High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

rain fade ?

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2019, 07:54 PM   #1  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 8
Default rain fade ?

has anyone installed a larger dish to try to correct rain fade ? have a genie , swm . thanks , dan
dannybp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 04:02 AM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Terryl3's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Deep in the Duraflame National Forest
Posts: 1,469
Default

Well I don't have DTV but on my service I had to go with a 36" inch elliptical to counter the effects of rain fade at my location, as one of the satellites I use is a bit weak in the foot print for my location.

And no to all with other suggestions, waxing the dish or putting a rain cover over the LNB will not solve the fact that there is tones of water in the way of the very weak signals coming down from the satellites, rain fade is hard to fix, but the bigger the dish the better the signal.

But with DTV there are multiple satellites to work with, so you need an elliptical dish with at least 20 degrees of receive beam-width to get good signals on all the satellites used for DTV.
Terryl3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 05:35 PM   #3  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 8
Default

thanks for the responce , dtv sells a 1.2 m dish for ak and hi . alittle pricey but i may give it a try .
dannybp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 08:05 PM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Terryl3's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Deep in the Duraflame National Forest
Posts: 1,469
Default

It doesn't have to be a DTV dish, all you need is one that will hold the 3 LNB's needed.
Terryl3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands