High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.RSS - DISH Network Forum

Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By straybeat
  • 1 Post By jim5506
  • 1 Post By Terryl3
  • 2 Post By Terryl3

Hard drive replacment

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2018, 11:16 PM   #1
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Terryl3's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Deep in the Duraflame National Forest
Posts: 1,348
Default Hard drive replacment

I just had the hard drive die in one of my 722K receivers, can I drop a new one in or is it FUBAR??????
Terryl3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 02:28 AM   #2
Hard rock made me hi-deaf
 
straybeat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix
Age: 60
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terryl3 View Post
I just had the hard drive die in one of my 722K receivers, can I drop a new one in or is it FUBAR??????
I know you can replace it, but you should research if there are any particular models relegated to it. It's been too long since I was on Dish to remember exactly.
Terryl3 likes this.
straybeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 10:14 AM   #3
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Terryl3's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Deep in the Duraflame National Forest
Posts: 1,348
Default

I'm just wondering if the hard drive needs some sort of special formatting, or does the receiver take care of that?

Is the operating system for the receiver on the hard drive or on an eeprom or other type of flash-able chip?
Terryl3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 05:52 PM   #4
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,649
Default

IIRC the hard drive in the 722 must be a specific model - which may be nearly impossible to find.

I assume this is an owned 722?

Call Dish and see if it's cheaper to take out Dish Protect Silver and replace the 722 or just get the receiver replaced straight up, if you consider the penalty for cancelling DPS almost immediately.

Here is an seven year old thread about replacing the 722 hard drive.

https://www./xen/threads/vip-722-int...cement.223265/

Remember your 722 is about 9-10 years old.
Terryl3 likes this.
__________________
Seeking colinear harmonics!
Programming: Dish AT200
Displays: Sony VPH-D50Q FPCRT - 7 ft on the wall; Hitachi 57R59 RPCRT; Panasonic 42" Plasma; 26" Sanyo LCD
Receivers: 2 X DishNetwork Hopper w/Sling; DishNetwork Joey; 2 - TiVo HD Series 3; 1 - TiVo Premiere; Accurian 6000; Samsung SIR-T351; Panasonic ShowStopper 2000; ATI HDTV Wonder
Dish 1000.2 on 61.5,72.7;Sony 80GB PS3;Sony 500GB PS3 Slim; Toshiba HD-DVD

Last edited by jim5506; 06-18-2018 at 06:10 PM..
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 10:39 AM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Terryl3's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Deep in the Duraflame National Forest
Posts: 1,348
Default

Thanks guy's, I found some info on it, yes it does have to be a certain model of hard drive, found a list, and I found some on flebay, will try to replace it when one arrives.

And also found out that the receiver will do the formatting once it see's the new drive.

I know it's an old receiver but all but one of my receivers are owned by me, and this is one of them, and can't afford to go with an all new system, I spend too much with Dish already.
Hdb91xg likes this.
Terryl3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 05:27 PM   #6
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Terryl3's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Deep in the Duraflame National Forest
Posts: 1,348
Default

Found the exact model of HD that was in it on Flebay, it got here in about 3 days, installed it and it took about 30+ min for it to be back to normal.

Had to hook to the video output to get a picture during the process, but it worked.

You loose all your timers and any recorded info on the old drive, but I had an external 2 TB drive with all the good stuff on it, so I didn't loose anything important.

Thanks to all that helped out.
straybeat and Hdb91xg like this.
Terryl3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DISH Network Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum