High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Multiple Dish for more than 16 connections

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2007, 11:08 AM   #1  
What is HD?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Default Multiple Dish for more than 16 connections

I am trying to set up a schematic to connect a property for 101 and 72.5 orbital locations. There are two locations within the property. One requires 14 connections (SD receivers) and the other requires 8 connections (also SD receivers).

We are only able to install two regular 24-inch dishes with dual LNBFs( for 101 and 72.5 respectively) because of the location, and where the dishes can be properly mounted and grounded.

Does anyone know how best to tackle such a schematic. I tried splitting the signals from 101 satellite (ie 18V and 13V) into three lines each, using (one-port passing) 3-way satellite splitter (950-2150GHz) and feeding the outputs from the splitters into three different Zinwell 6x8 switches, ensuring that 18V goes to 18V on the switch and 13V goes to 13V on the switch etc.

I also split the 18V from the 72.5 satellite using the same method and distributed to the Flex port 18V on all three 6x8 switches.

The problem I got was the first 6x8 had all satellites recognised (the one connected to power passing port of the satellite splitters). The other two switches only show some transponders and not all.

What am I doing wrong? Can anyone suggest a better way to achieve my objective.
jdfigueiredo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 10:25 PM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdfigueiredo
I am trying to set up a schematic to connect a property for 101 and 72.5 orbital locations. There are two locations within the property. One requires 14 connections (SD receivers) and the other requires 8 connections (also SD receivers).

We are only able to install two regular 24-inch dishes with dual LNBFs( for 101 and 72.5 respectively) because of the location, and where the dishes can be properly mounted and grounded.

Does anyone know how best to tackle such a schematic. I tried splitting the signals from 101 satellite (ie 18V and 13V) into three lines each, using (one-port passing) 3-way satellite splitter (950-2150GHz) and feeding the outputs from the splitters into three different Zinwell 6x8 switches, ensuring that 18V goes to 18V on the switch and 13V goes to 13V on the switch etc.

I also split the 18V from the 72.5 satellite using the same method and distributed to the Flex port 18V on all three 6x8 switches.

The problem I got was the first 6x8 had all satellites recognised (the one connected to power passing port of the satellite splitters). The other two switches only show some transponders and not all.

What am I doing wrong? Can anyone suggest a better way to achieve my objective.
Well your main problem is using splitters that only pass power on one port. That would work if the WB68s were powered. Since the Zinwell switches are unpowered you can't guarantee that the 18v is getting to the dish, if the only receiver generating the 18v happens to be connected to a non-power passing port.

Two choices.
1. Get splitters that pass power on all ports
2. Use a Sonora power locker between the 101 dish and the splitters, to put the voltage permanently on the lines to the dish. I think the only available power locker is 4-line but you would only need two of them.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 12:08 AM   #3  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 536
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texasbrit
Well your main problem is using splitters that only pass power on one port. That would work if the WB68s were powered. Since the Zinwell switches are unpowered you can't guarantee that the 18v is getting to the dish, if the only receiver generating the 18v happens to be connected to a non-power passing port.

Two choices.
1. Get splitters that pass power on all ports
2. Use a Sonora power locker between the 101 dish and the splitters, to put the voltage permanently on the lines to the dish. I think the only available power locker is 4-line but you would only need two of them.
Better choice: Get the powered Zinwell WB616, 2ea. cascaded. Forget about the splitters, lockers, ect.

Last edited by Beck38; 03-05-2007 at 12:10 AM..
Beck38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 09:59 PM   #4  
What is HD?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the advice. I used all port power pass satellite splitters and my schematic worked just fine. Awesome.
jdfigueiredo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 10:00 PM   #5  
What is HD?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the advice.
jdfigueiredo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2007, 10:39 PM   #6  
Shake & Bake - WOOOO!
 
HondoHDTV's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 204
Default

checkout the STICKY NOTE at the beginning of this forum
HondoHDTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:38 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands