High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Do I need their boxes

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2014, 10:55 AM   #1  
What is HD?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Default Do I need their boxes

Hello All

I was just trying to get Directv. The package was going to be $29.00 per month, but when they gave me the total it was almost $75.00 equipment leases and whatnot.

I have 4 coax outlets in the house that all come together in the basement at one location. I really do not need the dvr, I have one already, so my question is do I need a receiver box at each tv, or can I use directv like cable where I just use the tv

THanks

Al
agmccall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 12:42 PM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,517
Default

Assuming you are going to watch different programming at each TV, yes you need some sort of receiver box for every TV. There are some TVs that are RVU-capable which have built-in receivers but you would still need a central server like the HR44.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 06:36 AM   #3  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,445
Default

What kind of DVR do you have?
joed32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 08:09 AM   #4  
What is HD?
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joed32 View Post
What kind of DVR do you have?
I have the Magnavox MDR533H/F7 Hard Disc Drive and DVD Recorder

Al
agmccall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 07:59 AM   #5  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,411
Default

Without a D* Receiver - you won't be able to get any service - unless your Current DVR can decode D* sat Signals (which it can't)
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:10 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands