High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

DirecTV Forum Discuss and learn about DirecTV High Definition Satellite TV.

Advice on replacing a Vizio T-Con board

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2013, 11:27 PM   #1  
My plasma is High Def.
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 8
Default Advice on replacing a Vizio T-Con board

Hi there,
I have a VIZIO E601i-A3 LED TV with symptoms of what I believe is a T-Con failure. It seems this is happening to a lot of Vizio TVs. I found this blog:
Replace the Vizio E601i-A3 LED RUNTK5261TPZC T-Con board
(http://www.fixyourdlp.com/2013/04/27...c-t-con-board/) and it looks like a straightforward procedure. Has anyone tried this? Is this blog accurate?
Looking forward to your comments.
Thanks,
John James
JJ89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:56 PM   #2  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
Terryl3's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Deep in the Duraflame National Forest
Posts: 1,515
Default

I've done it for several customers in my area, VIZIO has problems with parts quality on some of their boards and has chip and cap problems on several models, I have done several power supply cap changes also.

The biggest job in doing this is getting the set apart, then back together again, (without screws left over) the board replacement is easy once you get the back off the set, when in doubt on were/what screws to remove take photos as you go with a digital camera, this way you will know what screw goes back in first/last.

And be careful, let the set sit unplugged from the wall AC power a few hours before you open it up.

Also use the wrist strap to ground your self,(to any metal frame inside the set) as the board you are replacing has a few IC chips that don't like static electricity, the wrist strap can be found at most Rat Shack stores.

Clear off the kitchen table and spread down a few thick towels,(bigger then the set) then lay the set face down on the towels, be careful not to let it slip around.

And don't power it back up until the back is fully on, there is some very high voltage inside, we don't want to hear about any accidents.
Terryl3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 07:13 AM   #3  
What is HD?
 

Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Default

I have a vizio E500i-A0. The video started blinking on and off. the audio is fine and the back light is working. Vizio tech support said it can be repaired but I am 2 months out of warranty, so call a repair service. Should I replace the T con board?
mvaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:33 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands