High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

genie problem

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2014, 07:57 AM   #1  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 605
Default genie problem

about a month ago i started having a problem when id fast forward a program id recorded, it would fast forward but then trying to stop it was a challenge in itself. pushing every button i could to finally get it to stop. didnt do it all the time, afternoons and evenings. really got annoying. called direct and they did there check this and check that, and reset, form my end and theres. finally it seems to be ok but another problem persists. when i push the menu or list button the screen will come up but the channels in the menu wont show up for 30 seconds or more, same with my list. again in the afternoon and evenings. no codes. by the way it does this with there remote or my harmony remote. told them i was really getting tired of calling and listening to there add about being bought by AT&T. there sending me out a new GENIE. plus i got showtime free for three months. now im not a big fan of direct but they do take care of there customers. just wondered if anyone else has had either of these problems.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 02:50 PM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 605
Default

no one has hand these problems ?
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 06:29 PM   #3  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,517
Default

Looks to me like an IR interference issue, the TV is generating IR interference and it's screwing up the remote signals, particularly in the evening when the backlight comes on. Remote commands don't work, and the box gets very slow because the false IR signals overload it.Not uncommon, if you have non-LCD TV with backlight.
Things to try.
Move the receiver away from the TV.
Turn down the backlight sensitivity.
Put a piece of blue painters tape over the IR sensor window on the DirecTV box. (Yes, that actually works!)
Best solution: use RF instead of IR to control the DirecTV box.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 06:13 AM   #4  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 605
Default

im getting a new one this week. genie that is. i dont think its a ir problem because it loads a page but doesnt load all of it, at least not for 15 or 20 seconds. so the page comes up. delays in loading it can only be in the genie itself.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 08:53 PM   #5  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrod351 View Post
im getting a new one this week. genie that is. i dont think its a ir problem because it loads a page but doesnt load all of it, at least not for 15 or 20 seconds. so the page comes up. delays in loading it can only be in the genie itself.
No, if there is IR interference it can overload the IR subsystem and cause the Genie to become very slow. I'm not saying this IS your problem, just a suggestion.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 04:25 AM   #6  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 605
Default

anything is possible. i did just get a new av receiver and had to setup everything again. it has entered my mind that the new receiver could cause interference. but when it does this, locks on fast forward and doesnt switch channels or load a page, it also reacts the same with way when using directs remote control and i havent read anywhere where a yamaha receiver could, or does, cause this. and why does it not do it until the late afternoon and evening.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 01:29 PM   #7  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Default

My Genie HR44-500 just took a dump. would freeze all the time 6times so far. re booted sys and it would work for a day or so then freeze again. Every time I rebooted received msg. 139 errors, next time 400+ errors, next time 537 errors, last 2 times were 139 and 108 errors . Now it fixes errors and goes to blue screen, can't get tv. Called DTV and are sending out new Genie because of error code 14-037. Costing me 22$ to have it shipped, I feel they should provide shipping but they say no because I didn't get protection plan. Oh well.

Now my Question is are these genies reliable or did I just get a bad one?? should I add protection plan or forget it??
JohnnyRotten54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2014, 07:44 AM   #8  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyRotten54 View Post
My Genie HR44-500 just took a dump. would freeze all the time 6times so far. re booted sys and it would work for a day or so then freeze again. Every time I rebooted received msg. 139 errors, next time 400+ errors, next time 537 errors, last 2 times were 139 and 108 errors . Now it fixes errors and goes to blue screen, can't get tv. Called DTV and are sending out new Genie because of error code 14-037. Costing me 22$ to have it shipped, I feel they should provide shipping but they say no because I didn't get protection plan. Oh well.

Now my Question is are these genies reliable or did I just get a bad one?? should I add protection plan or forget it??
What you had is a hard disk failure. Not unusual with DVRs, but not particularly a problem with the HR44. Running the HR44 from UPS can help. I've had just about every DVR DirecTV ever made, and have had only one hard disk failure in total. In fact my original HR20-700, bought in the first month of availability, is still going strong.
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 04:07 AM   #9  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 605
Default

they sent me a new genie. havent had any problem with the new one.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 09:04 AM   #10  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,445
Default

Good! Thanks for the update.
joed32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 03:59 AM   #11  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 605
Default

well now my new genie is experiencing really bad lag problems. meaning that i bring up the menue and its blank for about 45 seconds, switch channels and the same 35 - 45 second lag. direct says its in the software and there working on the problem and hope to have it resolved this week.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 05:22 AM   #12  
WestDC
 
WestDC's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: EARTH
Posts: 2,412
Default

I have a Hr44/200 and have been running the 0x08C2 software since 8/7 with no issue's What is your model number? If it's an HR34 (they have issue's) and the D2 software is a Issue -Should you wish to try a new software before the national release keep an eye on this page http://www.redh.com/dtv/ - When you see a "NEW" Load grab it it may have a fix you need.

I have found (using an IR -remote) to have some lag problems - When I use the RC71 remote in RF - the Genie is way Faster with no lag - If possible try using a RF remote I think it will respond better. (REASON) -the Genie can do both IR & RF at the same time and the IR stumbles in the firmware @ Times (Just my thoughts)

Also make sure that Native is turned off in the settings

YMMY

Last edited by WestDC; 09-10-2014 at 11:13 AM..
WestDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 07:22 AM   #13  
High Definition is the definition of life.
Thread Starter
 
hotrod351's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 605
Default

talked to direct and they said it was a software problem.i know my receiver was reset yesterday because my weather app showed another state, guess they did whatever they needed to to fix it. seems back to normal. i was just about to call and see what kind of credit i was going to get for it being messed. anyway all is good.
hotrod351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 09:34 AM   #14  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,517
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrod351 View Post
talked to direct and they said it was a software problem.i know my receiver was reset yesterday because my weather app showed another state, guess they did whatever they needed to to fix it. seems back to normal. i was just about to call and see what kind of credit i was going to get for it being messed. anyway all is good.
You have an HR34? It is a software issue, and I believe a fix is "imminent"...
texasbrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:50 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands