DN would provide, and it's free. Am I right?
You can only watch/record one OTA channel at a time (on a 942 or 622). With HD locals through DN, you could watch one OTA local and record one DN local, or vice versa, at the same time. I'm looking forward to having that capability.

I think only time will tell if the OTA is "cleaner." FWIW, I think you're probably right about getting better PQ from OTA.
Allin4greeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 05:51 PM   #5  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,156
Default I Get CBS HD..And Since I Get That I Think I'll Qualify For The Other Local HD

I get CBS HD through Dish Network..and since I get that ..I would think that I'll qualify for the other local HD channels.
rickbbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 05:59 PM   #6  
Let's try this button...
 
Allin4greeN's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 858
Default

I wouldn't bet on that rick. I get CBSHD East, out of NY, and was told (by someone out of CEO Escalations) that I wouldn't get the other NY HD locals. I'm guessing your CBSHD is out of LA... did DN give you waivers for the rest of LA's locals?

I'm in the Philadelphia DMA, so I'm not too concerned about there being a long wait. I'll probably be in the next round of HD locals.
Allin4greeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 06:12 PM   #7  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
daleb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 7,654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allin4greeN
I think only time will tell if the OTA is "cleaner." FWIW, I think you're probably right about getting better PQ from OTA.
I have to say, the best I've ever seen has been OTA. But even locals are not consistent. If all HD channels looked liked the best Dish has to offer, (like HDNet most of the time) including locals, I could live with that too.
daleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 06:28 PM   #8  
Let's try this button...
 
Allin4greeN's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daleb
I have to say, the best I've ever seen has been OTA. But even locals are not consistent. If all HD channels looked liked the best Dish has to offer, (like HDNet most of the time) including locals, I could live with that too.
I agree on all points, daleb.

It might be my imagination, but I do think PQ from my OTA CBS is more than a few notches above the DN CBSHD feed.
Allin4greeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 06:54 PM   #9  
GRN
Think outside the 
 
GRN's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Parts Unknown, NY
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allin4greeN
I agree on all points, daleb.

It might be my imagination, but I do think PQ from my OTA CBS is more than a few notches above the DN CBSHD feed.
I flipped between the Denver - Pittsburgh AFC Title game, and the difference was like night and day. The CBS OTA feed was much sharper and more vivid, for lack of a better term, than the DISH CBS feed. Not even close.

It didn't used to be that huge of a discrepancy. Could it possibly be downrezzing, along the lines of what they are doing with some of the VOOM channels?
GRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 07:22 PM   #10  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,156
Default TO Allin4Green

Actually Dish Network And Directv have tested my area where I live and said I can't get OTA Local HD where I live..so therefore I qualify for Dish Network's HD
rickbbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 07:44 PM   #11  
Let's try this button...
 
Allin4greeN's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickbbb
Actually Dish Network And Directv have tested my area where I live and said I can't get OTA Local HD where I live..so therefore I qualify for Dish Network's HD
Then that would be a "yes" to my question about waivers.
Allin4greeN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 10:22 PM   #12  
power lineman
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: georgia
Age: 42
Posts: 101
Default

from what i was told it's not if you can or can't get OTA locals in HD..it's even if you can get the OTA locals in digital..if you can dish said you will not get them in HD from them..they use your zip code to determine this..i don't even have a digital signal anywhere close to where i'm at..
bashlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 10:23 PM   #13  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Default Distant Broadcast

I have a waiver for NBC (NY & LA), ABC (NY & LA) and as of today CBS (NY & LA). E* activated CBS-HD (NY) when I called this evening. My question, do you think I can get NBC and ABC in HD... or only with MPEG4? I ask this question as the CSR asked me "Which network do you want in HD?" Well not thinking, I said CBS. I didn't think I had an option because CBS was the only HD network station E* carried. I should have said ALL!
kcribb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 10:43 PM   #14  
power lineman
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: georgia
Age: 42
Posts: 101
Default

i may be stepping out, but i'm pretty sure you'll have to have mpeg 4..as well i just found out about cbs in HD..but you need 2 dishes to receive this..right??
bashlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 10:48 PM   #15  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 69
Default Locals

I have two.
kcribb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to bad news on locals in HD
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad News!!! mystic7 DirecTV Forum 66 09-20-2007 06:49 AM
Columbus, Ohio locals coming online in HD.. lizardhowson DirecTV Forum 18 04-26-2006 06:07 AM
CBS HD NFL picture quality burtandi Local HDTV Info and Reception 11 01-29-2006 12:26 PM
HD Locals in Chicago snekky1 DirecTV Forum 15 12-01-2005 04:53 PM
Thinking of going from cable HD to DN, concerned about local HD... pedrohead DISH Network Forum 29 11-12-2005 09:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:59 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands