High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

using on demand

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2008, 05:53 PM   #1  
waylin rules
Thread Starter
 
caliberconst.'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 642
Default using on demand

Is using on demand as easy as just plugging in the dsl to the receiver. Are there many good movies?
caliberconst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 05:57 PM   #2  
Football in HD, mmm good!
 
deadhead68's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 2,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caliberconst. View Post
Is using on demand as easy as just plugging in the dsl to the receiver. Are there many good movies?
If you check out your post from when you first asked this question, you will see some good responses.

http://www.highdefforum.com/showthre...&highlight=DOD

DeadHead68
deadhead68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 07:44 PM   #3  
waylin rules
Thread Starter
 
caliberconst.'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 642
Default

The main part of my question was, is using on demand as easy as just plugging in the dsl. As I have just found it is not. I plugged it in and waited for an hour and it does nothing, it wont even play the how to video. I am pretty sure I have it hooked up correctly. Ive got the dsl modem plugged into the ethernet #1 port on the back. Can some one please give me some usefull info.
caliberconst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 11:16 PM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 254
Default

There are too many variables from what you are posting. If you plug the DSL modem directly into ethernet1 and reboot EVERYTHING it *should* work. That's not a really practical way to do things long term, though. Your receiver takes some time to sync with the internet connection, if you disconnect it, that will have to start all over again, and DSL modems can be picky about what MAC address they are connecting to.

Do you have a router in between? Do you have a device running DHCP? What other devices are on your network?
buzd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 11:36 PM   #5  
waylin rules
Thread Starter
 
caliberconst.'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 642
Default

All I have is phone line going into the modem, then from the modem, into the receiver via ethernet. I am completely stupid with computer stuff, is there something else I need. You mention a router and a dhcp, is that something I am going to need. If this isnt detailed enough I am sorry like i said I dont know anything about computers. Thanks for any info you might have and dealing with a dummy like me.
caliberconst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to using on demand
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Directv On-Demand - Any Comments? Likes/Dislikes? sprkeng DirecTV Forum 57 12-03-2008 03:06 PM
On-Demand Scam psilka DirecTV Forum 38 04-12-2008 01:15 PM
Another On-Demand Set Up Question werinshades DirecTV Forum 25 02-21-2008 07:16 AM
DirecTV on Demand dman59 DirecTV Forum 19 11-11-2007 03:10 PM
on demand problems - comcast benailes Cable Providers 6 02-16-2006 04:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands