High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Losing audio

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2019, 06:09 AM   #1  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 341
Question Losing audio

I have a 9 year old H24 receiver and within the past 2 weeks I have noticed just audio loss here and there. My H24 is connected to my Yamaha A3070 via HDMI and my Yamaha is connected to my Z9D TV via HDMI ARC. It is not my cables, nor my AVR. Is this a known issue?
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 07:44 AM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Default

Turn off ARC and CEC on all devices and see if that helps.
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 08:02 AM   #3  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes2 View Post
Turn off ARC and CEC on all devices and see if that helps.
I will try that. When I received my new Yamaha A3070 AVR a few weeks ago there were no issues with audio until recently

I might just connect the direct receiver directly to my TV instead of my AVR

Last edited by purplerain; 03-23-2019 at 09:14 AM..
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 11:38 AM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Default

Then you'll need to turn ARC/CEC back on.
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 12:02 PM   #5  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes2 View Post
Then you'll need to turn ARC/CEC back on.
The H24 does not even have optical either. Will have to get the HR25 or HR54, then there will be no issues
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 05:59 AM   #6  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Default

I meant, if you connect the H24 directly to the TV and using HDMI from the TV to AVR.... turn ARC back on.

Or... try hdmi to TV and optical from the TV to AVR.
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 06:11 AM   #7  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 341
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes2 View Post
I meant, if you connect the H24 directly to the TV and using HDMI from the TV to AVR.... turn ARC back on.

Or... try hdmi to TV and optical from the TV to AVR.
So disconnect my direct receiver from my AVR and then connect the direct receiver directly to my Z9D (TV) via HDMI and then connect my optical from my Z9D (TV) to my Yamaha AVR optical?
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 07:12 AM   #8  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Default

Sure... give it a whirl.

Alternatively, connect the H24 with HDMI to the TV, HDMI from the TV to AVR and turn ARC/CEC on.
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 08:23 AM   #9  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes2 View Post
Sure... give it a whirl.

Alternatively, connect the H24 with HDMI to the TV, HDMI from the TV to AVR and turn ARC/CEC on.
Thanks. I also have my Yamaha AVR connected via HDMI ARC (AVR) to my Z9D (TV) HDMI port 3 (ARC). I will connect the direct receiver to the HDMI port 2 on my Z9D
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 05:36 AM   #10  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 341
Question

The directv H24 is faulty (and a decade old). They are sending me a new HD receiver and they could not even tell me which model HD receiver they would be sending me. I asked just for an HD only receiver. Any idea what model it could be?

Last edited by purplerain; 03-26-2019 at 05:41 AM..
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 02:13 PM   #11  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 341
Talking

Received my new H24 with a date of 12/2018. Guess they updated all the software. My old H24 one was from 2010

Last edited by purplerain; 04-03-2019 at 01:29 PM..
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 02:36 PM   #12  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 157
Default

How did the new H24 work out for you?
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 08:17 PM   #13  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 341
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes2 View Post
How did the new H24 work out for you?
Had it on for several hours...only a few times it (audio) went off for just a split second. Before is was so bad and sometimes would never come back unless I switched channels.

Last edited by purplerain; 04-03-2019 at 01:27 PM..
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 01:29 PM   #14  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 341
Default

Over the past week the audio still cuts out for a split second only here and there. It is the H24 receiver without a doubt. The receiver was made in 2010, but updated Dec 2018. Any reasons why? Other things connected to my AVR have zero audio issues. I even tried digital coax too via the H24, but still audio cutouts.

Seems to happen mostly with ESPN, TBS, TNT, YES and a few others

Last edited by purplerain; 04-05-2019 at 06:29 AM..
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 06:16 AM   #15  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 341
Exclamation Problem solved

Was told to go into my direct receiver and turn off Dolby, which I did and now I run PCM. Audio is perfect now
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands