High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Losing audio

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2019, 11:50 AM   #16  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 209
Default

As long as you don't want/need Dolby Digital 5.1 and PCM Stereo is good enough, you're good to go.
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 06:23 AM   #17  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 343
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes2 View Post
As long as you don't want/need Dolby Digital 5.1 and PCM Stereo is good enough, you're good to go.
PCM via HDMI connections can give you 5.1 from what I read....?

What I got: "PCM is uncompressed and can pass a full 5.1 signal"

Last edited by purplerain; 04-14-2019 at 06:29 AM..
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 07:05 AM   #18  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 209
Default

Not from a DirecTV STB.

EDIT:
https://forums.att.com/t5/DIRECTV-In...p/td-p/4509838

Last edited by InYourEyes2; 04-14-2019 at 08:15 AM..
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 10:29 AM   #19  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 343
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes2 View Post
Not even when it's plugged into my AVR directly?
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 12:10 PM   #20  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 209
Default

Nope.
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 06:46 AM   #21  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes2 View Post
Nope.
So if I want to live without the known audio lose issue, I will have to stick with PCM

Otherwise, go to DD and live with split second audio lose here and there
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 08:18 AM   #22  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 209
Default

Who knows?
You've assumed it's not the AVR.
You've supposedly replaced the DirecTV STB.
You've stated that the H24 doesn't have Toslink/optical. Why not try the digital coax output from the STB to the AVR and run the HDMI from the STB directly to the TV?

If audio dropouts using Dolby from the STB and coax still occur... at least you know it's not HDMI.
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 05:15 AM   #23  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 343
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes2 View Post
Who knows?
You've assumed it's not the AVR.
You've supposedly replaced the DirecTV STB.
You've stated that the H24 doesn't have Toslink/optical. Why not try the digital coax output from the STB to the AVR and run the HDMI from the STB directly to the TV?

If audio dropouts using Dolby from the STB and coax still occur... at least you know it's not HDMI.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0vp8kPJYWg
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 06:59 AM   #24  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 209
Default

Cute video.

Anyway... try coax.
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 07:08 AM   #25  
crystal clear
Thread Starter
 
purplerain's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes2 View Post
Cute video.

Anyway... try coax.
Tried coax too and still audio drops here and there. PCM mode, there are no audio dropouts
purplerain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 10:44 AM   #26  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 209
Default

Oh well...
Leave the STB set up as PCM and set the AVR to Dolby ProLogic if you want "surround sound".

Personally, I'd pursue this issue with DirecTV. Dolby Digital should work without dropouts. The only other alternative is live with it or look for an alternate provider.
InYourEyes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands