High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Terryl3
  • 1 Post By wizwor
  • 1 Post By WestDC
  • 1 Post By Terryl3

DirecTV First Hundred Feet

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2018, 05:55 AM   #1  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 249
Default DirecTV First Hundred Feet

DTV just installed a dish on a pole in my yard. They laid RG6 on the ground from the dish to the grounding block. Everything works great. The installer suggested I bury the cable in conduit. I was thinking of replacing the cable they left with direct burial coax. The premise wiring is RG6. Should I stick with RG6 in from the dish to the grounding block or use RG11?
wizwor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 11:43 AM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Terryl3's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Deep in the Duraflame National Forest
Posts: 1,498
Default

100 feet is OK for RG-6, but I would use some conduit to protect it from gofers, around my parts they like chewing up the direct burial coax, the gray PVC type electrical conduit works fine, they don't like the taste, be sure to seal the ends to keep water out.

You can get pre-bent 90's and other fittings, I use a double port bottom entry box at each end, this way the coax inside the conduit can come up and you can exit back out the bottom to the dish/house with coax.

This is what I use at each end, gives you enough room to bend the coax without kinking it.
https://www.lowes.com/pd/TayMac-2-Ga...al-Box/4005491

Then a blank cover and your set....Oh be sure to plug the exit holes or it could get full of bugs.
wizwor likes this.
Terryl3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 03:10 PM   #3  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wizwor View Post
DTV just installed a dish on a pole in my yard. They laid RG6 on the ground from the dish to the grounding block. Everything works great. The installer suggested I bury the cable in conduit. I was thinking of replacing the cable they left with direct burial coax. The premise wiring is RG6. Should I stick with RG6 in from the dish to the grounding block or use RG11?
If you have the RG11 why not if it go right too the LNB ?
Hdb91xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 07:30 PM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hdb91xg View Post
If you have the RG11 why not if it go right too the LNB ?
I don't have anything except the indoor RG6 the installer left. It's sitting on top of the ground right now. Would I be better off spending my money on conduit than direct burial cable RG6 or RG11?
Hdb91xg likes this.
wizwor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 06:22 AM   #5  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wizwor View Post
I don't have anything except the indoor RG6 the installer left. It's sitting on top of the ground right now. Would I be better off spending my money on conduit than direct burial cable RG6 or RG11?
I believe that you can direct burile RG11 by its se!f no conduit but if it
Was me I would do the Rg11,

Last edited by Hdb91xg; 05-21-2018 at 08:45 AM..
Hdb91xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 02:25 PM   #6  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,411
Default

I would Bury the RG-6 that is on the ground now- Take a Square edge Shovel and slice the turf and then put the RG- in the slice - and your DONE- by the time it fails you will have cancelled D* and moved on anyway.
wizwor likes this.
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 03:11 PM   #7  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 249
Default

that was what i was hoping to hear.
wizwor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 05:24 PM   #8  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 320
Default

And in 6 months too a year later. you will have problems with it good luck
Do it Right the first time and never have too look back.73good LUCK!!!
Hdb91xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 11:55 AM   #9  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Terryl3's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Deep in the Duraflame National Forest
Posts: 1,498
Default

Id use conduit, that way if you need to run a second line your set.

I use 1 inch PVC conduit, once buried you can use a shop vac to suck some masons twine (very strong stuff) through it,(small piece of paper towel attached to the free end) this to pull the RG-6 that is in use now through the conduit, also pull a second string along with the coax, that way you have a pull string for next time.
wizwor likes this.
Terryl3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 04:24 PM   #10  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 320
Default

Not really want it

Last edited by Hdb91xg; 05-22-2018 at 04:44 PM..
Hdb91xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 04:37 PM   #11  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 320
Default Pvc conduit

[QUOTE=Terryl3;1418418]Id use conduit, that way if you need to run a second line your set.

I use 1 inch PVC conduit, once buried you can use a shop vac to suck some masons twine (very strong stuff) through it,(small piece of paper towel attached to the free end) this to pull the RG-6 that
Hdb91xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 05:16 PM   #12  
722k,722, 612, 512 HR34
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SD
Posts: 1,159
Default

solid copper rg11 is very expensive, if you find a roll the cable company uses its copper clad. RG11 also not needed until you go over 125ft as a rule for all providers including cable companies.

the solid copper rg6 the tech left is the better deal.
Jodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:47 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands