High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

The Zinwell WB68 Multi-Switch - HOW TO WIRE (28JAN2007)

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2008, 09:04 PM   #46  
Shake & Bake - WOOOO!
Thread Starter
 
HondoHDTV's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nratt View Post
In order to be able to add more DirecTV receivers, I recently installed a Zinwell 6x8 MultiSwitch for my system. My main receiver is an HD DVR, which was working fine with my earlier simpler setup from my 5 LNB dish. I followed the installation instructions for the Zinwell and now everything seems to be working fine, except for my HD channels, which Iím not getting at all except for those in the 100 range. Any other HD channels ó 70s, 200s, 500s ó else gives me a signal search, 771 message. Any ideas as to whatís up with that?

what happens if you bypass the zinwell? do those stations / channels return? it is possible that the zinwell is defective... but you should be able to rule that out by using a couple barrell connectors (in line splice connector), bypassing the zinwell. if your signal is iffy to begin with, the zinwell does have some pass-thru loss.

personally, I would do this... bypass the zinwell. test "each" receiver directly connected and take signal readings. then add your receiver back to the zinwell and perform the same test again. compare and contrast these readings. if they are way off, call DTV and demand a new zinwell.
HondoHDTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 10:47 PM   #47  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks, HondoHDTV

I'll give that a shot. Reception for all receivers was good with no HD drop off before I hooked up the Zinwell.
nratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 08:27 PM   #48  
Shake & Bake - WOOOO!
Thread Starter
 
HondoHDTV's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 204
Default

I posted a "Sticky Note" about a years and a half ago - it is at the top of this forums main page. I have diagrams on the proper installation of the Zinwell and the installation of stacked Zinwells.

check it out, it may help and who knows, maybe you simply swapped coaxes by mistake. I've done that and I'm sure many other have too.
HondoHDTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 07:33 AM   #49  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default

Don't know where to post this question, but here it goes...

I installed the Zinwell WB68 with no real issues save one: My DirecTV HD20 DVR will not pick up some HD channels. I get the old searching for satellite on 2, 771 message. This only happens on certain HD channels. For example, my local HD stations come in with no problem but the "70s" channels, HDNet, HDNM...channels 78 and 79 I think, will not come in. Channel 79 has a 200 channel counterpart which DOES come in just fine....same exact thing with UHD, the 70s channel does not come in, but the 200 channel does. Also, some 300s HD channels do not come in and some do...

I have tested the signal strength on both inputs from all satellites and all is well. I have three other receivers attached, one plain-jane receiver, and two Tivo receivers - no problems at all with those.

Any ideas?

Last edited by kenrglover; 09-30-2008 at 07:39 AM..
kenrglover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 10:59 AM   #50  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HondoHDTV View Post
The Zinwell WB68 Multi-Switch - HOW TO WIRE

The AT9 Dish and newer AU9 Slimline Dish have only four outputs. If you have a requirement for more than four, you need to expand your capacity with a Multi-Switch. Currently (28JAN2007), the ONLY DirecTV approved Multi-Switch is the Zinwell WB68.

The Zinwell WB68 by itself will expand the output capacity from four to eight. The Zinwell unit is powered by the satellite receiver and require no additional power source (such as a low voltage transformer) to operate.

In most cases, eight outputs should be sufficient however others may need more than eight. To increase the number of outputs beyond eight, a second or third Zinwell WB68 may be used. Outlined below are three common configurations of the Zinwell WB68 Multi-Switch. Notice when more than one Multi-Switch is used, the dish output must be split to accomodate two or more Multi-Switch inputs (see diagram).

Another consideration is having the correct output from the Dish, to the correct input of the Multi-Switch (e.g. output one to input one, output two to input two - this would also ring true if the main signal is split - output one to splitter one, splitter one to input one
on each multi-switch).

As a point of interest... The cable length from Dish to Receiver should NOT (according to DirecTV) exceed 100 feet. You may find that it will work beyond this length limitation and the last installer I spoke with said, he's had success in excess of 300 feet. Personally I would stick with the 100' rule and not risk signal loss during that must see show or event.

It's not difficult to wire the Multi-Switch into your system however if you do not feel comfortable performing this task, just call DirecTV and they can have a technican perform the work. At the very least, you will know what to a) ask for and b) know what to expect when they arrive.
Don't forget when using splitters with the HD Setup AT9 Dish you must use Wide Band Splitters others wise you will have issues with the KA/KU band channels. YES the Wide band splitters are more expensive.
dishcrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 07:03 PM   #51  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Default inline module?

I have a slimline 3 lnb dish. My primary dish has a inline module on the satellite in line. Do I have to have that for every receiver in my house? what is that module and what does it do. It is an inline like "capacitor" inline from sat in cable, to receiver input. Thanks for any help.
andya0612 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 10:06 AM   #52  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Hey Everyone,
Thanks for all of your replies. I thought that I left out one piece of information that might be useful : equipment. This is something I'm doing for my parents and they have a 1LNB dish with the 5250R01 receiver. I'm splitting the signal because they might want to move the receiver soon and while I'm running other cables through their house it would be easier to do this at the same time. From looking at the posts it seems like 1LNB is outdated and I would guess that they have had this equipment since '01. Is this something they need to get upgraded (they are not that big into HD) or something that Directv should have upgraded for them? Sorry I have had comcast all my life and am still new to the way directv works. Thanks again. And I'll keep posting throughout this experience.
goodkodiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 10:07 AM   #53  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Sorry about that....not my original thread.
goodkodiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 10:49 AM   #54  
DirecTv Specialist.
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cincinnati Oh
Posts: 2
Default Do not piggyback wb68

you must multi plex them properly or find a bigger wb switch. Or simply call a professional to do the job.
custom_SAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 10:55 AM   #55  
DirecTv Specialist.
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cincinnati Oh
Posts: 2
Default

50 mhz to 2500 mhz is the proper all ports power passing splitter. ONLY TO BE USED FOR SPLITTING THE FOUR RG-6 LINES OFF OF A KA/KU INTO TWO 6x8's or 2 6x16 wb switches.
custom_SAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 03:26 PM   #56  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I've seen where other sites say that you're to use splitters that pass power on only one port and that the power ports on each splitter need to all go to the same multiswitch. Is this true?
peejmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 04:37 PM   #57  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenrglover View Post
Don't know where to post this question, but here it goes...

I installed the Zinwell WB68 with no real issues save one: My DirecTV HD20 DVR will not pick up some HD channels. I get the old searching for satellite on 2, 771 message. This only happens on certain HD channels. For example, my local HD stations come in with no problem but the "70s" channels, HDNet, HDNM...channels 78 and 79 I think, will not come in. Channel 79 has a 200 channel counterpart which DOES come in just fine....same exact thing with UHD, the 70s channel does not come in, but the 200 channel does. Also, some 300s HD channels do not come in and some do...

I have tested the signal strength on both inputs from all satellites and all is well. I have three other receivers attached, one plain-jane receiver, and two Tivo receivers - no problems at all with those.

Any ideas?
Things it could be, Bad band converter on tuner 2, Bad Cable on tuner 2. Swap a port on the wb68 with a known good port to tuner 2

If it still fails replace the box.
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 04:40 PM   #58  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,410
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peejmeister View Post
I've seen where other sites say that you're to use splitters that pass power on only one port and that the power ports on each splitter need to all go to the same multiswitch. Is this true?
NO- you can only use the Spliters (power pass thru) in front of the first Wb68 to add an additonal Wb68

See the stickie post on installing the WB68 for 9-16 ports for reference.
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 02:26 PM   #59  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default need help

can you help me if can use te WB68 with 3 ants (1.- 101 sat.2.-99 sat and 3.- 103) moving to mexico and traying to go with my HR22

thanks
otomax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 09:21 PM   #60  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 99
Default

Thank you so much, this post is very informative.
Benzodiazepine is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to The Zinwell WB68 Multi-Switch - HOW TO WIRE (28JAN2007)
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cascading 6x8s for those that care. justinbwill DirecTV Forum 7 02-16-2009 05:14 PM
Question: 1 TDokkel DirecTV Forum 6 11-25-2008 06:00 PM
I don't think DirecTV likes my splitter goodkodiak DirecTV Forum 18 11-13-2008 12:41 PM
New 5lnb replacing older dish ? CZsteve DirecTV Forum 9 03-08-2007 10:42 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:28 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands