High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Directv Channel Lineup

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2007, 05:28 PM   #136  
Football in HD, mmm good!
 
deadhead68's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 2,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by njgigman View Post
I posted this on another seperate thread
maybe the Directrep can answer these questions..

Currently I have DTV for 6 years now and love it.
I have 3 DVRS and 1 standard box
A 3 LNB dish and powered multiswitch

Im in the process of setting up my first HD room.

FIOS will be available in 2 months and I have been debating switching.

SO far my reasons are to switch are
1) MUCH cheaper for all three services
2) From what I have seen the picture is just as good or better


MY Hesitations of switching are
1)Fios does Not have as much HD programing as DTV


Recently after speaking with a DTV REP we found out that the packages actually went up in price WELL my wife bugged when she when she heard that and gave me the evil eye

The DTV rep transfered me to A LEVEL 2 REP
His work around was taking away two movie channel packages to adjust the price to even TRY to come close to FIOS
I wasnt happy
plus it still is going to cost me $200 to purchase the HDDVR

Currently I have the best package and am a 5 Heart customer
I was expecting them to at least attempt to keep me ON
If that is there best offer they are in trouble.

NOT to mention i have to add this huge 5 lnb dish supposedly to get HD

CAN somebody answer me or give me some advice

regards

bell labs engineer
Be patient and almost every post on here will get a response. Just a friendly note that it's bad form to post the same question to multiple threads.

DeadHead68
deadhead68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 05:11 PM   #137  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 7
Default

So much for being patient.

Guess there are two many smart people

However being the engineer that I am having worked in the Communications sector of the BELL system gives you access to info not normally made available and I have i was able to dig up some serious info On DTV and there so called HD .

Its a-shame

After reading the SPECS on how the transmission is being compressed and then decompressed I am going to have to go back to the drawing board and study these flaws that are being fixed with many many software fixes...
njgigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 05:24 PM   #138  
Administrator
Thread Starter
 
rbinck's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 17,001
Default

I only have Directv for my wife and she watches SD only. You know, those favorite channels thing - none available in HD anyway. I had D* HD for a while and found most of my HD viewing was OTA. So I canceled the D* HD and opted for building a great OTA DVR. If you can get OTA service it is much less compressed than satellite and for info on the DVR see: MyHTPC
rbinck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 06:25 PM   #139  
One Frustrated Consumer
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by njgigman View Post
However being the engineer that I am having worked in the Communications sector of the BELL system gives you access to info not normally made available and I have i was able to dig up some serious info On DTV and there so called HD.
You mean Wikipedia?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HD_Lite

Seriously, if you can get the channels you like to watch on Fios, why wouldn't you switch? If you can't - then you're stuck with D*.

For me, it's all about the content. But that's just me...
redlinetire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 04:39 AM   #140  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 7
Default Fios has all my channels

That isnt my problem.
I have my system run already.

I guess eventually i will have to rip it all down when fios gets in my area
njgigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 07:50 PM   #141  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by King.of.Pop View Post
someone told me TNT HD was available on direct tv since dec 1st but i have not seen it. anyone else heard this or anything else about TNT HD??
i have it on channel 75 and thats TNT HD
sledge42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 08:10 PM   #142  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 817
Default

Sledge, you answered a very, very old post from December 2004. I think most people know that Directv has TNT HD on channel 75. Plus it was answered a few posts down from the original question.
stonedog23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 12:05 PM   #143  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Oh Really. I have to have two dishes, One 5 lnb for everything and on single lnb dish pointed a whole different direction for locals. This is locals in Standard definition, locals in HD will come over the 5 lnb dish when the come sometime in 2008. Then I could get rid of the smaller dish. It depends on where you are on whether you need the locals only dish.
Jim LeFevre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 02:06 AM   #144  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Default

thanks,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
ratter123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 07:18 AM   #145  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 41
Default

Hey..here's a big hint! http://www.highdefforum.com/showthread.php?t=50889
kevin55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 05:31 PM   #146  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I live in Walla Walla Washington and had HD local channels on two of the three networks before changing to DirectV. I was promised that I would have the major networks in HD by Directv , but of course it did not happen. I have been waiting for the new system to be up and running. We did get some more HD channels here yesterday but still do not have major networks in HD. IS THIS PROBLEM HAPPENING IN OTHER AREAS?
walla2_idoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 05:48 PM   #147  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I live in Walla Walla Washington and had HD local channels on two of the three networks before changing to DirectV. I was promised that I would have the major networks in HD by Directv , but of course it did not happen. I have been waiting for the new system to be up and running. We did get some more HD channels here yesterday but still do not have major networks in HD. IS THIS PROBLEM HAPPENING IN OTHER AREAS?
walla2_idoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 08:47 PM   #148  
HD enthusiast.
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florence, AZ
Posts: 72
Default Hd Locals

Quote:
Originally Posted by walla2_idoc View Post
I live in Walla Walla Washington and had HD local channels on two of the three networks before changing to DirectV. I was promised that I would have the major networks in HD by Directv , but of course it did not happen. I have been waiting for the new system to be up and running. We did get some more HD channels here yesterday but still do not have major networks in HD. IS THIS PROBLEM HAPPENING IN OTHER AREAS?
Go to D*'s website and put your zip code in to see if they are available in your area or not. Unless Walla Walla is near a major metropolitan area I doubt you will get them until sometime in 2008 when they put the next satelite up. I'm in your same boat.
WhoZit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 08:07 AM   #149  
A couch and an HDTV to go please.
 
rhipps's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toano, VA
Age: 76
Posts: 13
Default

Have been a DTV user for 4 years and will never switch unless the cable company comes up with a wireless scheme that will let me use it in my motorhome when I am 2,000 miles from home (g).
rhipps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 12:05 PM   #150  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Default

28 new channels now up and running, Check Big D's site.

Last edited by nitetech; 10-03-2007 at 12:16 PM.. Reason: reference to old post
nitetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to Directv Channel Lineup
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HD Channel Lineup numbskully DISH Network Forum 268 11-19-2019 01:01 PM
Dish Network Channel Lineup rbinck DISH Network Forum 104 06-29-2016 04:05 AM
DirecTV Lastest HD Channel Lineup dman59 DirecTV Forum 61 07-28-2008 11:46 AM
DirecTV: why is the HD channel lineup so disorganized? HD Boy DirecTV Forum 12 03-13-2008 11:02 AM
Comcast HD Channel Lineup: Trenton, NJ (Mercer) tyranocore Cable Providers 6 12-23-2007 03:40 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:22 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands