High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Hr2-700 Snafu ...

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2007, 06:36 AM   #1  
HD =s "Howdy Doody"
Thread Starter
 
1999cobra's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default Hr2-700 Snafu ...

O.K. got two HR20-700's installed two weeks ago. Then got the software upgrade to OX11B on 01/23/07 downloaded direct from D*.

Everything was fine until two days ago then when I turned on the receiver it would come on with banners, menus, channel guide etc, etc but no picture on any channel, no audio and no picture.

I reset the receiver and everything came back O.K. watched a little TV turned everything off. Couple hours later turned the TV and receiver back on same thing happened. This time I called D* and a CS had me reboot with the red button. That worked and everything was O.K.

Last night turned on the equipment everything went on everything was O.K. went to shut off the receiver and it wouldn't turn off the power - Yup I couldn't shut the power off with either the power off on the remote OR the power on off on the receiver. To shut off the power I had to pull the electrical power cord - WTF...???

What's up with that???

Last edited by 1999cobra; 01-30-2007 at 06:43 AM..
1999cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 08:03 AM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 287
Default

Is this happening on both of your HR20-700's?
holtzd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 08:17 AM   #3  
HD =s "Howdy Doody"
Thread Starter
 
1999cobra's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default ???

No - just one, which kind of leads one to assume it must be a bad receiver...

What's the story with these receivers? I heard they make them in a warehouse in China and the employees are all mentally challenged and disabled, and that twenty of them share one room - with one bed and no running water, and they split a can of sardines for dinner and unless there's twenty sardines in the can a fight breaks out ...

Is this true???
1999cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 09:27 PM   #4  
OTA for local HD is best
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 93
Default

1999 Cobra

Virtually every HR20 has an issue from one time to another. Open access card door, press red button when something freezes up. It takes 5mins to reboot but D* shipped a product with poor firmware. Don't waste your time with another one. It will be refurbished and sooner or later it will get stuck in some mode.

Your other one will do it too sometime assume it's used as often in a similar manner.

Thousands of posts like this since last October. They are still sending out periodic firmware updates over the satellites.
NR4P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 09:54 PM   #5  
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Pasadena,CA
Posts: 12
Default

1999 Cobra--you are not alone---same exact thing happened to me yesterday. No point in replacing the receiver with another one which will have the same problems.
Hopefully future firmware updates will fix this?
Paullog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 10:07 PM   #6  
HD =s "Howdy Doody"
Thread Starter
 
1999cobra's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 85
Default

Come on - No one liked my Chinese story ...?
1999cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 10:19 PM   #7  
Shake & Bake - WOOOO!
 
HondoHDTV's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 204
Default

Just 20 Sardines? They have like 20 BILLION people there... They better have more than 20 sardines.
HondoHDTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 01:23 PM   #8  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Yes, with as many times as my HR20-700 freezes up, I suggested that they put the little red reset button on the remote!!
tjk1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 01:30 PM   #9  
PSN is POO
 
II SAL II's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Richmond, Va
Age: 46
Posts: 3,538
Default

why are you turning it off?

i have had mine since 10/06 and have never turned mine off.. try not turning it off and you would be ok

please remember that when you hit that little red button you lose all the updates and reset it to manufacturing settings. so you have to downlad all that stuff again
II SAL II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 05:26 PM   #10  
OTA for local HD is best
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 93
Default

SAL have to disagree. You don't lose everything with the red button push. Essentially the same as a power interruption.

You don't lose all the firmware updates, and the recorded shows on the HD do not disappear.
You will lose the zip code entered into the weather.

Theres other steps to reset everything but the red button is one of the safer ones. I can attest to it, push it about once a week.
NR4P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 05:59 PM   #11  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,993
Default

i have same problem with HR20 keep freezing but i am not sure what software version it has, last week i checked it was December 06 update.
iserum is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:32 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands