High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

The Zinwell WB68 Multi-Switch - HOW TO WIRE (28JAN2007)

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2007, 11:37 AM   #16  
No Life without iPod
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 73
Default Plastic Enclosure for Zinwell - where?

can anybody recommend a source for a plastic enclosure with a door that would easily contain the Zinwell switch that will be exposed to the weather? (similiar to one shownin attached file) I asked the local Comcast installer about what they used but he was of little help as the company provided what he needed... The only thing that I have found thus far is a plastic /doored box at Home Depot that is for installing a sprinkler timer.. With a little modification, it would work but I'm shur others more suited for the purpose would work..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg box.jpg (140.0 KB, 303 views)
ALEXIVOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 05:40 PM   #17  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default GROUNDING Zinwell - Block Necessary, before or after?

One installer said MUST be a grounding block before LNB's 4 cable runs enter the Zinwell, and he installed it this way. Other said not necessary.

Can anyone discuss with authority?

I know that the more times the cable(s) to the receivers is/are spliced (even with approved connectors), the greater the likelihood of signal degradation and I have high quality cable runs and great HD componentry.

Should I toss that grounding block and install the lnb leads directly into the Zinwell with the runs directly leaving it to the receivers?

Thanks for any help!
denvermtnguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 09:41 AM   #18  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Default Cascading

I'm seeing how you have expanded to at least 16 recievers here on the diagram. My question is how cascadable is the wb68. The project I have going has a total of 21 HD Directv recievers I'm curious as to if I would be better off going with the wb616 to accomplish what I am doing?
trackx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 09:18 PM   #19  
Shake & Bake - WOOOO!
Thread Starter
 
HondoHDTV's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trackx View Post
I'm seeing how you have expanded to at least 16 recievers here on the diagram. My question is how cascadable is the wb68. The project I have going has a total of 21 HD Directv recievers I'm curious as to if I would be better off going with the wb616 to accomplish what I am doing?
I think using two 16's would be the better choice and follow the diagram I have written for the two 8's.
HondoHDTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 07:10 AM   #20  
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Thumbs down Is the WB68 amplified?

Does the multi-switch have a built in amplifier?
bflora1952 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 09:59 AM   #21  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default Zinwell WB616

I got the Zinwell WB616. It has 6 inputs ( four for the connection to the 4 outputs from the 5 lnb or 3 lnb or any other dish dtv has ever used) and 2 flexport inputs for the 72.5 degree and 94 degree local sd dishes. It is powered so you will need a 120 volt outlet. And it has 16 outputs. And you can cascade them for up to 64 outputs. I have been using one since March. Works great.
Jim LeFevre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 09:43 AM   #22  
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Default WB68 not cascadeable

Zinwell says the WB68 is not cascadeable. Anyone know why? It seems that if the outputs have everything a receiver needs they would also have everything another WB68 would need.
bflora1952 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 12:07 PM   #23  
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Default

I currently have a different brand/model of multi-switch. The D* installer is comming next week to install the new 5lnb dish. Will they replace the multi-switch or is that my responbility? And if they do replace it, will there be a charge?
flytivoer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 02:04 AM   #24  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Default

ok good ......................
ratter123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 12:13 PM   #25  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Default question

I have a 5lnb satellite that runs 2 lines into my living room for HR20-100S with 2 tuners. I have 2 lines for the rest of my house. I line goes to my living room and another goes to another bedroom. Could I run a multiswitch with 1 line coming in with 2 lines coming out so I can operate another multi tuner Tivo in that bedroom? Do I have to have all 4 lines coming in to the multiswitch? In that case I would have to connect the multiswitch outside my house and add many more wires and holes around the house.
nahlalee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 09:52 PM   #26  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Default

The tech wired the WB68 as you show with 5 tuners. He was no sooner out the door when one tuner was unable to find a signal. The other four work fine. Anyone have an idea why this is happening?
tpberding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 01:07 PM   #27  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Exclamation New 5-LNB DirecTV Dish wiring???

I have a new installation coming up 11/18/07 from DTV for an HR20 upgrade from my HR10-250, which will include a new 5-LNB dish.

When they installed my HR10 about a year ago, DTV also installed a 3-LNB dish, using 2 additional RG6 cables and a Zinwell 4X8 multiswitch to include my other two SD Philips DVR's. I intend to keep all 4 DVR's active.

My question is this - will the installer need to add any more RG6 cables because of the 5-LNB dish or does that dish only require my existing 4 RG6's? I suspect if it does need two more cables, DTV will supply a Zinwell 6X8.

If more cables are required, I'm going to have to find additional 'entrance' room for them, along with inside routing space between now and the installation.

So far on other forums, no one has come up with an answer!

HELP - Please

Bert!

Last edited by berryb; 11-13-2007 at 01:11 PM..
berryb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 01:13 PM   #28  
Administrator
 
rbinck's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 16,960
Default

The 5LNB dishes use the same 4 cables to the multiswitch. They may need to change out the multiswitch though as all of the early ones are not compatable with the 5LNB dishes.
rbinck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 02:34 PM   #29  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks SO much for your quick reply! I've been panicking ever since I realized the HR20 required that dish (although I suspected as much.)

After the additional two RG6's were added last time, I weather-sealed up the entrance hole. Now I had no idea if that hole had to be bored out, or not! And inside, with those same additional cables, I re-did my whole 'Home Theater' setup, replacing 6 small metal WireMold conduits with one much larger WireMold plastic ducting.

The thought of either trying to pry open about 30 feet of that stuff OR having to fish the cables through the whole length of it, was daunting to consider!

Thanks again!

Bert
berryb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 03:08 PM   #30  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Question Zinwell WB68

Question: Of the 6 inputs on this switch, what are the two labeled Flexport 1 & 2. And does it make any difference what you connect to on the other 4 ports if you have 4 cables coming off of a Directv 5-LNB dish?
jerrye3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to The Zinwell WB68 Multi-Switch - HOW TO WIRE (28JAN2007)
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cascading 6x8s for those that care. justinbwill DirecTV Forum 7 02-16-2009 05:14 PM
Question: 1 TDokkel DirecTV Forum 6 11-25-2008 06:00 PM
I don't think DirecTV likes my splitter goodkodiak DirecTV Forum 18 11-13-2008 12:41 PM
New 5lnb replacing older dish ? CZsteve DirecTV Forum 9 03-08-2007 10:42 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:17 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands