High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Directv Installation Training Videos and Manual

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2007, 07:19 PM   #16  
HD = TV
 
ridy163's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 78
Default

well, this is crazy. I just dropped my cable company and went with D for that reason that my cable company ( mediacom ) was not able to provide HD boxes and to get one I would have to wait for another year or so... I got a great deal on HD package and equipment as I thought fist. Free equipment including H20 100 (no bugs), installation, dish, programming and blah, blah, blah.... Luckily for installer, I already had D installed at my house before I even moved in about 5years ago. It was a professionally installed single LNB system with the dish mounted on the side of the roof and cables nicely wired in 4 rooms. So the guy replaces the old dish with a triple set. OK!!! at that point i didn't know few things like that i was supposed to get 5 LNB but not triple set , neither that I wouldn't be able to get future MPEG 4 channels from new Kb sats nor that D does not install triple set for H20 customers. When I opened the first page of manual it sad right there that H20 requires 5 LNB dish. Fine, now I knew it all...!! He simply switched the dishes, hooked up receiver, activated my new HD account and was gone and I was happy to enjoy Discover in HD. Few days later I find out that my system is not really future proof and the dish I have is not what I was supposed to get. So, I get a hold of D, D gets o hold of the installer. Finally he calls me back and tells me that he could not mount 5LNB since its to heavy to be put on the old spot and he could possibly put it on the pole in my back yard but it would cost me extra. I made him to drag his butt back to my house and do the site survey with me this time. So he finds the spot and mounts the new dish on the bottom of the porch (I think some trees are on the way). Now i have a slimline hooked up to the old cables( 5 years old). I get a poor signal ( around 65-85%) from Ku sats 119, 110, 101; very poor signal of Ka sats 99 ( 62% max , transponder 18 only) and 0% signal from 103. I tried to fine tune the dish but I can't get signal any better. so now I have to rewire the whole house in my own expense!!!!!!???? and possible move the dish? Does anybody have any idea what to do and is that 103 sat broadcasting at all? Is 50% signal ok?
ridy163 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 02:02 AM   #17  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Default

so nice deal U have to done........................
ratter123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 09:30 PM   #18  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fullcourt View Post
you need a hand held sat meter
No, you don't
tom1178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 08:26 PM   #19  
How can anyone watch standard def?
 
leo45neo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
Default

yup yup
leo45neo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 08:27 PM   #20  
#42: Republican & Dodger
 
DodgerKing's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SoCal
Age: 47
Posts: 1,803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leo45neo View Post
yup yup
We know you are just piling up post so you can spam us. Guess what? We don't care. All it does is make us less likely to buy your product.
DodgerKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 08:49 AM   #21  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Rhino64's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sweeney821 View Post
can i hook up a 5 lbn dish by myself without a in-line meter. I seen the video they show the in-line meter but what about the meter that you can look up on your reciever.

thanks for your help
I did it and was successful. Moved my dish, D* wanted over $50 too come out and realign it. Figured what the "H" most that can happen is the cost me too realign it . Used the signal strength meter on my receiver. Looks as good as it ever did.
Rhino64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 10:28 AM   #22  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Default Looking for custom D* installer in SE michigan

Been trying to get Direct TV " installers to my house to upgrade the satellite dish so I can get all the HD channels. After three visits and multiple excuses ( the last being they don't go onto cedar shake roofs) they have refused to do it. Thus I am looking for a "custom" installer in SE michigan that will go onto my roof and change the Satellite dish. Any help or clues would be appreciated.

PS: Have looked on line and called 3 different companies and they all said...... " call direct TV"
JMHMDPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 10:28 AM   #23  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 33
Default

Nice post
Thanks
Cadssdac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 09:17 PM   #24  
chirshey's BFF
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 3,200
Default

Please add a link to the PDF installation manual for a Slimline 3 dish.

I don't want a link for a video to watch.

Thanks.
glennb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 09:47 AM   #25  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 98
Default

This is great thanks soo much
celica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 10:43 PM   #26  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 74
Default

thanks for the thread
greenmatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 09:29 PM   #27  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drfoobar View Post
Yes, now if only I can get my installers to watch them. I don't remember the installer using signal receivers as shown in the video. As I mentioned in another thread, they have been here twice and still can't see the new Ka birds. From watching the videos, I think I basicaly understand the new system and how fine tuning is critical. I will be watching them with more understanding and "helping" them wether they like it or not. I think I could install the dish myself now that I have been "trained".
useful info
[email protected]@com
safgjajg178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 01:06 AM   #28  
High Definition
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 17
Default

thanks, dr
guile42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 12:10 AM   #29  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Age: 39
Posts: 101
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by drfoobar View Post
This site has Directv training videos for installing the AT9 5 LNB dish.

http://www.solidsignal.com/satellite...all_videos.asp

http://www.solidsignal.com/manuals/A...all_manual.pdf
Quite informative...it will help the people in solving their basic problems. If all satellite tv companies go with this kind of service it will be easy for them to handle the customers.
hunt09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 06:36 PM   #30  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I agree but the alignment of the Slimline dish is not an easy one. I think a meter is a most..
rcruz2525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:06 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands