High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

Car Forum Talk about your favorite cars, setups, garages (got pics?)!

Radio install question

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-19-2009, 06:55 AM   #1  
I bleed for HD
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,237
Default Radio install question

My factory installed radio began to malfunction recently so I had a new head unit installed. My problem is as follows. After install I can not get any am stations. FM - great, HD radio- great, cd player- great, usb/aux/ipod hookups -great but I can not find or tune a single AM station. I live and work in two different cities and pass through 3 markets (Canton, Akron, and Cleveland) and can't find/tune a single AM station. The installed Radio was purchased new. Is this likely to be a defective radio issue or an install/hook-up issue?

I purchased the radio from vendor A and had installed by vendor B. If it is a radio issue should I be expecting to pay another install fee or is this something the manufacturer should be expexted to reimburse for?
Thanks again for your help.
jkkyler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 08:32 AM   #2  
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,283
Default

It certainly sounds like a radio issue. If the antenna was not connected properly you wouldn't get any FM broadcasts either. I would suggest contacting the seller and go from there. And yes you may have to pay for another install fee (I would talk to the seller about that).
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 05:07 PM   #3  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
gameguru1360's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,007
Default

does the seller you bought the head unit from have a return policy??
gameguru1360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 10:31 AM   #4  
I bleed for HD
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,237
Default

I ended up swapping out the head unit - luckily it was very easy now that the wiring harness has been taken care of - just skid in and out with the 'keys' inserted. Next unit had the same issue so I suspect either poor antenna but got am with my old unit or miswired. There actually was a miswiring issue because every time I turn my car off I lose all presets and clock bluetooth sync etc- The installer said that they must have miswired to my battery and will re-do for me at no cost and will se what they can do about antenna / am issue.
jkkyler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 06:23 AM   #5  
Former Super Moderator
 
Loves2Watch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In Flux
Posts: 20,283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkkyler View Post
I ended up swapping out the head unit - luckily it was very easy now that the wiring harness has been taken care of - just skid in and out with the 'keys' inserted. Next unit had the same issue so I suspect either poor antenna but got am with my old unit or miswired. There actually was a miswiring issue because every time I turn my car off I lose all presets and clock bluetooth sync etc- The installer said that they must have miswired to my battery and will re-do for me at no cost and will se what they can do about antenna / am issue.
Good to hear. Let us know how it turns out...
Loves2Watch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 12:28 PM   #6  
I bleed for HD
Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14,237
Default

Had my radio re-wired yesterday all presets, bluetooth, clock etc. now stay resident when my car is turned off. The am radio was unaffected though -still no channels. I spoke with the technician who did my install and he was very pleasant and seemed quite knowledgeable.
He told me that he gets that complaint a lot in our city nowadays. Radio manufacturers just aren't putting very good am tuners in these days - once it was hard to get a good fm tuner but now with mosty fm and sat radio with some HD radio out there manufacturers just aren't that concerened with the am market. I asked about whether a new external antenna would help and he didn't think that would help. He suggested that a signal booster might help but they are largely hit and miss and I would most likely be throwing more money at a problem than what it is worth. I listen(well listened at this point) to a lot of sports/talk radio so possibly I will consider hooking up sat radio in the future as my unit is equipped to do so.
jkkyler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 04:23 PM   #7  
High Definition is the definition of life.
 
gameguru1360's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 1,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkkyler View Post
Had my radio re-wired yesterday all presets, bluetooth, clock etc. now stay resident when my car is turned off. The am radio was unaffected though -still no channels. I spoke with the technician who did my install and he was very pleasant and seemed quite knowledgeable.
He told me that he gets that complaint a lot in our city nowadays. Radio manufacturers just aren't putting very good am tuners in these days - once it was hard to get a good fm tuner but now with mosty fm and sat radio with some HD radio out there manufacturers just aren't that concerened with the am market. I asked about whether a new external antenna would help and he didn't think that would help. He suggested that a signal booster might help but they are largely hit and miss and I would most likely be throwing more money at a problem than what it is worth. I listen(well listened at this point) to a lot of sports/talk radio so possibly I will consider hooking up sat radio in the future as my unit is equipped to do so.
you might want to consider an hd radio tuner if your head unit supports it...radio stations run hd channels alongside analog stations. Some of the am stations in hd sound just as loud and clear as fm!
gameguru1360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource >
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


to Radio install question
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about CM 7777 DoctorCAD Local HDTV Info and Reception 44 12-05-2009 11:24 AM
Another antenna question please txzimmer Local HDTV Info and Reception 181 09-29-2009 11:26 PM
Antenna / HDTV question from a newbie... Steve Goss Local HDTV Info and Reception 17 01-26-2006 05:36 PM
Dual Receiver 322 Installation Question hieunknown DISH Network Forum 9 08-17-2005 12:57 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 AM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands