High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Like Tree3Likes

What is SWM & How To Install It (by request)

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2011, 10:19 PM   #61  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

great info.
berberman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 09:21 AM   #62  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6
Default

ohhhhh
Giovani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 03:12 AM   #63  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 7
Default

First off SWM stands for Single Wire Multiswitch. What that means to you the customer is you don’t need to run 2 lines to a DVR. You can also use most existing wire, connectors, wall plates etc versus the standard KAKU HD install that would require you to use new RG6 cable, new wall plates, and two lines to all DVRs. The only CON to SWM is that you are stuck with 8 tuners or less. (DVRs count as 2 tuners)


How do I know if I have a SWM system already installed or not? Take a quick glance at your dish. Are there 4 lines coming down the dish or only one? (Now some may have 2 lines, or 3 lines coming down. This is because the installer was too lazy to run 4 lines off your dish as required by DTV during installation.) A SWM install will have only one line coming off the LNB. It is important to note that the actual “look” of the “eyeballs” will be different for everyone no matter what type of system you have. This is due to DTV using different companies to build the LNBs. So don’t go by the look of the “eyeballs”, go by the wires coming down.
harryhyden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 04:12 AM   #64  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harryhyden View Post
First off SWM stands for Single Wire Multiswitch. What that means to you the customer is you don’t need to run 2 lines to a DVR. You can also use most existing wire, connectors, wall plates etc versus the standard KAKU HD install that would require you to use new RG6 cable, new wall plates, and two lines to all DVRs. The only CON to SWM is that you are stuck with 8 tuners or less. (DVRs count as 2 tuners)


How do I know if I have a SWM system already installed or not? Take a quick glance at your dish. Are there 4 lines coming down the dish or only one? (Now some may have 2 lines, or 3 lines coming down. This is because the installer was too lazy to run 4 lines off your dish as required by DTV during installation.) A SWM install will have only one line coming off the LNB. It is important to note that the actual “look” of the “eyeballs” will be different for everyone no matter what type of system you have. This is due to DTV using different companies to build the LNBs. So don’t go by the look of the “eyeballs”, go by the wires coming down.

Those statements may have been true in 2006 -A swim 8 will allow you only 8 tuners however you can now install a Swim 16 (various config allows for more)-so the customer is far from stuck.

Your 4 lines comming down is not a real ID either.

example a swim 8 or Swim 16 needs a legacy LNB (requires) installed 4 lines from the dish to the Swim . Then single wire to each Swim Receiver -it will allow older receivers to be connected so you can have mix of Swim and Legacy Receivers--That is an example of my current Swim Setup -I still have a d10 receiver in use as well.
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 11:59 PM   #65  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default adding 2 D10(s) to my setup

Hello everyone!! I am new to this forum and have to admit im just not sure what equipment i need to accomplish what i want.

So here is my story: i currently have an SWN sat dish I THINK? ( it has 1 wire coming out of it w/a single "eyeball") witch was installed in early January of 2011, the single coax connects to a splitter/power pass (2-2150 mhz 2 way splitter MSPLIT2R1-03)....from the splitter: one coax connecting to a PI then to a HD-DVR rx # HR24-200......SECOND coax going to a HD rx H24-100

now what i want to do is add two SD rx # D10 mf code 100 that i have, So will a Model: SWS-STR8 be all i need and where in the system will i add it?

Thanks for all the help in advance and also thanks to everyone who has been adding to this forum, amazing stuff here really appreciate the info!!
jhz80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:45 AM   #66  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhz80 View Post
Hello everyone!! I am new to this forum and have to admit im just not sure what equipment i need to accomplish what i want.

So here is my story: i currently have an SWN sat dish I THINK? ( it has 1 wire coming out of it w/a single "eyeball") witch was installed in early January of 2011, the single coax connects to a splitter/power pass (2-2150 mhz 2 way splitter MSPLIT2R1-03)....from the splitter: one coax connecting to a PI then to a HD-DVR rx # HR24-200......SECOND coax going to a HD rx H24-100

now what i want to do is add two SD rx # D10 mf code 100 that i have, So will a Model: SWS-STR8 be all i need and where in the system will i add it?

Thanks for all the help in advance and also thanks to everyone who has been adding to this forum, amazing stuff here really appreciate the info!!
Those receivers (outdated) will not work on current swim system-and unless they were active on your account Before -then D* will not activate them now.

You could add them as I still have a d10 on my system (you need to change a lot of hardware out $$ on your end
1.Change LNB to Legacy (require 4 lines RG6) into the Swim 8 (top of pix)
2. Change your Current PI from 21V to a 29V
3. Then you could connect your TWO (legacy D10) to the Ports on the right side of (PIX) direct connect.
It would be less $$ to get d12's and connect it to your Current SWIM-8 rather than go through all that.


You need a D12 (SD) receivers (and) if you have MRV they will require band stop filters also.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg legacyswim8.jpg (106.3 KB, 36 views)

Last edited by WestDC; 09-14-2011 at 03:04 AM..
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 02:54 PM   #67  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for that info WestDC, that seems to be a hole lot of time and $$$ just to use some out dated equipment!! I do have a ? for u, i do not believe i currently have a SWIM-8 in use, only a single to double coax....witch is this (2-2150 mhz 2 way splitter MSPLIT2R1-03)

I'm looking at this stuff on [email protected] and there are a few different types of SWM-8 multiswitch/splitter with pricing from $14 to $83. Witch one would i need?

So if i were to purchase a SWIM-8 and two D12-100 receivers would that do??
Thanks again for the help!!
jhz80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 03:59 PM   #68  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhz80 View Post
Thanks for that info WestDC, that seems to be a hole lot of time and $$$ just to use some out dated equipment!! I do have a ? for u, i do not believe i currently have a SWIM-8 in use, only a single to double coax....witch is this (2-2150 mhz 2 way splitter MSPLIT2R1-03)

Leave all the termanators on any unused ports.

I'm looking at this stuff on [email protected] and there are a few different types of SWM-8 multiswitch/splitter with pricing from $14 to $83. Witch one would i need?

So if i were to purchase a SWIM-8 and two D12-100 receivers would that do??
Thanks again for the help!!
This is what you want

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...u=874409002084

If you are using whole home (mrv) service don't forget to put band stop filters on the receivers (d12) end. You can look for all the parts at the above link- Also check out EBay for better prices.

Should you buy a receiver on EBay get the RID # and call D* to make sure it can be activated (owned or leased)

Welcome to the site
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 05:50 PM   #69  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Hay WestDC!! Yes i do have the (mrv) ability and i assume the D12 will be able to use this function. Are the D12s the best or are there other models i should consider? They my be used w/pc monitors in the kids rooms...eventually. But with that said money is an issue right now but not in a terrible rush to get this all going, just want to get it right!!

Thank you for the help WestDC....and the FUN has just begun!!
jhz80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 06:23 PM   #70  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhz80 View Post
Hay WestDC!! Yes i do have the (mrv) ability and i assume the D12 will be able to use this function. Are the D12s the best or are there other models i should consider? They my be used w/pc monitors in the kids rooms...eventually. But with that said money is an issue right now but not in a terrible rush to get this all going, just want to get it right!!

Thank you for the help WestDC....and the FUN has just begun!!
D12's Are Standard Def receivers (NON MRV)- The MRV you can only stream one show from one dvr to one other receiver.

Your best bet would be to get example you your hddvr & one hd receiver. I would suggest you get another HDVR for the kids room and a HD receiver from the other kid and let them record and stream from that one to each othr.
and then you will be able to stream from you set as you have now.

If you have one HDDVR and 3 HD receivers you will not be happy the first time you try to watch something on the dvr and kids beat you to it.

Good luck
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 06:45 PM   #71  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Ok got ya!! Thx for the heads up WestDC. So either way i go on rx i will need the SWS-8 Satellite 8-Way Wide Band MRV Compatible Splitter (2 -2150 MHz) and Band Stop Filter (BSFR01) no matter what? Thanks again!
jhz80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 09:22 PM   #72  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,413
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhz80 View Post
Ok got ya!! Thx for the heads up WestDC. So either way i go on rx i will need the SWS-8 Satellite 8-Way Wide Band MRV Compatible Splitter (2 -2150 MHz) and Band Stop Filter (BSFR01) no matter what? Thanks again!
the hd /hddvr receivers do NOT need the BSF
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 09:02 PM   #73  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the links, I'll read them on my lunch break. I haven't heard much about whats coming.
louisvuittonha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 04:39 PM   #74  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: utah/arizona
Posts: 1
Default swm problems

can there be too strong of signal from a swm dish to receiver. Like too hot of signal?
thanks
wgrosz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:18 AM   #75  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default

well...i agree with it for a long extend
cellphoneboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to What is SWM & How To Install It (by request)
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crappy Service for Dish Network (4th install!) hidefman30 DISH Network Forum 10 08-29-2014 11:03 PM
NXE: HDD Install Downgrades Performance of Halo 3 Razor05 Gaming & Systems 2 11-21-2008 11:35 PM
Request for SWM installation HD-1999 DirecTV Forum 3 09-24-2008 03:07 PM
is 4 months between order and install normal? wdbass99 Verizon FiOS 4 02-04-2008 10:15 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:59 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands