High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Direc TV HD receiver question

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2008, 10:50 AM   #1  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Default Direc TV HD receiver question

Hello All,
Just got my 52" Sony Bravia XBR4 and ordered the Choice Extra package (HD included of course) from Direc TV. My reaction is kind of mixed. While the HD channels look really good, the non-HD channels don't look that good on the TV. I was under the impression that I can change the resolution to 720p if I want to and even change it to 60Hz from the standard 120Hz available on this TV, but I talked to Sony and I was told that there is no option to do that. Correct me if I am wrong, but I believe I've read somewhere on this forum that it can be done. Also, on the HD receiver from Direc TV, I see that the max resolution they have is 1080i while my tv is capable of 1080p. How can I get 1080p?
dzongrila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 11:23 AM   #2  
Red Sox in HD: Priceless
 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzongrila View Post
Hello All,
Just got my 52" Sony Bravia XBR4 and ordered the Choice Extra package (HD included of course) from Direc TV. My reaction is kind of mixed. While the HD channels look really good, the non-HD channels don't look that good on the TV. I was under the impression that I can change the resolution to 720p if I want to and even change it to 60Hz from the standard 120Hz available on this TV, but I talked to Sony and I was told that there is no option to do that. Correct me if I am wrong, but I believe I've read somewhere on this forum that it can be done. Also, on the HD receiver from Direc TV, I see that the max resolution they have is 1080i while my tv is capable of 1080p. How can I get 1080p?
1. Nothing is broadcast in 1080P. That's for blu ray DVD. There isn't a TV show in the world broadcast in 1080P.

2. Change it to 720P on your DTV box manually, or change your DTV setting to Native.
hitdog042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 02:11 PM   #3  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for the reply. But what about if I want to watch something through my DVD player that may not be 1080i or 1080p? Shouldn't I able to lower the resolution through the TV set rather than the Direct TV receiver?
dzongrila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 02:25 PM   #4  
97% Complete
 
mcbeevee's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Big Orange Country, TN
Posts: 1,925
Default

The TV is auto-adjusting the resolution for dvd players. The Directv HD receivers give you the option of letting the TV auto-adjust the original signal (Native=On), or let the HD receiver control the resolution (Native=Off).

mcbeevee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 04:58 PM   #5  
Red Sox in HD: Priceless
 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzongrila View Post
Thanks for the reply. But what about if I want to watch something through my DVD player that may not be 1080i or 1080p? Shouldn't I able to lower the resolution through the TV set rather than the Direct TV receiver?
I can't speak for the newer sets, I believe they auto adjust. I have a 3 year old Mitsubishi, and I can manually set mine, but I think thats gone in the newer models.

But I can't say for sure.
hitdog042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2008, 10:32 PM   #6  
Nothing beats SC FB in HD
 
Blackz06's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dzongrila View Post
Thanks for the reply. But what about if I want to watch something through my DVD player that may not be 1080i or 1080p? Shouldn't I able to lower the resolution through the TV set rather than the Direct TV receiver?
(Kind of OT) I say buy an upconvert DVD player. You can get a decent one for well under $100.

I know I can't set my resolution through my TV, as it will auto detect. But if your player is running at 480i you'll have to use RCA cables, which is only 480i, so your TV will pick that up.
Blackz06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to Direc TV HD receiver question
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wifi or no Wifi? darkserpant DirecTV Forum 8 08-18-2009 07:56 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:09 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands