High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

HR21 Switching between tuners

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-12-2008, 01:43 PM   #1  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Central Indiana
Posts: 31
Default HR21 Switching between tuners

I got my HR21 & dish installed today. The install went very well. After the installer left I discovered I cannot figure out how to switch between the 2 tuners.
On the old Directv TIVO DVR, the up & down arrow keys switched tuners. That does not work on the HR21 & I cannot find anything in the manual about it. Is this an option on the HR21? If it is. How does it work?
chrisrosenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 01:48 PM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 760
Default

No this is an option that did not carry over from Tivo. Lots of people have complained about it and it is a bummer but after using my HR20 for over a year I really don't miss it anymore.
IamMrDJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 01:57 PM   #3  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Central Indiana
Posts: 31
Default

Thank you for the quick reply. That is going to take some getting used to. I used it alot.
The HD pictures are great.
chrisrosenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 03:48 PM   #4  
chirshey's BFF
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 3,200
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IamMrDJ View Post
No this is an option that did not carry over from Tivo. Lots of people have complained about it and it is a bummer but after using my HR20 for over a year I really don't miss it anymore.
I agree.

After using my HR20 for a week or so I didn't miss the dual live buffers or anything else from my TiVo DVR.

I can't believe the TiVO HD CableTV DVR is the price it is to buy it, and they still charge you $14.95/month or whatever it is now just to use it, plus the cablecard(s) fee(s) from the cable company, and the cable company programming fees, outlet fees, etc... It must come out to about 2X what the DIRECTV DVR and DIRECTV service cost me.
glennb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 04:35 PM   #5  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,156
Default Now I'M CONFUSED !!!

You did'nt EXPLAIN how you switch tuner's on a HR21 HD DVR !!! How do you do that?
rickbbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 05:27 PM   #6  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Central Indiana
Posts: 31
Default

What I have figured out from playing with the remote. The only way I have found to change tuners is to be recording something on one tuner you are watching & press the change channel button. It will change to the other tuner. If you are recording something on both tuners, you can change back & forth between the 2 tunners, but it takes several clicks to do it.
chrisrosenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 05:54 PM   #7  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,156
Default Chrisrosenb

Thank you for explaining that.Will one tuner say for HD and the other say for SD..or do they automatically change to the HD DVR's mode of SD on a certain channel or HD ?
rickbbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to HR21 Switching between tuners
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching Tuners? scottara Verizon FiOS 2 03-20-2008 03:57 PM
I'[v esearched and all seems old. Any new info on switching tuners rtracer DirecTV Forum 2 11-10-2007 01:54 AM
DVR vs Tivo- Switching between tuners rylchf DirecTV Forum 8 05-31-2007 11:29 AM
switching hd dvr tuners udogu DirecTV Forum 3 11-22-2006 11:44 AM
atsc tuners mandated-info. needed! gwalkeruns Flat-Panel TVs 5 08-01-2006 02:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:27 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands