High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DISH Network Forum Discuss and learn about Dish Network High Definition Satellite TV. Do not put referral code posts in this forum as they will be treated as SPAM. Thank you.

Dish Network intermittant signal loss

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2012, 09:59 AM   #16  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Ray C@DISH's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 598
Default

Please PM me your account number so I can check the orbital locations of your receiver. Please let me know. Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roubaix57 View Post
I have lost my local HD stations, satellite 61.5 around noon every Sunday for the past 6 weeks. (Have not checked out other days of the week at the same time.) Reception is lost for about 3-4 hours then returns. Today was no different. They have replaced some internal equipment, power supply etc. No obstructions, clear skies, dish angles fine etc. They keep offering to stop out (after 3 visits already) but they have no idea what they would even do. Maybe time to get rid of Dish.

Any other ideas to consider prior to dropping Dish?
Ray C@DISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:03 AM   #17  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

We are having the same problem that barrone reported. We get complete signal loss in the evenings. We have had a tech out to our home every day for the past 3 days and another one is scheduled to come on Friday for visit number 4. This is extremely frustrating. If it does not get get fixed on visit number 4, I will be looking to cancel our dish contract and moving to direct tv. I'm glad to hear that we are not the only ones who have experienced this problem. We too have taken to video taping the screens at night to show them there is a problem.
hootowl74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:06 AM   #18  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Was your problem ever resolved. Because we are having the same problem now. Three tech visits ...three days in a row and a 4th is scheduled for Friday.
hootowl74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:09 AM   #19  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Barrone, was your problem ever solved? We are having the exact same issue in the evenings and have even been videotaping the screens and narrating what is going on so we can show the techs. We have had 3 visits in the past 3 days and a 4th one is now scheduled for this Friday. It is very inconvenient that someone has to stay home from work so they can come and check the system. This is now getting to the point of outrageous! If this does not get fixed soon we are going to be asking to be let out of our contract. It may be time to switch to a different service.
hootowl74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 09:51 PM   #20  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Default

I just recently lost signal connection with 61.5. I was told by a representative that they need to someone to on site to look at it to fix the problem but it is going to cost me $90. So I was just wondering, why do I need to pay extra money when I'm already paying over $100 a month?
look0ut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 04:00 AM   #21  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greentown, PA
Age: 62
Posts: 2,357
Default

Service calls are not included in your basic subscription package, you can however add the protection plan and the visit will then only cost you $15.
garys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 11:07 AM   #22  
Yellow Submarine
 
jim5506's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 3,693
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garys View Post
Service calls are not included in your basic subscription package, you can however add the protection plan and the visit will then only cost you $15.
Plus $7/month with a $25 cancellation fee if you drop it before 4 months elapse, so, its gonna cost you in the area of $40 with the protection plan.
jim5506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 06:56 PM   #23  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 195
Default

They need to do an 'ID Satellite' if the receiver says 'wrong sat' and you have hard reset the box.
TrueBoolFalse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 11:45 AM   #24  
How can anyone watch standard def?
 
DISH-MIKE.H's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by look0ut View Post
I just recently lost signal connection with 61.5. I was told by a representative that they need to someone to on site to look at it to fix the problem but it is going to cost me $90. So I was just wondering, why do I need to pay extra money when I'm already paying over $100 a month?
There are some things to better your signal, making sure all connections from the receiver, TV and wall are hand tight. Perform a Hard Reset and depending on the receiver (not a 922 or Hopper), you can press the buttons of; Menu-6-1-1 and select Check Switch and then Test. Allow all test to complete. If you get an error message saying you have fewer satellites than previously detected, there could be an issue with a connection outside or the dish will need to be re-pointed. If you have any further questions please PM me with the phone number on the account and I am happy to help you!
DISH-MIKE.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2015, 10:00 PM   #25  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
Default Add me to the list.

Quote:
Originally Posted by barrone View Post
I'm looking for some help. Since the middle of May i have been having signal loss on both of my receivers in the evenings. It starts between between 7pm and 9 pm and lasts for 3-4 hours. Some nights i cant get any channels. Some nights a select number of channels come in. Sometimes the HD version of a channel comes in and the SD does not. Sometimes the SD version comes in and the HD does not.

A channel never goes out while you are tuned to it. However, if you switch channels and come back to one it will drop it.

I had Dish Service for a year and never had a bit of trouble until this. I have never had any problems that i know of outside of the hours listed above.

Dish has sent seven different technicians to diagnose this problem, with no success. There has never been a technician at the house when i am having a problem since it only occurs at night. There is absolutely nothing even partially blocking the view of the sky. I have looked at it while it is happening to verify that nothing is there. Following is what was done on each of the seven visits:

1. Replace LNB
2. Replace diplexers and ground blocks and cut new ends on cables
3. New ends on cable at LNB
4. Replace LNB again and replace reflector
5. Replace both receivers
6. Replace diplexers and ground blocks again and replace LNB again
7. Change out wall plates at the TV.

Anybody got any ideas? I'm really fed up with this.
We too have been having trouble in the evenings, losing HD switching to SD but only only the major network channels (basically the local channels) This is a problem trying to record anything because when we set the DVR to record, it automatically tries to record on HD which of course has no signal strength in the evenings. This began about May of this year.

Viewing all these posts, it appears that the problem probably is not with the equipment here in our homes since so many are experiencing the same things and the technicians have tried any/all the logical fixes of home equipment.

I cannot guess what the problem must be, but it does seem that it may be the signal strength is being affected on the way to our homes. I wish DISH would give us some real answers. I thought it would be important to let folks know there is one more out here having trouble.
Thanks.
Longtime user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 05:21 PM   #26  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Default

I'm surprised there hasn't been any replies to this topic in a long time. I've been experiencing this problem on and off for a long time. Pressing the guide button brings the picture back until it goes full screen again. I'm watching a HD on a local channel in St Louis. Right now it's been happening around 6pm. Trees are not an issue - I cut them all down last year. The sky is clear right now but it doesn't make any difference. Seems to occur at different times of the year. Any guidance would be appreciated.
Moonwink is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to Dish Network intermittant signal loss
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jumping signal all over the place XBOX HD Local HDTV Info and Reception 16 04-06-2005 01:33 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:46 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands