High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

HD DVR; .P.C.?...old TIVO?

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2008, 12:18 AM   #1  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Default HD DVR; .P.C.?...old TIVO?

I've had Direct TV for years and d relatively happy with little TVO boxes that came with service. Since the new HD signal is presumably digital (or will be in feb. 09), could the signal be recorded from a “non DVR” HD box with either the old TIVO or a PC?

I now have the makings of a tidy little home theater. Direct TV wants me to pay $100 for the privilege of paying $10 more a month for HD.

I've looked around and have seen no “TV cards” that our compatible with satellite and or have digital output at a competitive price at all. I own my TIVO/Dish network boxes and wonder if they cold be hacked to record HD.

I'm new to all this but have been surfing around and trying to use logic for a solution. Wonder who else has and what I'm missing,

Regards, Croak
croak2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 06:43 AM   #2  
97% Complete
 
mcbeevee's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Big Orange Country, TN
Posts: 1,925
Default

You can't send the mpeg4 HD Directv signal to an old Tivo box. You can use one of the composite outputs to send the downconverted SD signal to any recording device that has SD inputs (PC, VCR, DVD recorder).

mcbeevee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 01:29 PM   #3  
chirshey's BFF
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 3,200
Default

DIRECTV has been all digital since it's beginning. What's happening in Feb. of 2009 only affects OTA TV signals and has nothing to do with the way DIRECTV broadcasts it's signals via satellite.

You still need a DIRECTV receiver of DIRECTV DVR to get any DIRECTV services.
glennb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2008, 09:51 PM   #4  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcbeevee View Post
You can't send the mpeg4 HD Directv signal to an old Tivo box. You can use one of the composite outputs to send the downconverted SD signal to any recording device that has SD inputs (PC, VCR, DVD recorder).

Thanks for your reply. Sorry for the delay, I've been away.

So, there is no way to hijack an HD-SDI (?) signal without Direct TV's own HD DVR. Shoot.

Thanks Peter
croak2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 08:10 AM   #5  
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by croak2 View Post
I've had Direct TV for years and d relatively happy with little TVO boxes that came with service. Since the new HD signal is presumably digital (or will be in feb. 09), could the signal be recorded from a “non DVR” HD box with either the old TIVO or a PC?
This is completely incorrect. The Feb 09 switch is to digital. NOT HD. I hear this WAY too often. You will still need an HD receiver to get an HD signal, unless you have an HD TV with a HD tuner and an antenna. Then you will receive what ever LOCAL channels you can. They are broadcasting right now, and not affected by the switch. THE ONLY PEOPLE AFFECTED BY THE DIGITAL SWITCH ARE PEOPLE WHO WATCH TV THROUGH AN ANTENNA ON A TV WITHOUT A DIGITAL TUNER. Another thing I see that makes me angry is people who have very expensive HD tvs and SD receivers and assume that they are watching HD. How do people spend that kind of money and do no research? I won't even go into the idiots with SD who stretch it to fill the screen and all the short fat people they watch all day.

That being said:

There have been a few threads here, and on other forums of a PC tuner that Directv is working on. I would like one myself, since I have a Media Center PC I'd love to integrate my Directv into. Unfortunately, I haven't seen a release date, or a price.
swhitcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 10:08 PM   #6  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Sorry to raise your hackles.

Quote:
Originally Posted by swhitcomb View Post
This is completely incorrect. The Feb 09 switch is to digital. NOT HD. I hear this WAY too often.
I misused the term “HD”, I meant “digital”. It is my understanding that a single channels band width today will accommodate one HD channel or, 3 or 4 SD channels in Feb. I'd think some channels would opt for one HD in that theres plenty of SD channels as it is.

Quote:
Originally Posted by swhitcomb View Post
You will still need an HD receiver to get an HD signal, unless you have an HD TV with a HD tuner and an antenna. Then you will receive what ever LOCAL channels you can. They are broadcasting right now, and not affected by the switch.
A given, my question was regarding recording, not the HD box....fascinating though, please go on...

Quote:
Originally Posted by swhitcomb View Post
THE ONLY PEOPLE AFFECTED BY THE DIGITAL SWITCH ARE PEOPLE WHO WATCH TV THROUGH AN ANTENNA ON A TV WITHOUT A DIGITAL TUNER.
Noisy in here...I'm well aware of the fact that cable and satellite users have nothing to fear with the digital switch over. Did I say otherwise?

Quote:
Originally Posted by swhitcomb View Post
Another thing I see that makes me angry is people who have very expensive HD tvs and SD receivers and assume that they are watching HD
That's it, let it out, ...run with those feelings...

Quote:
Originally Posted by swhitcomb View Post
How do people spend that kind of money and do no research?
I don't know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by swhitcomb View Post
I won't even go into the idiots with SD who stretch it to fill the screen and all the short fat people they watch all day.
You just did? but maybe it makes them feel thin? (That sedentary, TV absorbed life style ya' know).

Quote:
Originally Posted by swhitcomb View Post
There have been a few threads here, and on other forums of a PC tuner that Directv is working on. I would like one myself, since I have a Media Center PC I'd love to integrate my Directv into. Unfortunately, I haven't seen a release date, or a price.
Hmm, for some reason Directv leaves me a little sour, especially after reading about their early HD-DVR boondoggle boxes.

You'd think some of the graphics card companies would be allover HD. Even with decoding, it wouldn't seam to be a stretch at all. My g-card drives my 20” P.C. monitor at 1600x1200, full screen avi's (albeit, native around 600x440) without a hickup.

But, side from that, as I understand it, a Tivo is just a little Linux based PC. It would seem that given the signal is “digital”, ones and zeros at their heart, any digital media ought to be able to catch the stream and spit it back out, raw, into the input of the HD box when you say go.

Anyway thanks for the heads up on the card.

PK
croak2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 03:03 PM   #7  
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Default

It's been one of my biggest complaints with Directv that there is no PC card option. Everything I've ever read about it is that copyright holders don't want you to have the ability to capture say a movie to your computer in HD then burn copies of it. Understandable, but frustrating.
swhitcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 12:31 AM   #8  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Hi, Thanks for the reply,

Seems like an obvious fit doesn't it (the PC). Copyrights, good grief, VCR arguments allover again. I wonder when they'll recognize that digital media requires a whole new business model, Just like the boot leg music an SD movies allover the web.

As I see it, bandwidths will increase, compression models will improve, encrypted Blue rays will be cracked, and the HD boxes will be hacked.(old news with the Tivos) making all the copyright squabbles moot.

Personally, I would just like to use my own hardware and have the flexibility to mod the hardware/ software to my liking. Maybe unload recorded HD onto another medium .

Well theres my rant. Thanks for the info.

Regards, Croak
croak2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to HD DVR; .P.C.?...old TIVO?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Directv Channel Lineup rbinck DirecTV Forum 256 01-09-2020 10:44 AM
Timing, money among reasons for channels getting HD treatment Lee Stewart Cable Providers 4 06-16-2008 03:15 PM
New HD Channels wednesday 10/10/07 sportshandicap DirecTV Forum 54 10-12-2007 09:37 AM
Any DTV reps know anything about all the sports channels that were posted to go HD? spree17 DirecTV Forum 10 09-28-2007 03:36 PM
Mits WS-65903 connection to DirecTV HD – DVR Tivo texaspja DirecTV Forum 0 01-19-2006 06:47 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands