High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Losing Signal Strength

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2006, 06:24 PM   #1  
What is HD?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Default Losing Signal Strength

Is a LNB either good or bad? I'm losing signal strength,From 93 to 98 on an old RCA receiver.Somrtimes I will lose it all together for a millisecond or so. Or is it probably a bad connection somewhere? Tia
ADEMCOMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 07:40 PM   #2  
Red Sox in HD: Priceless
 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADEMCOMAN
Is a LNB either good or bad? I'm losing signal strength,From 93 to 98 on an old RCA receiver.Somrtimes I will lose it all together for a millisecond or so. Or is it probably a bad connection somewhere? Tia
Need more information. In a nutshell, yes, LNB's can go bad. In fact, I had a triple LNB die on me, and I have a buddie who's dual lnb died on him.

But there's lots of variables. If u lose it all together for a second after seeing a 93 signal strength, I'd first check all connections and check that ur dish is secure and not blowing in the wind.
hitdog042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 09:26 PM   #3  
"Shitter was Full"
 
Bigloww's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a van, down by the river.
Posts: 8,321
Default

Yes LNB's do go bd from time to time. Check your dish mount/connections like hitdog said. Also, now that it is spring, is it possible new leaves on the trees has something to do with it? Just a thought. Good luck and go WhiteSox.
Bigloww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 03:37 PM   #4  
What is HD?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the advice. So the next question would be is it possible for the LNB to be intermittantly bad? I will check and redo the connections from the LNB to the switch.Hopefully that will fix the problem,if not then I guess it will be to start replacing componrnts. Thanks
ADEMCOMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 03:44 PM   #5  
Red Sox in HD: Priceless
 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADEMCOMAN
Thanks for the advice. So the next question would be is it possible for the LNB to be intermittantly bad? I will check and redo the connections from the LNB to the switch.Hopefully that will fix the problem,if not then I guess it will be to start replacing componrnts. Thanks
do u have more than one box? If so, is it happening on all boxes?

If it , then ur looking at a lnb or multiswitch issue.

If u have just one tv and the sat is wired straight to that, start by replacing the ends of both cables. Always start with the cheapest repair first.

if u have more than one box but it's only happening on one, switch out the boxes and see if the same issue happens. I.E, if u move the box that's doing this to another tv and it still does it on that tv, it could be your box, especially if it stops happening with the other box.

Now, if the same problem happens on another box, same TV (following this?), it's either a bad cable or your LNB. Bad cable is rare, so I'd replace the LNB first.

So, in order:

Replace the ends of the cables, re attach. Check.

If still happens: Swap out boxes if u can. See if the problem follows the box.

If the problem happens on a different box, same TV, replace ur LNB.

If the problem persists on the same box, different TV, it is most likely a short in the box.
hitdog042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to Losing Signal Strength
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why am I seeing dropouts at 100% signal strength? teddymines Local HDTV Info and Reception 16 09-19-2009 01:29 PM
Want better HD signal strength? Here's how. justinbwill DirecTV Forum 31 03-27-2009 06:40 AM
signal strength mystery rm00k Local HDTV Info and Reception 15 10-09-2008 12:05 PM
Vip 622 with 2 dish keeps losing signal new2hd DISH Network Forum 10 07-14-2006 11:05 PM
SA8300HD signal strength Shelton77 Cable Providers 9 06-09-2006 05:50 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:24 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands