High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

New Sat @ 103 Problems?

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2008, 11:38 AM   #1  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
rickay's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 38
Default New Sat @ 103 Problems?

Has anyone heard this before?

That was what I was told by a DirectSat USA local manager.

My HD locals and HBO west will go 771 on me when the temperature drops to around 15. The rest of the time they are fine. During the day when the sun is out the temp can be below 15 and everything is okay. Since my experience indicates a problem with extreme cold weather...the Sat 103 explanation is suspect.

I do, however; feel that he is being sincere.

I've been BSed enough in my life to smell it a long way off...
rickay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 11:54 AM   #2  
Richard Serkes
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 542
Default

I hope your source for this information understands that it's cold in space, a lot colder than 15F. Was he suggesting that your dish is responding to the temperatures? I suppose this is possible, but highly unlikely. Your dish would have to get a lot colder than 15F for it to change shape enough to interfere with receiving the signal from the satellite. During the day the UV from the sunlight will "warm" the metal mitigating the temperature somewhat but this whole line of reasoning is spurious. As we Okies like to say, "That dog just don't hunt."

Something else is causing you to lose your signal during the cold evenings.

By the way, I started having the same problem with 103 and HBO and had a DirecTV technician come to the house to find the problem. Buried deep behind my components was a splitter that I had forgotten about. I installed it in June of 2004 to handle sending a security camera feed to my TV. I had removed all splitters when I went HD in February of 2007, or at least I thought I had. After removing the hidden splitter and tweaking the dish my 771 error message ceased. This is illustrative of, it's always something but probably not the outside temperature.

Last edited by rserkes; 02-28-2008 at 12:00 PM..
rserkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 12:20 PM   #3  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
rickay's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rserkes View Post
I hope your source for this information understands that it's cold in space, a lot colder than 15F. Was he suggesting that your dish is responding to the temperatures? I suppose this is possible, but highly unlikely. Your dish would have to get a lot colder than 15F for it to change shape enough to interfere with receiving the signal from the satellite. During the day the UV from the sunlight will "warm" the metal mitigating the temperature somewhat but this whole line of reasoning is spurious. As we Okies like to say, "That dog just don't hunt."

Something else is causing you to lose your signal during the cold evenings.

By the way, I started having the same problem with 103 and HBO and had a DirecTV technician come to the house to find the problem. Buried deep behind my components was a splitter that I had forgotten about. I installed it in June of 2004 to handle sending a security camera feed to my TV. I had removed all splitters when I went HD in February of 2007, or at least I thought I had. After removing the hidden splitter and tweaking the dish my 771 error message ceased. This is illustrative of, it's always something but probably not the outside temperature.
I guess I did not make myself clear.

I think it is temperature related since that is what is happening.

He says it is a sat 103 problem.

I have direct runs to two HD receivers from the multiswitch with wall outlets and the b band convertors being the only other connections. The problem is identical on both sets.

My only logical thought...now...is that it is a LNB problem associated with the cold.

Of course, when they come out during the daytime the problem does not exist. Having been an electrician for 35 years, I know this is a tough problem to figure out.
rickay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 12:22 PM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickay View Post
Has anyone heard this before?

That was what I was told by a DirectSat USA local manager.

My HD locals and HBO west will go 771 on me when the temperature drops to around 15. The rest of the time they are fine. During the day when the sun is out the temp can be below 15 and everything is okay. Since my experience indicates a problem with extreme cold weather...the Sat 103 explanation is suspect.

I do, however; feel that he is being sincere.

I've been BSed enough in my life to smell it a long way off...
You almost certainly have an installation problem. First possibility is cable/connectors. If you have a connector that has poor contact (such as a center conductor that is too short) low temperatues can cause the contact to get worse and give you 771s. If all your connectors, all the way to the dish, are OK, and you have no obvious cable damage, the most likely second choice is a faulty LNB - maybe a crack in the plastic cover is letting moisture in, for example. There have been several reports of this.

There is nothing wrong with the 103 satellites!
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 12:38 PM   #5  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
rickay's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
the most likely second choice is a faulty LNB - maybe a crack in the plastic cover is letting moisture in, for example. There have been several reports of this.
Logical.

Since it is a problem identical to two receivers...It makes sense that the problem would have to start at or past the multiswitch going back to the dish.

On his last visit the tech replaced all outside connectors.
rickay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 01:10 PM   #6  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
tumbleweed's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 547
Default

I think the most likely cause would be an LNB. That's about the only thing in the system that would be sensitive to outside temperature changes. Could have been a connector but that's highly unlikely. But solid state components in the LNB can have temperature related problems from cold as well as heat.

I do not understand the "bad satellite" explanation at all. Ask him how cold weather here on earth can have an affect on the satellite 22,000 miles away? Also if it were a satellite problem we would all be seeing it wouldn't we? At least all who get their locals from 103.
tumbleweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 01:47 PM   #7  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
syntfyd's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 127
Default

" Revenge is a dish which is best served cold! It is very cold in space."
Kahn
syntfyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 02:47 PM   #8  
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14
Default

rickay

I'd be interested to know what model multiswitch you're using? With a Zinwell WB616 I had the very same problem with loss of all HD locals when the overnight temperature dropped below about 20 degrees. Going back to a previous WB68 multiswitch seems to have fixed the problem. Still waiting for some really cold temperatures to fully test my theory though.
scgalena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 03:13 PM   #9  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
rickay's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scgalena View Post
rickay

I'd be interested to know what model multiswitch you're using? With a Zinwell WB616 I had the very same problem with loss of all HD locals when the overnight temperature dropped below about 20 degrees. Going back to a previous WB68 multiswitch seems to have fixed the problem. Still waiting for some really cold temperatures to fully test my theory though.
I was incorrect! I used to have a multiswitch.

After HD installation....

It has been replaced with a simple connection block that has 4 leads from the dish on one side and my cables on the other side.

Last edited by rickay; 02-28-2008 at 03:16 PM..
rickay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 04:53 PM   #10  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,408
Default

It could be the Horizon problem? depending on where you are on the globe, (WE) the earth are titling toward the sun (northern Hemispere)

That could change the angle at times, example I was shooting t1 lines back to NY from Iraq in '91 and at that time in the spring (MAY) at 5PM Iraq time the sun would disrupte signals from the sat to it's position at that time of year from the combined heat comming off the earth. The angle of the Sat was closer to the Horzion at (ny) that time of year.


anyting 22,000 miles can happen
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 05:13 PM   #11  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
rickay's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WestDC View Post
It could be the Horizon problem?
I hear what you are saying. If that were the case...then it should happen all the time...with first increasing and then decreasing interruption from the peak value. Make sense?
rickay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 02:57 PM   #12  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 142
Default

Get a new LNB...it will solve the problem.

Bad LNBs are more a reality then the myth that D likes to make them out to be.

Many instances of "bad LNBs in the cold" can be found checking multiple DBS forums.

I believe.....because I had one too.
Poppr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 03:19 PM   #13  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
rickay's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poppr View Post
Get a new LNB...it will solve the problem.
Can I buy one without buying the whole dish?

Getting one replaced by Direct Sat USA seems unlikely.
rickay is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to New Sat @ 103 Problems?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple dishes for the new 5LNB setup vikeman DirecTV Forum 8 06-03-2008 05:36 AM
HD Not Showing Up- NEW Installation MonsonWeather DirecTV Forum 37 11-27-2007 04:55 PM
Satellit 103(b) eyesk8r DirecTV Forum 64 09-20-2007 07:59 PM
new h20 installation besz28 DirecTV Forum 6 07-07-2006 08:15 AM
Local HD problems in Philadelphia market rmg1680 DirecTV Forum 12 12-14-2005 01:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:09 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands