High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By InYourEyes2

Distance Fm Dish to Genie/Receiver

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2020, 11:31 AM   #1  
CASA Volunteer
Thread Starter
 
teetertotter's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Janesville, WI.
Posts: 201
Default Distance Fm Dish to Genie/Receiver

Just to ask, if the distance from the DISH to Genie/Receiver is 50 feet, will this have any effect on picture quality performance? We are having install tomorrow afternoon. From there, it is wireless to 2 other Tv's.

We are switching from U-Verse to DIRECTV.

Last edited by teetertotter; 01-09-2020 at 11:35 AM..
teetertotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 11:55 AM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 264
Default

Highly doubtful.
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 12:11 PM   #3  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Terryl3's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Deep in the Duraflame National Forest
Posts: 1,578
Default

I've done some out to 150 feet from dish to receiver without problems.

But this was using very good Beldin RG-6 quad coax, and not some of the cheap stuff used by some installers.
Terryl3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 12:53 PM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 264
Default

So at ~50', standard solid core RG6 should be fine.
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 01:11 PM   #5  
CASA Volunteer
Thread Starter
 
teetertotter's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Janesville, WI.
Posts: 201
Default

I appreciate the replies addressing my concern. Thanks
teetertotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 03:54 PM   #6  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Terryl3's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Deep in the Duraflame National Forest
Posts: 1,578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes2 View Post
So at ~50', standard solid core RG6 should be fine.
Yes, but try to stay away from the copper coated steel core stuff, it has problems with internal corrosion causing signal loss over time.

I use pure copper core, it would out last any system if done right.
Terryl3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 04:17 PM   #7  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 264
Default

That's why I stated "solid core".
Also, I believe that is the only "approved" coax by DirecTV.
Terryl3 likes this.
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 03:52 PM   #8  
CASA Volunteer
Thread Starter
 
teetertotter's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Janesville, WI.
Posts: 201
Default

DTV installer/contractor, used RG-6, solid copper core. They use nothing else, he said.
teetertotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 04:26 PM   #9  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teetertotter View Post
DTV installer/contractor, used RG-6, solid copper core. They use nothing else, he said.
Thus my post above.
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands