High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV. RSS - DirecTV Forum

Does the whole home Genie have it's own internet?

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2017, 06:01 PM   #1
Let's Go Pens!
 
cherman24's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Near Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 694
Default Does the whole home Genie have it's own internet?

Hi folks, thanks for reading/responding. I'm having a horrible time with my new Samsung ks8000. It used to work fine so I mounted it and can't get to the Ethernet plug. Wifi connects, but won't let me use the net. When searching for "other" networks, I see my new whole home genie is a "network" but it's locked via password. Is there a default password so I can try to tap in? I just want to see if I can narrow down the problems with this TV as every other device in the house connects flawlessly...yes I've tried every stinking thing on the internet for that TV. So just wondering if I can "tap" into the genie's connection.
cherman24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2017, 11:43 AM   #2
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,383
Default

What wifi network is connected to your TV? are sure it's your won wifi or a neighbors?

The if your genie is connected to your lan the network you see is the moco network -No password to connect,

Look at your router -wireless settings and then redo your tv wifi settings if you have not setup a wifi network on your router then when you do you can give it access to your local network and the reach the internet.
__________________
I now know how the Iranians feel (those that donít agree) with the ruling class.
WestDC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 10:32 AM   #3
Let's Go Pens!
 
cherman24's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Near Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 694
Default

My network is my last name and the dtv shows up as DIRECTV_WVB_CFAACCC9 and its locked out. Obviously it's using my router I'd think as I see it in my router, but I'm not sure about networking things so I was wondering how to tap into it. When logging into the router settings, I see DIRECTV-HR54-C9EFA271 connected via Ethernet and Cisco0029 via Ethernet. I have an arris tg862 router and when I've been troubleshooting this Samsung, Comcast asked me what this Cisco was and I told them that I don't have another router and it must be something with this whole home set up. When logging into my DTV account, I have a Genie Gen 3, 4K Genie mini, Wireless Genie mini, and a wireless video bridge. The wireless receiver is hooked up to the Samsung I'm having issues with.

EDIT: I've been researching and some posts say this is the video bridge and can only be accessed by DTV equipment. That sucks if that's the case, but could that also be causing some type of interference with the TV's apps?

Last edited by cherman24; 03-12-2017 at 02:22 PM..
cherman24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 06:33 PM   #4
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,383
Default

The wireless video Bridge makes it's own wireless Network (reason) Because for D* to offer it and support it They can NOT depend on a Home owners Wireless Network.

That's why you can not Access it - Your TV should connect to your HOME WIFI Network If it's NOT seeing your Wifi Network Then you may need a Wireless Extender for your Home Network.
__________________
I now know how the Iranians feel (those that donít agree) with the ruling class.
WestDC is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > High Definition Programming Providers > DirecTV Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:31 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright ©2004 - 2008, High Def Forum