High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

771-signal loss on satellite in 2.

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2016, 11:08 PM   #1  
What is HD?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Unhappy 771-signal loss on satellite in 2.

Hi there, i looked for threads pertaining to 771 error's, but not one helped me out. Here's a few channels that have this error, 227, 228, 208, 312 and a few more. my signal strengths are in the 95's, with a couple of exceptions. I believe 16-27? is 0, 28-32 is 0 on the signal strengths. please help...
ykkrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 08:44 AM   #2  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,414
Default

Welcome to the site

Fault Code 771
Searching for Satellite
Main Check:
1. Peaking
2. Line of sight
3. Connections
4. Distribution system
5. Hardware

Trouble Shooting is in that order - If you have not had a service call in a couple of years -I suggest you call in and have your system gone over.

Easy check is Connections of RG6 (outside) which may have been damage with water (over time)
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 10:37 AM   #3  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ykkrs View Post
Hi there, i looked for threads pertaining to 771 error's, but not one helped me out. Here's a few channels that have this error, 227, 228, 208, 312 and a few more. my signal strengths are in the 95's, with a couple of exceptions. I believe 16-27? is 0, 28-32 is 0 on the signal strengths. please help...
HD or SD channels?
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2016, 05:05 PM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nashville
Posts: 275
Default

Get use to it ! Rain, snow, and Dence clouds , It's gonna happen!
WashedOut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 08:19 AM   #5  
CASA Volunteer
 
teetertotter's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Janesville, WI. - Go Wisconsin & Packers
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WashedOut View Post
Get use to it ! Rain, snow, and Dence clouds , It's gonna happen!
We are lucky living in a city with Cable, Dish, and Att U-Verse. As soon as Att put in their fiber optics in our community, we immediately got rid of Directv.

Cable was even worse in our community, from others I had spoke to. Picture quality, supposedly HD, was not that good and experienced a lot of outages. That was 6 years ago.

Yes, it is so annoying, losing satelite signal and happens on a perfectly clear day....too, where we live.

We got an equipment upgrade from ATT a year ago, with all wireless, at no charge.
teetertotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 07:37 AM   #6  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,517
Default

You can't lose satellite signal on a clear day unless there is something wrong with your equipment - dish not aligned correctly on the satellites, cable or connector issue...
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 08:33 AM   #7  
CASA Volunteer
 
teetertotter's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Janesville, WI. - Go Wisconsin & Packers
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texasbrit View Post
You can't lose satellite signal on a clear day unless there is something wrong with your equipment - dish not aligned correctly on the satellites, cable or connector issue...
With signal strength at 89, test alignment is good. Being way up north with satellites hovering over FL, there are such things as sun spots on a bright sunny day??

There might have been intermittent equipment failures a couple weeks apart or so, on clear days? Maybe the distance to cut through the Atmosphere with obstacles in the way, of some sort? Maybe a mystery that cannot be explained?
teetertotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 03:42 PM   #8  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,517
Default

Signal strength at 89 for 101 means the dish is not aligned correctly. A properly aligned dish will have most 101 signals in the very high 90s or even 100. 99ca/99cb.103ca/103cb should have all active transponders in the high 80s to mid 90s.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 02:28 PM   #9  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texasbrit View Post
Signal strength at 89 for 101 means the dish is not aligned correctly. A properly aligned dish will have most 101 signals in the very high 90s or even 100. 99ca/99cb.103ca/103cb should have all active transponders in the high 80s to mid 90s.
the signal strengths on my dish at 101 are all mid 90's , but on 103, they are all zero. The dish appears to be set at the correct azimuth, elevation, and tilt for my zip code. Any suggestions on adjustments ?
rrocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 07:37 AM   #10  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,517
Default

Is that zero on EVERY 103 transponder? What about 99?
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 09:15 AM   #11  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrocky View Post
the signal strengths on my dish at 101 are all mid 90's , but on 103, they are all zero. The dish appears to be set at the correct azimuth, elevation, and tilt for my zip code. Any suggestions on adjustments ?
Could be a Bad cable or LNB
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 06:38 PM   #12  
What is HD?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by texasbrit View Post
HD or SD channels?
HD Channels
ykkrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 09:11 PM   #13  
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 6
Default

You can't lose satellite signal on a clear day unless cable or connector issue...
wrong with your equipment
Sogogi110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 07:59 AM   #14  
CASA Volunteer
 
teetertotter's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Janesville, WI. - Go Wisconsin & Packers
Posts: 177
Default Problem with Dishes

Sun spots are a problem, coupled with overcast/storm clouds, Rainy days and then snow covering the dish up where we live. We have all kinds of natures weather that interferes with Signal.

The Satellites are positioned over south Florida. Signal is sometimes very weak way up north and can't cut through above atmosphere problems.
teetertotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands