High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
Rules HDTV Forum Gallery LINK TO US! RSS - High Def Forum AddThis Feed Button AddThis Social Bookmark Button Groups

Mounts and Installs Forum A place to discuss viewing distance, mounts, stands and more! RSS - Mounts and Installs Forum

wall with no studs (i think its concrete)

Reply
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2011, 09:31 PM   #1
GA16DE-T
 
wwolf771177's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
Default wall with no studs (i think its concrete)

so im trying to see if i an mount my tv above my fireplace but the stud finder doesnt find any studs...so what should i do i know its not a sheetrock its pretty hard. what bolts could i use to mount my tv. 55" 50lbs
wwolf771177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2011, 10:30 AM   #2
What, me?
 
ckone180's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Age: 34
Posts: 1,494
Default

There are a couple ideas. First, you really need to find out if its a concrete/brick or maybe even a metal housing. If its a concrete/brick wall, I would just use a drill and concrete anchors. Pretty simple. Or even mount a wood stud by using a ramset tool.
__________________
Playstation 3 Online ID: cspldk
Battlefield 3!!!
ckone180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 03:00 PM   #3
More than meets the eyes!
 
mobiushky's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: State of Insanity
Posts: 3,579
Default

Stud finders work based on differential densities. If the surface of your wall is all the same and deep enough, you won't find any studs even if there are studs. Generally they can penetrate standard dry wall. But you may have a coating that is for all intents blocking the studfinder from sensing any density changes.

Then again, maybe you have concrete walls. If you can find a spot or feel comfortable, you could try drilling a small hole to see what is in there.
__________________
DRM is roughly the equivalent of poking you in the eye, repeatedly.
----------------------------------------------------
Main Setup:
Pioneer PDP-5070HD
Pioneer VSX-23TXH
DISH VIP722
PS3 Slim (320Gb)
Logitech Harmony One remote
All Klipsch speakers

Bedroom Setup:
Sony KDR-40XBR4
PS3 (320GB)

Kids Setup:
Panasonic TC-P42X2
PS3 (120Gb w/ BC) I think I have too many PS3s.
mobiushky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 03:06 PM   #4
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default

I was just about to start a similar thread as I think I have the same problem!
DanHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 07:25 AM   #5
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 55
Default

Do you think you could have an old plaster wall?
saltysteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:41 AM   #6
My plasma is High Def.
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltysteve View Post
Do you think you could have an old plaster wall?
Probably what it is, there are studs back there but you won't find them with a stud finder..

sorry can't post url's with my post count
Blackened is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 09:20 AM   #7
High Definition is the definition of life.
 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckone180 View Post
There are a couple ideas. First, you really need to find out if its a concrete/brick or maybe even a metal housing. If its a concrete/brick wall, I would just use a drill and concrete anchors. Pretty simple. Or even mount a wood stud by using a ramset tool.
id you determine the wall is masonary, then get a set of tapcons at home depot or lowes. you drill out the hole and add the anchor, then mount away. the set comes witjh drill bits and anchors.
leevitalone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 10:11 AM   #8
Administrator
 
rbinck's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 16,039
Default

Your best bet is to figure on mounting a piece of 1/2" plywood to the wall and then attach the TV mount to the plywood. You can paint the plywood to match your wall, if desired. This will allow you to cut a hole in the wall to see what is back there. If it is a plaster wall, you may be able to find some studs to attach the plywood and if masonry, then use masonry anchors to mount the plywood to the wall. Even if it is sheetrock or other material, the plywood will allow enough anchors to hold up the TV as well as spreading out the load on a larger area.
rbinck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 01:13 PM   #9
How can anyone watch standard def?
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default

sounds like it might be cement sheet rock. it should still ahve studs behind it, just might not be able to find them with a stud finder. have to you the tap-tap method.
homer j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 07:23 PM   #10
HD Football=Euphoria
 
sawzalot's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape May,N J
Posts: 901
Default

You said you are mounting above a fireplace, well what type of fireplace is it ? If it was a real one (as in not gas or an airtight ) it just might be a regular old fashioned chimney you are thinking about drilling holes into which I would avoid if that is in fact the type of fireplace you have. If you are going to mount there no matter what, try to open up a small area that could easily be patched in order to investigate the exact build style and materials at this wall area.
__________________
PIONEER PLASMA 500M
sawzalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Go Back   High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource > General Chit Chat > Mounts and Installs Forum
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:21 PM.



Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2004 - 2008, High Def Forum