High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

H20/HDMI - Slow Channel Changes

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2007, 09:29 AM   #1  
Early Adopter
Thread Starter
 
cjhsa's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 36
Angry H20/HDMI - Slow Channel Changes

And I mean reeeeeeeaaaaaaaalllllllllyyyyyyyyyyyy sslllllllooooooooowwwwwwwwww. Not just the delay while it figures out that you really mean 73 and not 0073 or whatever. I have two sets hooked up via HDMI outputs (one is actually a DVI set with a converter cable, but the second is a brand new Sharp with DVI input). When I use the D* guide and select a channel, it blinks and flashes on both sets, then there is another delay while it tries to sync to the signal (or something). On the new Sharp, it displays "Input 4" for 3-5 seconds before displaying the picture.

What on earth? For those of use used to channel surfing at warp speed, this isn't gonna cut it.

Any help?
cjhsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 01:02 PM   #2  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Default

I had a similar problem with my HR-20. The "native" setting for the receiver was somehow competing with the "native" setting in the TV. I switched the receiver setting and it helped the slowness. Still not perfect, but much easier to watch. Of course the other solution is to navigate entirely from the guide.
kmcmahon1952 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 01:18 PM   #3  
Early Adopter
Thread Starter
 
cjhsa's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 36
Default

Odd, I do have "native" turned on in the H20, because that was the behaviour of my Sony HD-200 that I still have and love. The Sony works fine with all of my TV's but the H20's are problematic.

I don't think any of my TV's have a "native" mode setting? They simply display whatever you send them unless they see SD and then they stretch it (I usually choose wide zoom).

If you turn "native" mode off on the H20, what other problems can you expect? What can you gain?

My kids push the buttons and once I couldn't figure out why the HD channel I was watching looked so crappy - finally realized they'd changed the output from the H20 to 480i... I don't want that to continue.
cjhsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 03:36 PM   #4  
High Def Supremacist
 
bigtimmo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sandy, Utah
Posts: 182
Default

Shouldn't have any problems with native off. I've got mine off, set to output at 1080i (1080p tv), and the only drawback is that when you watch SD on an HD channel, you can't stretch it to fill the screen like you can on an SD channel. You're stuck with black bars and 4:3 picture. That's my experience with the HR-20. And the channels change much, much quicker, as the receiver doesn't have to change output resolutions all the time.
bigtimmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 04:25 PM   #5  
Lover of all things in HD
 
Blu-ray Lover's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 47
Default

must be your set and or receiver, with h20 if i hit 0073 i get that channel and a picture in about 1 second.
Blu-ray Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 08:57 PM   #6  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
DwnGoesFrazier's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 292
Default

Set native to the "OFF" position and uncheck 480i, 480p & 720. Then you should be all set.
DwnGoesFrazier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 05:57 AM   #7  
Early Adopter
Thread Starter
 
cjhsa's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DwnGoesFrazier View Post
Set native to the "OFF" position and uncheck 480i, 480p & 720. Then you should be all set.
If I do that though, what about the channels like ESPN and ABC that use 720p broadcast? Two of my TV's support it natively - the Vizio and the Sharp. The Sony will convert it to1080i. I would think I'd want to use the "native" format...
cjhsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 06:57 AM   #8  
Early Adopter
Thread Starter
 
cjhsa's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 36
Default

FYI - as soon as I turned off Native mode the slowness disappeared. While I'm not a fan of this setting as I feel 480p is best viewed in 480p, 720p in 720p, and 1080i in 1080i, it's a compromise I'm willing to make to get rid of the latency.

I also went into Menu-Setup-Display-TV Type and made sure 16:9 was selected, then for "Supported Modes" I unchecked 480i, 480p, and 720p. Now, everything sent to the TV is 1080i (even if the content isn't). On the remote, I set the "Format" to "1080i stretch" which makes all the SD signals stretch to fill the screen while leaving the HD signals alone.

Not exactly what I would call the ideal setup but apparently with the H20 as the only choice for D* HD we don't live in an ideal world.
cjhsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to H20/HDMI - Slow Channel Changes
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H20 got an upgrade last night to 0X2020 jsbaker DirecTV Forum 11 07-18-2007 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:42 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands