High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

H24 - no internet

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2016, 04:11 PM   #1  
How can anyone watch standard def?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Default H24 - no internet

I have three h24 on my network and none of them are showing internet access. The remainder of the network is an H44 and two C51 wired clients. Switch is SWS8 and there is a CCK, with all three lights green, and polling. The CCK has wired Ethernet to it.

The H44 has wired Ethernet to it and shows internet connection. Each client has the green "connected" status.

Several months ago I had the upgrade to the H44, and really none of the H24 were part of the rearrangement. I am beginning to suspect that the H24 have not had internet access since that upgrade, however all guide updates appear to be fine and working.

What should the topology look like with the Genie, do I still need the CCK? Did the installer just over look the issue since he did not rearrange the H24's.?

I really am not sure what I am missing by not have the DTV internet access as each TV is "smart" and each is connected to internet.

Edit: With additional searching I think I have resolved it is one or the other. Wired Ethernet to H44 or wired Ethernet to CCK, but NOT both. What is the collective wisdom as to which is preferred. Not sure why installer did not catch it since I did have Whole Home before the H44 install.

Last edited by justsam; 04-09-2016 at 04:29 PM..
justsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 10:00 AM   #2  
How can anyone watch standard def?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Taking this a step further, I have disconnected the wired Ethernet at the HR44. So now only the CCK is in place.

The HR44 indicates it has internet access, as do each of the clients with a green connected check mark.

Still none of the H24 have internet access in spite of me going through the setup connection process. They are all connected to the same SWS8. Any suggestions?

Should I eliminate the CCK and use the HR44 for internet access, by connecting it to a wired Ethernet?
justsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 05:45 AM   #3  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justsam View Post
Taking this a step further, I have disconnected the wired Ethernet at the HR44. So now only the CCK is in place.

The HR44 indicates it has internet access, as do each of the clients with a green connected check mark.

Still none of the H24 have internet access in spite of me going through the setup connection process. They are all connected to the same SWS8. Any suggestions?

Should I eliminate the CCK and use the HR44 for internet access, by connecting it to a wired Ethernet?
When you removed the Cat5 cable from the Genie - Did you Re-run the internet setup on the genie - also a reboot (red button reset) then re-run internet setup will work also.

If you did not do that then it (Genie) still would show it connected also I would suggest rebooting each receiver in your setup one at a time after making internet changes.

You can use a CCK or Not if using the the Cat5 to your router from the Genie you don't need the CCK - just reboot everything after doing that. (ALSO) making any changes and rebooting will take 24 hrs to 48 hrs for everything to rebuild.

to check for internet on the H24's go into settings and look at the internet Settings of each H24 - If connected to your network you should see a Valid Ip address (example) 192.168.1. 102 -or whatever your ip range is. Should you see a ip address starting with 169 -that means it's not connected to any network (NOTE) 169 is also a Valid LINK address displayed at the bottom of the intenet setting screen. (the First IP address should be the assigned address of the H24 or Genie and each one swill have a different one 192.168.1.102 -192.168.103 and so on.

Last edited by WestDC; 04-12-2016 at 05:53 AM..
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 12:33 PM   #4  
How can anyone watch standard def?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Default

WestDC,
Thanks for the pointers. In trying to resolve it I pretty much did as you suggested, and now all seems well. Internet on all STB's, including the H24s.

I wound up with just the CCK, which has a direct wired connection to the router in the equipment closet.

Not really sure what I have gained by having the access, but at least now I have it! Thanks!
justsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 03:27 PM   #5  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,414
Default

Glad you got it working -Using the CCK or a Cat5 Cable connected to the genie works just the same -The GENIE internal Deca Will Do both no matter how you have it connected.

Enjoy
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands