High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

HR20 searching for Satellite

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2008, 06:05 AM   #1  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Default HR20 searching for Satellite

I had been having issues with my hr20 700 receiver, losing signal from time to time, about 2x a day. Called DTV, they sent out a technician and he told me it was my power strip and the 4 outlet plug which goes in the wall. I removed the 4 way plug going into the wall, problem still happened. Called DTV again, and again they had me go through all the basics again. Reboot the receiver, problem goes away. Also, we were receiving not matching audio/video, (known issue with hr20-700 I was told) NOT ACCEPTABLE. So they said they would send out a NEW receiver...Wonderful... All shows and season passes were now GONE!!!! 3 days later, Escalated within DTV. They now gave me a case manager. Case manager called me back, 10pm at night EST... Nice. He setup an appointment for a Supervisor to come out. A week goes by, waiting and waiting for Tech to come out.....Called DTV again turns out they messed up on my appointment, it was for Friday not Thursday. UGGHHHH!!!!! Foiled again by DTV. Setup another appt for the following week. Supervisor finally came out, said there was nothing wrong with the wiring, Dish. Next few days....now with the NEW receiver, come to find out its a refurbished HR20-100. I asked why I didn't get the hr21....DTV said to many issues with it. Perfect. Now when watching Disney Channel, fox, in HD, the sound was very strange. It was almost like a computer generated muffled sound. Almost like the signal for the sound was pixilated... DTV sent out another TECH.... this time they grounded the Dish added a splitter outside of my house. And the problem still exists... WHAT DO I DO NOW????
toph151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 09:14 AM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Chperplt's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 152
Default

I had a similar problem where certain channels would get searching for sat from time to time throughout the day.

After a couple appointments and wasted time, someone came out and changed the entire dish and the problem has not come back.
Chperplt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 09:18 AM   #3  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Default

I requested they change out the LNP, they did, and I still have the many audio issues now. Does anyone know what software version I should have on my HR20 100>? I checked this morning and its showing 0x1fe
toph151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 09:27 AM   #4  
What ever
 
chirshey's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sunning in SoCal
Posts: 916
Default

Did you see this thread?
http://www.highdefforum.com/showthread.php?t=70821
chirshey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 10:36 AM   #5  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Chperplt's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toph151 View Post
I requested they change out the LNP, they did, and I still have the many audio issues now. Does anyone know what software version I should have on my HR20 100>? I checked this morning and its showing 0x1fe
The audio issues are software related.... The searching for sat is most likely dish related.
Chperplt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 11:52 AM   #6  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Default Force Code for Software update!!!!

Thanks. Is there a way I can force the new software DL? The last tech that came out said to reboot the DVR and hit the code 02468 Anyone else hear about this?
toph151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 11:56 AM   #7  
Football in HD, mmm good!
 
deadhead68's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 2,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toph151 View Post
Thanks. Is there a way I can force the new software DL? The last tech that came out said to reboot the DVR and hit the code 02468 Anyone else hear about this?
That's the way to force it.

DeadHead68
deadhead68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 12:04 PM   #8  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
CorkyMuldoon's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chperplt View Post
...someone came out and changed the entire dish and the problem has not come back.
That seems to have resolved my issues.

Tech swapped my AT-9 with an AU-9.
CorkyMuldoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 12:00 PM   #9  
My LCD is High Def
 
spidy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CorkyMuldoon View Post
That seems to have resolved my issues.

Tech swapped my AT-9 with an AU-9.
is changing the dish something they charge you for?...I am having the same issues, and its not rain, snow or all the other obvious reasons the DTV reps ask you about.. Right now I want to through the damn thing out the window... I have the HR20 - 700 last update 0X1fe on 2-13...

Last edited by spidy; 04-26-2008 at 12:07 PM..
spidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 03:28 PM   #10  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Chperplt's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spidy View Post
is changing the dish something they charge you for?...I am having the same issues, and its not rain, snow or all the other obvious reasons the DTV reps ask you about.. Right now I want to through the damn thing out the window... I have the HR20 - 700 last update 0X1fe on 2-13...
It's free if you have the protection plan or you're still under warranty.
Chperplt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 07:39 PM   #11  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
CorkyMuldoon's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chperplt View Post
It's free if you have the protection plan or you're still under warranty.
I've got the protection plan. The dish swap was gratis.
CorkyMuldoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 10:40 AM   #12  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Default Forced the DL but still same version

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadhead68 View Post
That's the way to force it.

DeadHead68
I forced the DL this weekend, but it did not get the latest x22 as some have indicated.

I have the Hr20-100 0X1fe How do i get the latest software?
toph151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 11:17 AM   #13  
97% Complete
 
mcbeevee's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Big Orange Country, TN
Posts: 1,925
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toph151 View Post
I forced the DL this weekend, but it did not get the latest x22 as some have indicated.
I have the Hr20-100 0X1fe How do i get the latest software?
Version 0x022b is a staggered release, and has not rolled out to everyone yet. It should automatically download once it is available in your area.

mcbeevee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 12:59 PM   #14  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Wooo Hooo finally got the software update. Worked like a charm.
toph151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to HR20 searching for Satellite
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Searching for signal on satellite in 2 ...(771) Lawsman DirecTV Forum 31 03-01-2013 12:58 PM
The Dreaded "Searching for Satellite Signal" Message... Bob P DirecTV Forum 25 06-18-2009 05:18 PM
Main causes of H20 & HR20 failures DwnGoesFrazier DirecTV Forum 24 09-27-2007 11:15 PM
searching for signal on #498 throwback559 DirecTV Forum 31 09-23-2007 12:24 AM
New Update 0xEF for HR20 KnickFanatic DirecTV Forum 18 11-20-2006 09:32 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands