High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Resolution Settings

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2004, 08:03 AM   #1  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 65
Default Resolution Settings

When I called Direct tv they said keeping the setting on Native 3 Then when you switch from HD (720p) it automatically changes when I go to SD, but the channel freezes for a second the it gets real snowy then it comes in, but when I keep the setting on 1080i I dont have this problem.Which setting should I use. I have the Smasung T360

Last edited by teddysjam; 11-23-2004 at 08:11 AM..
teddysjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2004, 04:47 PM   #2  
HD the only to VIEW
 
branchbouncer's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: VA
Age: 67
Posts: 169
Default

I have the HTL-HD by hughes and I leave it set at 1080 in variable mode 2 that way it upconverts 720 t0 1080 and if switched to 480i-480p it converts to 480p.The box does a really good job I am not sure if the Sam does the same
branchbouncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2004, 05:03 PM   #3  
HD the only to VIEW
 
branchbouncer's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: VA
Age: 67
Posts: 169
Default

Your manual says that in native mode 3 720/1080 are displayed in 720,when you switch to 480 it has to reset it self and display in that mode,then if you go back to HD(720(which is barely HD)it resets it self again and it sounds as if the box is having a problem doing that.What is the picture like if you just leave it in 1080 mode ---it is supposed to try to upconvert all signals to 1080.Just a personal opinion but if the box was new enough I would trade it back for the Hughes HTL-HD,or see if Samsung will replace it
branchbouncer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2004, 06:27 AM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,095
Default

In many cases the TV does a better job of converting a picture format to it's native resolution than the box.

Since most broadcasts in HD come in in 1080i, I would leave it at 1080i.

The few Networks at 720p are: ABC, ESPN and FOX.
mfabien is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to Resolution Settings
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display/Resolution settings? TDK1044 DirecTV Forum 6 07-21-2009 03:50 AM
HDMI and resolution settings question hagmann Flat-Panel TVs 10 11-26-2007 11:15 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:41 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands